DISCLAIMER: the experience shared here is my personal opinion and no offence or disrespect is intended to any person, any company, any car or their owner(s).
I am new to this world so kindly forgive me of my ignorance or lack of knowledge as I am presenting the following experience as a Layman
Hello to all this is my first post here so please bear with me,
The quest for our new car began when I was in my final year and I got placed. My relatives asked my parents what are they going to gift me and
my parents said car. We had a Maruti 800 that was a 1998 model so it was one of the reason as well I was surprised a bit initially but became
happy and in this way the headhunting started.
Our Priorities were follows:
1. A petrol car as our running was low.
2. Budget was below 8 Lakhs INR.
3. We wanted a sedan but some hatches were also considered.
4. Features like ABS, fog lamps were also desirable.
We shortlisted the following cars: Maruti Suzuki Swift/ Dzire, Fiat Linea, Hyundai Accent, Hyundai Verna, Ford Fiesta and Tata Indigo Manza
1.Maruti Suzuki Swift/Dzire:
What We Liked:
a. Peppiness
b. Maruti After Sales Service(USP of Maruti).
c. Big Boot.
d. Fuel Efficiency
What we Dis-Liked:
a. High waiting period(4-5 months).
b. Not so good looking boot.
c. Rear seats were cramped a bit for 3 people
It was rejected largely because of the higher waiting period at that moment.
Then we visited a Hyundai showroom(don't remember the name) for having a look at Accent
2.Hyundai Accent: when we went into the showroom I instantly felt that Accent was a classy car. It had a nice interior and it felt professional. Again the
salesperson were up to us instantly (same as at Maruti showroom). He showed us the car.
What we Liked:
a. Car looked classy.
b. Powerful 1.5L(95 PS) engine.
c. Delivery within 2 days.
What we didn't liked:
a. It's a ageing car and probably going to be replaced.
b. Height of the car was rather low.
c. I found the features in the car a bit old.
It was in contention for many days after being rejected.
3.Hyundai Verna and Ford Fiesta: we also saw the verna there and again I kind of liked the powerful engine but again I found the car lacking its own
character and the looks outside and inside were not good according to us so we rejected it.
We had heard many things about Ford's A.S.S which were not so good so didn't much consider fiesta into perspective.
4. TATA Indigo Manza: I saw an advertisement of TATA in the newspaper comparing Manza and Dzire, so then we went to have look at it. So we went to Urmil
Motors in Ghaziabad to my surprise a salesman attended us the moment we went in ( contrary to what we usually read about TATA's showroom antics ), he
showed us the car and we were instantly feeling good about it.
What we liked:
a. Car felt completely VFM.
b. Big large boot.
c. I liked the interiors very much especially the speedometer console and the Blaupunkt music system.
d. Premium backseat comfort.
e. we took a test drive and I didn't found the car underpowered.
What we disliked:
a. The design of the boot although I didn't hate it but I didn't love it either.
b. Car felt big while driving and the visibility in ORVM is not so good.
We instantly liked the car. But then a funny thing happened, my dad went to our home town Jodhpur for some work and one of his friends has a TATA
dealership over there. He went there to see MANZA again but this time the salesman also showed him the LINEA as well and my dad fell for it, after he came back
he was really serious about buying a Linea( EMOTION PACK PK). We were engulfed in what essentially became a MANZA vs. Linea dog fight. FIAT India was offering
some serious discounts on Linea at that moment and combine with the CSD discount we were getting Linea pretty cheap.
But yeah after thinking so much on this and considering the A.S.S of FIAT we decided to go for Manza.
Now was the time to pick up the variant, we went from base to top and then again to the base variant( just like sensex or price of the crude oil).
Ultimately we picked up Manza Safire Aura ABS as my parents were a bit sceptical about having good brakes.
We took it in white colour. We paid the amount via DD on 23rd December and got the car on 6th January.
