Hyundai Xcent SX VTVT Ownership Review - My Family Car

Guys. This is my first post. And want to clear this doubt asap. Planning to buy xcent. Initially finalized sx(o) petrol. But now confused whether to go for sx or sx(o) . Is sx(o) a good buy. When compared with sx. I want to book the car tomorrow. Please help me. Thanks in advance.

SX is best buy. SX(O) offers only ACC, better 15" wheels, Start/Stop, Leather wrapped Steering Wheel and Smart Access!!

If you need these gizmos for 70k more, then go ahead. But I must say SX is real sweet deal!

SX is best buy. SX(O) offers only ACC, better 15" wheels, Start/Stop, Leather wrapped Steering Wheel and Smart Access!!

If you need these gizmos for 70k more, then go ahead. But I must say SX is real sweet deal!
Agreed ! :agree: . Go for SX, additional cost for SX(O) is not that justified. But yes, if money is not the constrain, go ahead :)

As furious_driver summed it up very well, price difference for SX O is not justified. Go for SX and use the saved 70k for fuel or ICE! [lol]

Xcent owners, I have some questions and doubts (FD saarji, please don't curse me for eating up your 25 minutes and still raising same questions :biggrin: ); we have Xcent S as a super strong contender for a 6 lac petrol car in my circle.

1) What can be the expected FE in Delhi-NCR and in the traffic which runs at 10-15 kilometers an hour max? I guess Bangalore guys can answer the second question better or maybe someone working in Cyber City Gurgaon. [;)]

2) Highway and hilly road behavior and what can be the expected FE?

3) A.S.S. costs?

4) Some uninformed person as informed me that the car is poorly built and the bumpers, especially the front one comes out of pace even on hitting the minor objects. Is it so?

5) How is in city behavior along with hilly road, speed breakers and flyover negotiation with 1 person, 3-4 people and a bootful of luggage (60-70 kg easily)?

Anyone with a 30-35k kilometers done petrol Xcent? A short list of issues faced till date will be well appreciable. BTW how is it compared to a DZire?

Hilly behavior is simply not upto the mark. You need to work around gears to get it going. And FE can be anywhere between 8-10 with full load!!!

4) Some uninformed person as informed me that the car is poorly built and the bumpers, especially the front one comes out of pace even on hitting the minor objects. Is it so?
That's because of the recent pedestrian law. It is mandatory to have bumper made from plastic parts.

Anyone with a 30-35k kilometers done petrol Xcent? A short list of issues faced till date will be well appreciable. BTW how is it compared to a DZire?
I've done close to 15k kilometers and driven extensively in bad roads. So far, no rattles or any sort of issues.

Xcent owners, I have some questions and doubts (FD saarji, please don't curse me for eating up your 25 minutes and still raising same questions :biggrin: ); we have Xcent S as a super strong contender for a 6 lac petrol car in my circle.

1) What can be the expected FE in Delhi-NCR and in the traffic which runs at 10-15 kilometers an hour max? I guess Bangalore guys can answer the second question better or maybe someone working in Cyber City Gurgaon. [;)]

3) A.S.S. costs?

5) How is in city behavior along with hilly road, speed breakers and flyover negotiation with 1 person, 3-4 people and a bootful of luggage (60-70 kg easily)?

Not an Xcent owner, but have something to say on the bumper quality and compare it with Dzire.

Bumpers in modern cars are made flimsy deliberately because of this pedestrian safety law that furious_driver is talking about. My Dzire's bumper can be pressed inside with a little bit of force but the old Swift has a strong and sturdy bumper. Our old Alto's rear bumper was also very sturdy as compared to our modern cars. This doesn't mean that the car is poorly built, manufacturers have to give low quality (flimsy) bumpers. Coming out of place is a common problem in Chevy Beat's rear bumper, because the positioning of clips is vertical and as it gets pressed from rear, the outer edges protrude and spread out, breaking the clips easily. Only owners can confirm whether this problem is with Xcent also.

When compared to Dzire, Xcent feels a smaller (due to width) car which is good for traffic, but Dzire's steering and dynamics are more suited to an enthusiast's taste. Dzire Petrol isn't a great performer in the low revs but even this has a benefit. You can actually get like 2 modes in the ECU. When you drive spiritedly (say redline in first 2 gears and reach 90 kmph), you will notice that the idle RPM will stay at around 1k RPM and will come to normal 600-800 RPM after some 2 minutes of idle. So, when you want to drive rash, the car will perform good (more responsive) with low FE and when you want to go in the economy mode, the performance will feel average but FE would increase. After 2.5k RPM the Dzire Petrol is very enjoyable, and still comfortable upto 5k. So, if one learns the art of matching RPMs and gears, Dzire (and in fact, even the Xcent) can be fun to drive.

