My Pegasus - Hyundai Accent CRDi - Pics on Pg.7

Re: My Pre-owned 2003 Accent CRDi - Pics on Pg.2

Hmmm i don't know how pearl white will go with Accent , but black Accent with matching alloys will look hot. Though black Accent will be common i always feel black Accent looks a touch classy.

that's reason i didn't told him black . black are too common . Plus maintenance of black is more then any other colour

Thread Starter #64

Need help guys!

If any of you can help me in getting the OE Engine Valve Seaters for my CRDi. I have tried a lot in many shops in Chennai but in vain[frustration]

In Coimbatore, they have non-OE make but I am interested on OE parts. Please help out!

Yup, The car was not genuine 63K kms as it was on the odo. Checked the same with hyundai A.S.S when I went there to replace broken ORVMs.
I find it absolutely shocking to know about the fraudster dealer. Please post their name so that all members can stay away from them in future. As far as the colour combination goes, my +1 to suggestion posted by Mr.Boss. Black and White are the two colours which suit well on the Accent or maybe you can also consider getting something off the shelf which was not offered by Hyundai. And stick with the beige and wooden finish on the interiors. It looks best and is also available presently in the Accent Executive.

About engine overhaul are you doing it at Hyundai authorized service center or work being done at private garage.
What is the cost quoted to you in both cases and what’s your decision making point.

I am sure it’s not common that all CRDi s are prone to overhaul say after 80k or so.
I do have CRDi 2003 make with me which I have purchased in 2006 and as on today odometer has crossed 180K (add approx 70k more as I am also victim of tampered odo) crossed still not required to overhaul.

The only thing which I have followed after 1lac is that I have shortened service interval to 7k kms and strict rule Hyundai Authorized Service Center thats keeping a smile on my face.

I am on verge of decision of whether makeover / paint job or upgrade.
Please mark my vote to black one although it’s difficult to maintain but gives pride to ride.

@ Powerpacked He is carrying out the work at our member Ilango's private garage. And BTW great relief to hear that your engine is doing great even after clocking so much of KMS! I am also having a Verna CRDI and clocked 53k KMS now , all these rumours of Hyundai CRDI failing at 1Lakh KMS worried me. I was in two minds of whether having or selling the car after few years but now after seeing your post it gives me confidence of having the car for a really long time!

Q cooldhaya, Hyundai accent the 3-cylinder CRDi engine that Hyundai used in Accent and 4-cylinder CRDi in Verna are completely different. On top of this Verna is equipped with VGT turbo. It’s a great machine and real fun to drive.

Here people are tending to blame the whole of Hyundai diesel engines. But as the expertise grown, Hyundai has proven by pulling out more and more power out of their turbocharged diesel engines, others are following pugmarks.

Nothing comes close to Verna CRDi in terms of power torque and don’t forget mileage too.

In my opinion CRDi engines are more sensitive to quality of fuel and lubricants. Whenever it encounters adulterated diesel CRDi gives clouds of black smoke along with vibrations and knocking at lower rpm . Marking this as an indication reduces the oil change interval by some thousand kms and make sure that filters are being changed too.

Yes i always service my car regularly at Hyundai's A.S.S.

BTW will love to see your Accent's ownership report with all details and pictures.

@ HoLySaTaN one suggestion from my side, Please try to remove the Automatic antenna of Ascent as now a days you may not get genuine antenna from Hyundai and price will be much higher than expected and after market antennas will have premature bend / break.
I would suggest you to weld metal piece the antenna hole as you are about to paint it.
You can choose shark fin or one which fits on roof or indica type radio receiver.
Will post some of my CRDi’s pic and experience soon.

Thread Starter #71

First of all, sorry guys for not updating the thread for so long. Off late I had got too busy with work and did not find enough time to post quality updates[frustration]

About engine overhaul are you doing it at Hyundai authorized service center or work being done at private garage.
What is the cost quoted to you in both cases and what’s your decision making point.