I am new to this world so kindly forgive me of my ignorance or lack of knowledge as I am presenting the following experience as a Layman
Hello to all this is my first post here so please bear with me,
The quest for our new car began when I was in my final year and I got placed. My relatives asked my parents what are they going to gift me and
my parents said car. We had a Maruti 800 that was a 1998 model so it was one of the reason as well I was surprised a bit initially but became
happy and in this way the headhunting started.
Our Priorities were follows:
1. A petrol car as our running was low.
2. Budget was below 8 Lakhs INR.
3. We wanted a sedan but some hatches were also considered.
4. Features like ABS, fog lamps were also desirable.
We shortlisted the following cars: Maruti Suzuki Swift/ Dzire, Fiat Linea, Hyundai Accent, Hyundai Verna, Ford Fiesta and Tata Indigo Manza
1.Maruti Suzuki Swift/Dzire:
What We Liked:
a. Peppiness
b. Maruti After Sales Service(USP of Maruti).
c. Big Boot.
d. Fuel Efficiency
What we Dis-Liked:
a. High waiting period(4-5 months).
b. Not so good looking boot.
c. Rear seats were cramped a bit for 3 people
It was rejected largely because of the higher waiting period at that moment.
Then we visited a Hyundai showroom(don't remember the name) for having a look at Accent
2.Hyundai Accent: when we went into the showroom I instantly felt that Accent was a classy car. It had a nice interior and it felt professional. Again the
salesperson were up to us instantly (same as at Maruti showroom). He showed us the car.
What we Liked:
a. Car looked classy.
b. Powerful 1.5L(95 PS) engine.
c. Delivery within 2 days.
What we didn't liked:
a. It's a ageing car and probably going to be replaced.
b. Height of the car was rather low.
c. I found the features in the car a bit old.
It was in contention for many days after being rejected.
3.Hyundai Verna and Ford Fiesta: we also saw the verna there and again I kind of liked the powerful engine but again I found the car lacking its own
character and the looks outside and inside were not good according to us so we rejected it.
We had heard many things about Ford's A.S.S which were not so good so didn't much consider fiesta into perspective.
4. TATA Indigo Manza: I saw an advertisement of TATA in the newspaper comparing Manza and Dzire, so then we went to have look at it. So we went to Urmil
Motors in Ghaziabad to my surprise a salesman attended us the moment we went in ( contrary to what we usually read about TATA's showroom antics ), he
showed us the car and we were instantly feeling good about it.
What we liked:
a. Car felt completely VFM.
b. Big large boot.
c. I liked the interiors very much especially the speedometer console and the Blaupunkt music system.
d. Premium backseat comfort.
e. we took a test drive and I didn't found the car underpowered.
What we disliked:
a. The design of the boot although I didn't hate it but I didn't love it either.
b. Car felt big while driving and the visibility in ORVM is not so good.
We instantly liked the car. But then a funny thing happened, my dad went to our home town Jodhpur for some work and one of his friends has a TATA
dealership over there. He went there to see MANZA again but this time the salesman also showed him the LINEA as well and my dad fell for it, after he came back
he was really serious about buying a Linea( EMOTION PACK PK). We were engulfed in what essentially became a MANZA vs. Linea dog fight. FIAT India was offering
some serious discounts on Linea at that moment and combine with the CSD discount we were getting Linea pretty cheap.
But yeah after thinking so much on this and considering the A.S.S of FIAT we decided to go for Manza.
Now was the time to pick up the variant, we went from base to top and then again to the base variant( just like sensex or price of the crude oil).
Ultimately we picked up Manza Safire Aura ABS as my parents were a bit sceptical about having good brakes.
We took it in white colour. We paid the amount via DD on 23rd December and got the car on 6th January.
-
69.5 KB Views: 4,180
-
77.3 KB Views: 3,155
-
222.9 KB Views: 3,513
-
70.1 KB Views: 2,574
-
186.1 KB Views: 5,834
-