Maruti Suzuki Alto Accessories & Modifications

My Alto Lxi ...My Basanthi...

This is all about my Alto ....bought her on april 2009 ,didnt knew anything about cars,did learn how to drive without any one help .

Wanted to share few pics of modifications done on her.

Feedback and suggestions are welcome .

Sachin J

Modification ideas for 2012 alto k10

Hello guys. So I want to modify my alto k10 which I bought on 4th Jan 2016. It's a silver colour alto k10 lxi with central locking. I just want to do some good mods without breaking the bank. Any kind of modification ideas are welcome (including performance mods). I am planning to get a projector type led fog lamp with angel eyes. How would that look on the k10? Also what about a switchback led drl for my car?? Thanks guys

Alto k10 modss

I am new in this. So i need some quick suggestions for modifying my alto k10 and products best price. And plzz tell me that Petrox Cree U5 Projector LED Aux Fog Light is this product for alto k10

Hi Guys, I am a new member to this forum,
My alto is of 2004 model and the gear console box is all broken.
I wanted to know where I could find a replacement for this console box, I am based out of Bangalore. Any pointers will be of great help

Ramesh

I own a Alto LX 2003 model. I want to do the following modifications to it

1. Change the steering wheel to a 3 spoke wheel with silver ascents from newer Alto K10 model.

2. Change the gear knob also with silver outlines.

3. Change the instrument cluster.

4. Some changes to the dash. Suggestions please.

Members please guide me whether these modifications are possible and the approximate cost involved.

Some Accessories for my Alto K10 VXi (expected sometime next week [roll]):

As per Maruti's equipment List, VXi variant will not have-

=Driver Airbag
=Front fog lamps
=Keyless Entry
=Body colored door mirror
=Body colored outside door handles
=Body side moldings

What I would like to add (upon delivery) are:

-Keyless Entry
-Chrome Door Handle
-Body side molding
-Back door Chrome Garnish (???)
-Reverse Parking Camera

From above list, I still not decided whether to go for back door chrome garnish.
Many may be thinking that Reverse parking camera may not be required for this small car but I prefer this mainly when parking unknown places in the night time (I am finding out bit difficult now on my present car without this, eventhough the car has Reverse parking sensor).

Any suggestions, please?

Some Accessories for my Alto K10 VXi (expected sometime next week [roll]):

As per Maruti's equipment List, VXi variant will not have-

=Driver Airbag
=Front fog lamps
=Keyless Entry
=Body colored door mirror
=Body colored outside door handles
=Body side moldings

What I would like to add (upon delivery) are:

-Keyless Entry
-Chrome Door Handle
-Body side molding
-Back door Chrome Garnish (???)
-Reverse Parking Camera

From above list, I still not decided whether to go for back door chrome garnish.
Many may be thinking that Reverse parking camera may not be required for this small car but I prefer this mainly when parking unknown places in the night time (I am finding out bit difficult now on my present car without this, eventhough the car has Reverse parking sensor).

Any suggestions, please?

Instead of those two accessories, I'd suggest you install fog lamps and I'm damn sure those cheap looking chrome garnish will be priced unseemly.

Reverse parking sensor would be better then camera, if budget permits you could go for camera with sensor.

Yes, Back door Chrome garnish is not a must accessory for me. Also Chrome door handle.

Fog lamps - dealer website rate is Rs.4500 which I think bit high -can we not do it from outside?? Will it affect the Warranty??

Regarding Reverse parking Camera - there are 3 rates given in their website - that are Rs.15,500, 10,990 & Rs.4000. They have not given any details but I presume 4000 one will be just parking sensor and Rs.10,990 may be reverse parking camera and expensive one may be reverse parking camera with sensor..!![confused]

Hello Nairrk

I would suggest getting keyless entry, parking sensors and front foglamps from the showroom. You can get the rest from aftermarket shops. Door moulding and chrome door handles will be priced at Rs. 500 each in the aftermarket (total Rs. 1000).

Regarding Reverse parking Camera - there are 3 rates given in their website - that are Rs.15,500, 10,990 & Rs.4000. They have not given any details but I presume 4000 one will be just parking sensor and Rs.10,990 may be reverse parking camera and expensive one may be reverse parking camera with sensor..!!
At Maruti, Rs. 4k would be for parking sensors, Rs. 11k for parking camera and sensors with seperate small display and Rs. 15k would be for camera and sensors with IRVM integrated display. Not worth spending on the last two options. If you want, get only parking sensors from showroom as the displays available in aftermarket are el-cheapo and the ones available in showroom are overpriced. Same for foglamps, quality of aftermarket products would be a huge compromise and showroom products are overpriced. If you are getting them for cosmetic purpose only, why not get aftermarket ones fitted (but not connected)? My friend has a similar setup, it looks good and doesn't involve any wire cut also. Cost was Rs. 650 for his Dzire.

Back chrome door garnish would be look very cheesy in my opinion. Better to confirm how it looks beforehand. I would prefer body coloured door handles instead.

Alpha

Yes, I too interested mainly in Keyless Entry and Reverse Parking system and I want this things to be done at Maruti dealer only to avoid any warranty breach because of doing such works outside. I may be doing the Fog lamps also alongwith this work or may be during 1st service.