I am sure it’s not common that all CRDi s are prone to overhaul say after 80k or so.
I do have CRDi 2003 make with me which I have purchased in 2006 and as on today odometer has crossed 180K (add approx 70k more as I am also victim of tampered odo) crossed still not required to overhaul.

The only thing which I have followed after 1lac is that I have shortened service interval to 7k kms and strict rule Hyundai Authorized Service Center thats keeping a smile on my face.

I am on verge of decision of whether makeover / paint job or upgrade.
Please mark my vote to black one although it’s difficult to maintain but gives pride to ride.
I too have heard mixed stories about the Hyundai CRDi diesels, the ones that came with Accent & Elantra - both good reviews & bad ones, the latter coming up more than the former.

Good to know that your Accent has served you well over the years. Gives me confidence and peace of mind for the money i am putting in now.

I got this car in mid April & when I checked with the Hyundai A.S.S, they informed me that the car had covered 98K in October 2010 as per their last service. So I guess the car would have covered a maximum of 125K kilometers before Engine Overhaul started.

@ Powerpacked He is carrying out the work at our member Ilango's private garage. And BTW great relief to hear that your engine is doing great even after clocking so much of KMS! I am also having a Verna CRDI and clocked 53k KMS now , all these rumours of Hyundai CRDI failing at 1Lakh KMS worried me. I was in two minds of whether having or selling the car after few years but now after seeing your post it gives me confidence of having the car for a really long time!
Dhaya, the Verna CRDi engine has more improvements over the older generation and I guess we need not worry about engine failures in your case.

But just curious, you were planning to change your car next year rite? I was hoping for a BMW X1[;)]

In my opinion CRDi engines are more sensitive to quality of fuel and lubricants. Whenever it encounters adulterated diesel CRDi gives clouds of black smoke along with vibrations and knocking at lower rpm . Marking this as an indication reduces the oil change interval by some thousand kms and make sure that filters are being changed too.
I had read the same in an article of Overdrive, reg the maintenance of Accents. This holds very true...

@ HoLySaTaN one suggestion from my side, Please try to remove the Automatic antenna of Ascent as now a days you may not get genuine antenna from Hyundai and price will be much higher than expected and after market antennas will have premature bend / break.
I would suggest you to weld metal piece the antenna hole as you are about to paint it.
You can choose shark fin or one which fits on roof or indica type radio receiver.
Will post some of my CRDi’s pic and experience soon.
Yes powerpacked, the old Power Antenna is now removed and the slot is closed. Will be going in for an internal Antenna as you suggested.

And now few updates on the Car.

The much awaited Engine overhaul is now complete. We started the car last Saturday evening and final fitting work was completed this morning as per our mechanic. The engine is idling well as expected so no worries as of now.

Only things yet to be changed are the radiator hose set (replacing the entire set of pipes with new ones - planned for tomorrow) & the Engine Oil Pressure switch which was missed during the overhaul (this provides input for the Engine Oil Sensor)

All the parts used were Hyundai OE ones all obtained from Coimbatore and some from Chennai. Will get back soon with the rest of the plans & detailed expense details.

Welcome back HoLySaTaN,
Congrats on engine rebuilt.
Till today What’s the cost incur on it did you finalize the color of your ride.
Waiting for pictures though it might be WIP.

Thread Starter #73

Welcome back HoLySaTaN,
Congrats on engine rebuilt.
Till today What’s the cost incur on it did you finalize the color of your ride.
Waiting for pictures though it might be WIP.
Thanks powerpacked!

Total cost details and individual split up, I will share once I collect all the bills for spares.
I am yet to pay my final bill to my mechanic!

Colour, we have finalised on painiting it Black. Went to the paint shop last week and have decided on Audi Black

I do not have any photos with me as i was in Chennai when the engine work was in progress. Will ask Ilango to post if he has any soon!

Great to know the engine overhaul work has been completed. Color Audi black huh? Is it any difference from the normal black on all cars? Is the difference visible to our eyes?

And regarding my car , no buddy decided to spice it up and have it for a few more years , that is why i recently got the 2-DIN player too.

PS:I thought Ilango would be handing over your keys by saying HAPPY NEW YEAR only![lol]