Hyundai Verna Fluidic Clutch Problem

I owned Verna VGT CRDi which I sold last year and didn't face any issues with the clutch until 1,00,000kms. Close to this land mark clutch master cylinder developed some problems and had to be replaced. Since clutch also gradually started feeling heavy (was told clutch plates were also on verge of failure). I changed both all together and costed somewhere between 20 - 25K including labor. So looks like some cars have master cylinder problem - other wise it is not a typical problem with Verna

I spoke to my SA today and he indicated the issue to be with either the master cylinder or the clutch itself or both otherwise.

He gave me a estimate of 4K to replace the master cylinder and 14K for a new clutch assembly with Labour.

I will be visiting the service center next week and keep the development posted here
I too asked about the clutch repair and he gave me an estimate of 16k.

After posting the problem above, I was out of delhi and didn't drive the car for 8 days and after returning the clutch was back to normal and still is.

Problem comes and then vanishes. [confused]

Yeah plese post the details.

I owned Verna VGT CRDi which I sold last year and didn't face any issues with the clutch until 1,00,000kms. Close to this land mark clutch master cylinder developed some problems and had to be replaced. Since clutch also gradually started feeling heavy (was told clutch plates were also on verge of failure). I changed both all together and costed somewhere between 20 - 25K including labor. So looks like some cars have master cylinder problem - other wise it is not a typical problem with Verna
Thanks for sharing your experience. My car has covered just 13k kms. Problem started when I was reversing the car from a ditch, clutch was half pressed while reversing and due to the oncoming cars the car moved forward as soon as I removed my foot from the accelerator (because of the ditch).

Now clutch is smooth but it will become hard in a few kms and come back to normal and 2-3 times I got burning smell in the cabin as well. :(

Smell of burning clutch is not at all a good sign. Request you to get complete inspection of the clutch assembly done as soon as possible and take corrective measures.

I thinks its late to comment,still i am saying just from my little knowledge.

Most new cars have Fluid clutch technology-Check whether the Hard clutch symptom prevails only during the initial moments after starting the car.
If its so,its nothing to worry,its the (fluid's warm up time),sometimes this can also cause burning smell.

Always insist service centres to adjust clutch play to your requirement,so that you won't adjust with clutch,but clutch is adjusted to your feel.

This will enhance clutch life.

Clutch life can be tested in a small uphill ascend,if biting point/half clutch point is not pronounced,then its time to check the clutch pressure plate and play.
Mostly at 12 k intervals Clutch play adjustment will do the job.

hi guys, late reply as i was following up on the same clutch issue.

I have been facing the same problem since 1 week of taking the delivery. on my way back from one outing clutch pedal got jammed and at that time they replaced the MC and was somewhat solved [clap] and later i started getting the clutch hardening finally after 2.6yrs and 43k kms the issue became so prominent that slotting the gear was a herculean task [frustration] from start till now the MC has been changed 4 times (all under warranty) and not solved the problem.

one month back few engineers from Hyundai (chennai) plant visited all the service centers in bangalore and suggested to change with a modified MC for some batch of verna's. now the clutch has become smooth and gear shift has smooth as new [clap]

For every batch of fluidic verna's from 2012 onwards there is a specific MC that has been made and is your ASS says that MC needs to be changed inform him to change with the correct MC part else the problem will not go away. all the best to all the owners with the issue. Its tough but fight it out and ask for a proper justification from correct guys, it will get solved. its a great car but the ASS are not sufficiently qualified to handle such issues. This is INDIA so deal accordingly.

Even My Car (July 2012) got this problem at 21000 kms. The master, slave cylinder, pressure plate and bearings were changed. However, again the same problem cropped up at 30000 Kms. The car has been given At Mohol Hyundai for repairs. The usual reasons and action. Change all the parts again. Lets see how the car behaves after change.
They also talked about modified clutch plate and pressure plate will be put for correcting the problem

Hi Tango, Let me know how is the performance with this modified clutch and pressure plate. Might be other can also get benefited with this update.

@ sudee, this time the Technical manager was more involved in understanding the problem. He recommended change of Clutch Pressure plate and skimming of the fly wheel to clear any burn marks/ rough areas.

The Clutch pressure plate is a modified version for 2012 model.

I have driven about 400 kms and did not face any problem in gear shift. Though the longest strech was less than 100 kms ( Mumbai to Lonavla). I am scheduled to drive to Hyderabad and back in next few days. That should give a better feed back about the elimination of the problem
I'll keep you posted.

@tango, are you facing any clutch slip issue? my car too had problem after clutch replacement at 20K kms. Had to change the master cylinder for a''modified one'' as my service centre called it

With labour charge and parts it came to be 12439 without flywheel polishing which was one for free
Hi Vishak,

After all the job they did and charged you 12439, have you got issue rectified ..? i am also facing the same issue in my verna 1.6 diesel and planning to visit hyundai service centre in delhi. [thinking]
Please reply..

