Maruti Suzuki - Service Related.

In my opinion you should have opted for a petrol car instead of diesel as you usage is so low. The service plan suggested to you seems to be good as its a huge gap of 2 years.

@appus

The bill is very clear that day light robbery from Maruti !!

Beware to find out a different work shop like Bosch in Bangalore and try going there

Most important note to all Maruti car owners and aspirant buyers : Maruti is no more cheaper maintenance and do not fall for their tricks like "kitna deti hai"

@appus

The bill is very clear that day light robbery from Maruti !!

Beware to find out a different work shop like Bosch in Bangalore and try going there

Most important note to all Maruti car owners and aspirant buyers : Maruti is no more cheaper maintenance and do not fall for their tricks like "kitna deti hai"
He he. I think for next 1 1/2 year, there wont be much charges even if I go to the same place as they have replaced most of them [lol]

In my opinion you should have opted for a petrol car instead of diesel as you usage is so low. The service plan suggested to you seems to be good as its a huge gap of 2 years.
I never thought the usage would be so low. The service between the service was not 2 years. This is the 4th service (Other than 3 free)

Now, the usage would be comparatively more as we would be visiting places with our little one. When selling, I may get 1 lakh extra because it is a Diesel car [evil]

Oil Drain Plug Assembly?
Greasing the Caliper pin even though the pads weren't changed?
Clutch bleeding?
Consumables check/replacement?

What on god's green earth is wrong with this MASS? At times like this I am glad I service my own car.

Time elapsed is just an excuse workshops try to exercise even in cases it doesn't strictly apply. Please be careful!

MASS is always costly. My Alto has eaten more in maintenance compared to my Manza till 2nd service of both.

BTW, make sure they follow the table I have given here:

“A” : Adjust
“C” : Clean
“R” : Replace or Change
“I” : Inspect and correct or replace
if necessary
“L” : Lubricate
“T” : Tighten

Your engine oil should have a specification of SF 15 W 40, API-CG4 or above (quoted from Dezire Diesel Owner's Manual). Both of these are Mineral oil. With your lower usage, SF 15 W 40 should suffice you.

Since Dezire has Fixed Geometry Turbo (not Variable Geometry Turbo), no need of syhthetic oil. Manza has the same engine as Dezire but is equiped with Variable Geometry Turbo, so Manza needs Synthetic Oil.

You don't know their smartness Appus, they have ideas to come with some other names for sure[lol] Be careful
Few months ago when I went to MASS for my Alto servicing, they said that all tyres and suspension need immediate change. I said that the suspension and steering rack-pinion was changed just a year ago. The SA asked me from where I changed suspension and steering rack-pinion, and I said from Chennai MASS which is most reputed out there (for Chennaites - it was from ABT Maruti, Guindy). The SA was quick to say that Chennai and all are frauds!!!! I said okay, I have no budget to change them right them. For tyres, I'm going to use them any ways, and I'm not gonna change right then.

Till date, no suspension problem or higher braking distance encountered.

Such a bust*rd are the MASS cheats! (Sorry, couldn't find any better wordds for their behaviour) Just be aware of them.

This is like mugging, people should sue!

What they're charging for Mineral Oil is even higher than the market price of Synthetic Oil. But I would recommend sticking to Semi-synth or Synth oil, for the sake of your car.

Gearbox Oil and Coolant again heavily overcharged.

Also, the change interval for Gearbox Oil and Coolant should be 1.5-2 times as long as the interval for Engine Oil.

Brake fluid should never be refilled. It is normal for the level to drop as the pads get worn down. The level shown in the reservoir is a way for you to know how worn out the pads are at a glance. When it reaches the minimum you should change any worn out pads/shoes, refill the fluid and bleed the brakes.

AC Filter, AC Blowing Test, Silencer coating, Brake service and consumables are just ways for the showroom to empty your wallet.

As many other members have suggested, change the place you are getting it serviced. Also, if possible, buy any fluids you want changed yourself. This way you get much higher quality for much lower price!

5W40 would be much better.

"S_" grades apply only to petrol engines (The 'S' standing for Spark Ignition). For diesel engines we use "C_" grades ('C' for Compression Ignition).

The appropriate grade would be CF or higher.

Sorry my fault! I forgot that thread was about the DIESEL engine while writing later text in the my post.[roll]

Thanks for the correction. Yes CF or higher is better choice.[:)]

since 9k kms ! and if you are in free service period- except consumables and replacements all other services should be free![surprise]

Today morning i gave my car for 30K service at Popular motors, Vatakara. I had a clear plan of the works to be carried out. Reached the service station by 8:30. The service adviser assigned for me took a test drive and he said the car is OK . I insisted him to clean EGR valve as per the recommendation by Maruthi, but he said it is not required. I was happy on saving 1500 and felt good about S.A. I used to give my car at Indus Motors and had an issue with the S.A regarding unnecessary work carried out without my consent. Hence i switched to Popular Motors and this is my first visit at their service center. Later on when i checked the job card for signing, i was shocked to see the work to be done like suspension check, clutch bleed etc. . I think this issue has to be seriously addressed by Maruti or else they will loose their potential customers. I have one question too.
Is break cleaning really required?
Brake bite is OK. But there is slight metal noise when i take my car out of garage for the first time in the morning. S.A advice me that it is mandatory, but i politely rejected and said it can be carried at next service.