My New Mahindra Scorpio VLX AT (8 Seater) "The Mighty Rhino"

am wondering how come you know my name?

I stay in borivali.
Where do you stay?

P.S : mine is the SLE variant. So no idea about the tyretronics.
If it was G3 motors kandivali, who was your SE?
You have revealed your name in your profile:http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/members/superbad-4248.html :biggrin:

@Aditya: During the run in period don't stick on to the same speed.

Vary your speeds while driving.

Brake moderately and gradually as the brake pads needs to be be broken slowly, tyres bulge up as its still new.

For the first 1000 kms drive it with care.

@ aaditya in case you do go through shirdi . do put up a mini-travelogue with regards to hotel,etc.

every time we go there we find something new has come up.

will be going with our hawk very soon. [:)]

Hearty congratulations.

Scorpio is a boon in the city with its high seating position & great engine. Now with the comfort of A/T, you must be having a great time.

I have driven the Scorpio A/T for short distances only & thoroughly enjoyed it. Please give more details such as features, driving comfort, ride comfort, etc.

@ aaditya in case you do go through shirdi . do put up a mini-travelogue with regards to hotel,etc.

every time we go there we find something new has come up.

will be going with our hawk very soon. [:)]
Sorry Extreme OT.
When we had been to Shirdi in 2010 we had stayed in Sai Tulasi Hotel.

Sorry Extreme OT.
When we had been to Shirdi in 2010 we had stayed in Sai Tulasi Hotel.
the problem with the hotels is that decent hotels with good parking space etc are always far from the actual spot.
Most of the times we had pre-booked through MTDC's hotels but the times when the journey is unplanned we end up in a compromise stay and get ripped with the rates.

Sorry for the OT.
Our last journey was in 2011. [:)] so latest news was the essence.

Scorpio automatic - owners review of the mighty rhino

Hi Guys
Thank you everyone for sharing your ideas with me.

Mumbai - ShaniShingnapur - Shirdi - Mumbai , Total 698 kms .
I am really please & was looking forward to pen down my experience with the Scorpio AT - "The Mighty Rhino".
I had done night duties and returned home at 0600 hrs.Went to sleep & got up at 0945, got ready, cranked the Rhino at 1030 hrs.
Including me, we were a total of 07 people, 04 were between 5'9" to 5'11" & the other 03 including myself 5'8".
02 took the 3rd row, 03 in the middle & dad next to me.
The Garmin technology was handy & gave 02 best routes; we had to pick up something from Borivali & hence took the Ghodbunder route.
AT Experience
My experience was out of the world, you are really not doing anything, it just like Autopilot in the aircraft.
The engine was so smooth, I used the step-down technique for overtaking & it was just cool. I have read & heard many people saying that you can’t' speed up all of a sudden, this is super wrong, I could do it as easily as I use to do with my manual Safari.
Hence I conclude from my first hand experience of driving AT Scorpio that it is just as normal as it has to be. Definitely just a minor 1/2 sec to 01 sec lag in roaring the thrust out from the engines is there but then it did no matter since everything else was pure luxury .

To add to the luxury,
1. Cruise Control (along with Reset Coarse switch - this gives you the same last speed if required)
2. I was Ok with my ICE - No complaints.
3. Being AT, The Hill Hold is defaulted - one more luxury & great safety.
4. Mountain Drive Mode - another great safety feature. Tried to use this in Kasara Ghat, thought not required since the sensitivity of a difficult Ghat was not felt.

I was very Happy Driving the Rhino as an AT , my DAD was the most happy since he did not find me cribbing about pressing the clutch every now and then and shifting gears .

Breakfast - Lunch
==============
As we were going to Holy Place, we were all vegetarians for 02 days. If anyone is going to Shirdi, should go via Nasik & not GOTI, you will land driving a little more but would save on time along with 04 lanes highway.
On the way , on the left side is a Jain Mandir i.e. just 15 mins before entering Nasik.
Rs 40 Lunch, Rs 30 Break- fast – Caution – Never wear half shorts only full trousers are allowed.
Food – Awesome, homemade, by the trust, variety of vegetables, rotis, chapattis, dal & sweet dish.
Also do not take more, you can have as much as you can , but can’t throw the left overs,you have to finish everything.

I would like to encourage people to buy Scorpio Automatic – You know the best part – GOT AN FUEL AVERAGE OF 13.9 / Lt – What else you want, that too with constant Air-condition.[clap][:D]

DSCN1137.JPG

DSCN1138.JPG

DSCN1139.JPG

DSCN1140.JPG

DSCN1141.JPG

DSCN1142.JPG

DSCN1143.JPG

DSCN1144.JPG

DSCN1145.JPG

@Aditya: That would have been a great trip I guess.
What was your constant speed?

And you can share your travelogues in the Voyage junction .

When I had been to Shirdi I had taken, Pune - Ahmad Nagar highway.
As I didn't knew the route 2 years back.
Was the nitrogen filled, how was the ride quality?

Hi Mukeshus

No I didnt fill nitogen , but at varrying 39 to 40 deg still the tyre pressure was normal , no much variation.

My speed varied between 80 to 95 before 1000 kms , as soon as I crossed the 1000 kms mark my speed varied bet 80 to 120 as per the traffic.

After the run in period and going past 100 did you feel anything different in your scorpio?
Had read in the other site where when it had Gone above 100 for the first time there was a weird 1 sec feeling in the behaviour of the sound etc.
Me still in the runin period so trying to be cautious.

I ddn't cross 90 kmph till the 1 st service and engine oil change @4785 kms.

But for A/T I guess its a sealed unit and doesn't require change for few Lakh kms.

I ddn't cross 90 kmph till the 1 st service and engine oil change @4785 kms.

But for A/T I guess its a sealed unit and doesn't require change for few Lakh kms.
Guys tell me something you guys change the gears according to the speed or rpm ?

After the run in period and going past 100 did you feel anything different in your scorpio?
Had read in the other site where when it had Gone above 100 for the first time there was a weird 1 sec feeling in the behaviour of the sound etc.
Me still in the runin period so trying to be cautious.
Nothing of that sort happens.

How can you describe that weird feeling?

That's a nice write up buddy. And your beast looks aweosme. liked the front as well as the rear guard.
Can you let me know how much did the Garmin GPS costed you and where did you buy it from?

Nothing of that sort happens.

How can you describe that weird feeling?
i have no idea but from what i read it was like it felt short of breadth for about 1 sec and then sudden surge of power when it goes past 100.
It was like a new valve/ turbo gets kicked in for the first time.