Our diesel Dzire's 60k service costed around Rs. 8400 (20k service was around 5.5k and 40k service around 8k). It will soon go for 80k service in Jan 2016 (currently 76k) and I don't think that the cost would go above 10k. For petrol Dzire, the service would be lesser, I think around 2k lesser. With the current option variants with ABS and Airbags, I think that Vxi Option is absolute VFM.

Thanks for your inputs TAIgers. I was in a hurry today. So I couldn't wait for the reply. And it was my first post and it waited a while to be live, as it needed approval. And thank you 350z for the approval.
So, the news is, I did a lot of thinking. And saved almost 81k.
Booked Sx silver today evening. We are very happy about the decision. And the dealer promised the car to be delivered asap if the money is sent via RTGS soon. So may be I will get the car by next week. Hope I get the car on time. Very excited.
And am yet to do a intro post. Will do it after I get the car. And thanks for the old ownership reviews and other posts that helped me a lot in selecting and taking the right decision.
Car costed me 7.25L on road in bangalore. SXO was 8.08L. After all discounts. And including bottom protector, front grill, scuff plates. And other default accessories. I dunno whether I got the best deal but happy with the selection.
I would have save another 50 to 60k if I had booked the car at my native. But I dint want to be targeted by RTO.
Thanks again.

Hilly behavior is simply not upto the mark. You need to work around gears to get it going. And FE can be anywhere between 8-10 with full load!!!
That's because of the recent pedestrian law. It is mandatory to have bumper made from plastic parts.
I've done close to 15k kilometers and driven extensively in bad roads. So far, no rattles or any sort of issues.
Well, my opinion differs a bit, recently I went to Nainital from Noida, with 5 People, and full boot up to max. I never had to face any issues ! Yes, like very other 1.2 Ltr. Petrol Engine it does has it's limitation, but it fairs very well within it's capability. My FE, was around 13 on my trip to Noida to Naintal and back.
Agree with the Quality, i just completed about 13K, and yet to feel any kind of discomfort or noise from car.

And including bottom protector,
Whats that Bottom Protector?. Can you share any picture of it? I'm looking for some kind of protection at the bottom of car, as i drive a lot on highways, and it would be good to have some kind of protection at the bottom. Can't find any workshop/dealer who has that for Xcent in Vadodara. A dealer advised me not to put anything under body, as that hampers the air flow and reduces the FE.

Guys thanks for your replies, the situation is a bit clear now. Being a 1.2l engine; I can expect first and second gear usage for most of the time in hilly routes and that's not an issue at all. Even most of our puny engines CRDi diesels also do require to shift to first at times on hilly routes.

Anyone installed any kind of driver armrest in Xcent? If yes then please guide of the one you installed and how is it faring? Pics will be appreciable.

@swadesh :
Yes, like any other 1.2L engine, it does have it's limitations and if you knew your way around it, then it is just fine.

@TSIVipul
I can see a lot of Armrest in amazon.in and I don't think it will be tougher to get it installed too!

I thought I will post my mileage log photographs here which would speak for itself.

wp_ss_20151212_0001.png wp_ss_20151212_0002.png

The latest 12.23 Kmpl is what I get in a city traffic and driven with an aggressive nature to get rid of some nervousness of this car. The highest 18.47 Kmpl clocked is when this is driven on 4-lane highways sedately at speeds of 70-80 Kmph. The one next to it clocked at 16.41 kmpl, is the same 4-lane drives but at 100-120 Kmph of speeds.

The earliest 14.83 Kmpl is on a hilly drive, but sedate driving. That 12.79 Kmpl right above that is round-trip Kodaikanal with a heavy foot. All these figures are with 4 passengers on board most of the time.

I thought I will post my mileage log photographs here which would speak for itself.

View attachment 187553 View attachment 187554

The latest 12.23 Kmpl is what I get in a city traffic and driven with an aggressive nature to get rid of some nervousness of this car. The highest 18.47 Kmpl clocked is when this is driven on 4-lane highways sedately at speeds of 70-80 Kmph. The one next to it clocked at 16.41 kmpl, is the same 4-lane drives but at 100-120 Kmph of speeds.

The earliest 14.83 Kmpl is on a hilly drive, but sedate driving. That 12.79 Kmpl right above that is round-trip Kodaikanal with a heavy foot. All these figures are with 4 passengers on board most of the time.
What are you using to calculate the mileage of the car? Is it android app?