Door handle or backdoor garnish etc is not a must for me, but will see how it looks and then will decide.

Update:

Dealer guy has given me their Accessory rates as under:

-Undercoating (3M- 2 year guarantee?) - Rs.2600
-Paint protection (3M) - Rs. 3100
-Floor Mat - Rs.2360 (four pieces)
-Door sill guard (steel) - Rs.690
-Fog Lamps - Rs.4300
-Central locking (Nippon) - Rs.6800
-Reverse parking sensor with camera - Rs.13,500

Monsoon season is over here hence I think undercoating can be done prior to next rainy season??

Paint protection - how effective this is - anyone using it??

Fog lamps - seems the price is bit high?(but still it will be safe doing it prior delivery?)

I prefer to do the fittings from the dealer itself, eventhough the cost is bit high to avoid any warranty breach (by doing the works outside). Also these fittings will be done at dealers head show room (which is about 140kms from my place ) where probably there may be good and experienced guys to do such works instead of some half boiled technician doing it here..

What do you think guys?

Dealer guy has given me their Accessory rates as under:

-Undercoating (3M- 2 year guarantee?) - Rs.2600
-Paint protection (3M) - Rs. 3100
-Floor Mat - Rs.2360 (four pieces)
-Door sill guard (steel) - Rs.690
-Fog Lamps - Rs.4300
-Central locking (Nippon) - Rs.6800
-Reverse parking sensor with camera - Rs.13,500

What do you think guys?
Hello Nairrk

I think you should opt for fog lamps and central locking only. Floor mats and sill guard (I guess they are quoting non-illuminated ones) can be added from aftermarket shops without any effect whatsoever on the warranty. You can easily get a decent set of 3D mats under 1.5k and non-illuminated sill guards would come for around 500 bucks.

Regarding the 3M coatings, it is better to get it done seperately from a dedicated 3M outlet as you can discuss the various treatments available in detail and pick the most suitable one. On top of that, professionalism and attention given to each car is excellent. I think paint protection is just a hogwash, I have seen that the more expensive 3M paint sealant is effective in protecting the gloss of darker vehicle shades. It costs around 2 or 3 times the rate quoted to you. OTOH, you can get underbody coating done as per your wish. I was advised to get it done as early as possible because the underbody is practically devoid of any dust, dirt, rust, damage, grime or any bad particles during delivery. I would still suggest you to get both the things (underbody and something for the exteriors/paint finish) from 3M as there are no warranty hassles related to these jobs.

For foglamps, as I told you, the quality of aftermarket products is a letdown. If you need them necessarily, get them from the dealer. No other choice. The reverse parking sensors and camera are highly overpriced IMHO. You can get an entry-level full blown 2DIN touch screen easily at that price, and it will support your camera also. For a car costing 3-4 lacs, spending 15k on reverse camera (an accessory that you will use hardly 10% of your driving time) can narrow down the gap to the next variant or a better car altogether. So think twice before going for this one. If it had been an Ertiga costing 10 Lac (stress is on price, not size), I wouldn't have thought twice before spending 15k.

Alpha

Thanks yours @Alpha.
There was a mistake in my rate quote, especially on the floor mat - the actual rate (I clarified now with my sales guy) for Floor mat Rs.1200 (full floor mat) and foot mats Rs.590 for 4 pieces )

I too was thinking of doing paint protection and under coating from outside where I can expect much better job than what they do in the dealer shop(who knows what they are doing?).

Fog lamp and Central lock - yes, I am doing it (the guy sent me the picture of the central lock system pocket which is written as '' Requires no Wire cutting'', Requires no drilling on Door'' ?? )

IRVM reverse parking camera - The key features of this one quoted by Maruti dealer are:
-Inner rear view mirror display
-rear direction with fours sensors & rear view camera
-Distance & direction indicators
-Built-in speaker
-Night vision camera supports/water proof

(Few months back, around 9 pm, I was reversing my Fiesta (which has only reverse parking sensor) and I was following the beep sound. Usually I take the car couple of inches back even after getting the long beep as I know there was enough space to move the car further even after the long beep. I heard same long beep and further moving the car down on that day also but I heard a minor thud sound and I immediately applied the brake. Then I could see all my relatives were running towards the rear side of the car...

What happened was that my Brother-in-law's small child was standing on the floor, just rear side of the car enjoying the brake light/parking light etc but I couldnt notice her even the beep sound was there which was my regular practise. Luckily the tiny girl was holding a toy which she thrown on the car the moment the bumber kissed her. It was very very light touch because I was reversing very very slowly and applied the brake immediately, the moment I heard the sound. Eventhough she fell down there was no injury to the child. No one nearby was watching the child, where is she or what she is doing as every one was talking each other (we all came from a trip) and simply forgot the child.

Since then, I was thinking of fitting reverse camera on my new car whether it will be small hatchback or a sedan.!!)

See below the Reverse Parking Assist which the Maruti dealer offered:

screenshot-www.team-bhp.com 2016-11-15 15-34-46.jpg

screenshot-www.team-bhp.com 2016-11-15 15-35-42.jpg
The Camera​

The MRP is Rs.12490 whereas dealer rate is Rs.13,500 which means they take Rs.1000 as installation charges[roll]