Firstly, if the clutch is fully depressed and the car doesn't want to go into gear, try this- say you need to go into 3 and the gear is not engaging. Quickly put in 4th, then back into 3rd without letting go of the clutch. If this works, you either have a slack clutch cable or the gear box (shifter rod) needs to be services. I used to have this problem in my WagonR

Clutch plates are wearing parts, so don't carry warranty. However, the clutch shouldn't expire within a year or two or 10-15k km unless driven improperly consistently. If that's happening, its more likely that the clutch is not disengaging completely whilst changing gears
However, if you face problems and car is under warranty, take the car to the ASC immediately. If after a couple of visits, they aren't able to solve the issue, call up the company complaints number and lodge an official complaint. And be stern while doing so. Such complaints go into the company's dealer information system, so the dealer earns demerits. The ASC is then bound to chase you down to fix the problem

And, in case you are agreeing to the ASC replacing the clutch at your cost saying they will deduct the cost in the next service, make sure you take this from them in writing

Ameyam

I have verna sx 1.6 model since Feb 2014. got a fairly nice deal in this model and owned it in 8 lakhs, so it goes like this.. yes, ‘I am THE second owner’ and yes, i am proud of it. In the first 8 months of my drive it was sailing like a ship in quiet sea, no bumps, nothing. a good machine to show off. After then it got a first bump in gear. Gears started stucking while shifting from 1 to 2 to 3 to 4. though 5 and 6 were smooth then. the most irritated one was reverse gear. the moment i was giving a thought to shift my gear in reverse, the sound of eeiiinnnnnnn….thhuugg was crossing in my mind. Now since i got married in January, it was a quite embarrassing experience in front of my in-laws to back/reverse my car in front of them. Because seeing this beauty first time each individual expects a alot about its behavior and right then, it gives you a sound like eeeeiiiinnnnn...thugggg. well, I know, quite embarrassing..
Now, in between of all this mind boggling things, i was checking all over the net to get the right solution for the my beauty n beast. All I had received was a bundle of complaints with lots of bucks spent by many people and yet they are facing the gear stuck issue.Open google and write “verna fluidic gear issue” and you will find out hundreds of complaints flooded with queries against HMIL.

a thought ran into my mind to buy a new car from maruti because of two reasons :

• verna’s gear stuck issue and also the shockers ride quality were not that too high. with 4 persons loaded, it was touching to most of the speed breakers.
  • ofcourse and the very obvious, maruti’s reliability and assurance of service. was planning for ertiga
then i opted to have this beast because of two reasons:

• i couldn’t managed to get a good car in terms of good looks and feature as compared to verna. plus my budget was around 8 lakhs, not exceeding. and also that too in sedan or LUV only. no hatchbacks. I had santro earlier, just for information.

Then i went my car mechanic which i trust most, like 5% or 10%, if i see the hyundai workshop first i will rather choose this mechanic. He solved my wagnor issue too in 2014 and i was much impressed with his work. He charged a genuine price with genuine maruti parts.

He saw verna, took a ride and said “Ho jayega, thoda kharcha zyada aayega.. ab yeh bhi toh dekho, fluidic verna hai.. parts mehange aayege”. and explaining me the reason of the issue like a doctor.. every word he said was enough to show some trust in him to get this issue resolve.. I said how much.. he said somewhere around 10000rs which includes shockers stiffness too. Although he was quite confident in himself, but some serious thoughts were running into my mind parallel that if this would be right decision or not to spend my hard earned money. The reason was, I have seen those articles where guys spent about 50k bucks and issue still persists.. But I took the my chances and gave car to him with a TAT of 2 days.. On second day I gave a call to him (i was kind of worried about my drive).. mechanic said that I can take my car tomorrow means third day.. I felt like to said “tumse na ho payega.. jane do”.. but i maintained to be in my cool, calm and compose behaviour and said OK.
On third day, (grand finale day) when i went to him for my car in mechanic’s garage. Mechanic was busy in other car’s repairing. Verna was not there. He said ”baitho.. gaadi abi gyi hai banne ko.. aa jayegi 5 min me ”... and the very first thought which ran in my mind was ”gha*ta baitho.. show me my car u idiot.. aaj teersa din hai.”[gun] Then he repaired the other car and went in it with fellow mechanic to bring Verna.
FINALLY, he came and i saw my verna after 3 days.. happened first time since i bought it. car was shining like all new. He got it washed - in & out. so it was a cleaned car and he said to me take a drive, ‘alone’. I drove and “voila” so nice, so yum..cream.. makhan to drive.. again.. smoothhiee..[clap] then thought of reverse gear came in my mind.. again.. yesss...heart was thumping.. bum bum bum.. but mechanic had done his job-perfectly.
Cost - rs 15000.. yes.. 5000rs extra.. clutch plate, ball bearing changed, gear oil changed.. some rubber inserted between shockers to make it more stiff.
i am back with verna and loving it more.. me..Show off again..
Mechanic name: Lokesh

gear stuck issue got resolved.. atleast for 60000km.. that’s what a clutch plate demands in it’s lifetime..rest depends how you drive your car..[drive]

You could have easily got the gear box issue resolved under warranty from hyundai. And the local mechanic just changed the gear oil ? I think the main problem in your car was the clutch and not the gears. Clutch wasn't good so the gears weren't engaging properly.