“Fashionably Elite”
Hyundai Elite i20 Review Synopsis: Hyundai Elite i20 price tag is between Rs.4.89 – 7.66 Lakh (Ex.showroom, Delhi). It launched in India on 11th August 2014.
If there’s a car that easily qualifies for being among the major cash cows for Hyundai Motor India, then unquestionably it’s the Hyundai Elite i20. Straight from the time when it debuted in 2008 with ‘uber-cool’ tagline, Hyundai has consistently marketed this car as a premium product over more established rivals vis-à-vis Maruti Suzuki Swift. Starting at Rs. 4.89 lacs and Rs. 6.09 lacs for the petrol and diesel model respectively, this price tag of Hyundai Elite i20 lives up to its premiumness. Back then, it was a serious gamble in a segment which was still in budding phase. But terrific response proved that the Koreans put their money where their mouth is. Ultimately, Hyundai had found the right mix which was capable to make up for the loss incurred by the Getz. The i20 managed to remain a decent performer for long run without demanding a major overhaul.
The next generation model arrives bang on time when the outgoing i20 was almost on the verge of losing its charm in a plethora of fresh options available. Labeled as Elite i20, the car has been extensively reworked at Hyundai Design Center in Rüsselsheim (Germany) where the entire concept of i20 first originated. Standing true to its name, i20 bears unmistakably elite elements in form of European-influenced design that Hyundai classifies as Fluidic Sculpture 2.0 philosophy. Of late, Hyundai’s new cars have observed a perceptible trend of toned-down fluidic styling and the new Elite i20 is no exception.
The intention behind Fluidic Sculpture 2.0 design is to develop an automotive styling which is inspired by and coexisting with nature. In an attempt to keep the looks upmarket, Hyundai has also adopted front European hexagonal grille design from high-end models like next generation Sonata LF and Genesis. However, what’s prominently skipped is daylight running lamps which serve as a fashion statement for Indians more than anything else. Until now, Hyundai’s Chennai Plant was the global base for production of i20, however, now since i20 will also be manufactured in Europe, the company doesn't consider it important to offer DRLs exclusively for the Indian market.
From outside, the Elite i20 looks a size bigger than it is. As a matter of fact, its length has been chopped off by 10 mm which was formerly 3995 mm although the wheelbase is extended by a generous 45 mm allowing more room on the inside. This makes the car have a maximum wheelbase segmentwise. Likewise, ground clearance also observes a slight rise from 165 mm to 170 mm, so does the width by 24 mm. Height, on the other hand, remains same at 1505 mm. The Hyundai Elite i20 never fails to please the eyes regardless of whichever angle its viewed. Let's admit, this car has dramatically evolved from a discreet family-mover to one of the sportiest looking hatches.
For once, the long hood complemented by sweptback headlamps offers an impression in ORVM as if the car behind is a sedan. It’s only until the Hyundai Elite i20 zoom pasts away when a first time spectator would realize that it’s simply a full-grown hatchback. There’s apparently no compromise on exterior design and Hyundai has also thrown conspicuous 16” alloys on top-variants that give side view a fuller stance (lower variants receive 14 inchers though). These sets of diamond cut alloys exclude striking dual-tone shade present on that of Grand i10. Thick black C-Pillars are another element that further visually enhances its sporty characteristics. The rear design is a massive redesign over the i-Gen i20. Thanks to the horizontal tail lamp cluster, the Hyundai Elite i20 now looks so much more intimidating.