How and When Did Your Car Got Its First Damage?

I banged my 1st car a Tata sierra within the first week of delivery. I still remember it as if it was yday. I had taken my mom for a short ride.. I wanted to have her confidence so that I could drive regularly. All went well. It was early morning around 6 am. I drive the car until it was 7 am. When I reached home. A beggar lady came just when I was about to enter. To avoid her banged the car to a coconut tree in the compound. Thank god never banged her. Cost of the repair in 1994 was 6500 even after claiming insurance.

At night i drove my polo at 120km/H on fourlane road ,suddenly a group of calfs resting on centre of road came to my sight i suddenly braked abs worked car first drifts from bak to left and i tried to steer back and it drifts to right just centimeters to divider it rear could have gone if its clashed with divider
When again i tried to steer to normal mouth of on calf got hit on left front fender cause a dent near A pillar that was horror night for me
And car was just 10 days old

I have driven my alto 800 for about 9000 km before I sold it off. I did not have a single scratch or dent in it in 2 years of ownership even though I learned driving in this car.

Bought baleno in 2015 and driven almost 8000 km when I got the first dent by a careless biker who has bumped the driver door in an empty stretch.

I bought my Wagon R in August 2011 and it was not even 3 months old when a bus driver caused a huge tear and scratch on the right hand side of the car. I was staying in Navi Mumbai then and we do not have any car park in the apartment. So all cars are parked on the internal roads of the area and so was mine. A day before Diwali 2011, I don't know what the bus driver was thinking and he decided to take his bus (50 seater) through this very narrow road which can only accommodate two cars side by side. So there he was trying to move his bus between two cars parked on the road and mine was on his left side and it was clear he did not have a clear view of it. So he moved his bus between the two cars and caused huge scratch on my car. Luckily I was just returning from office when he was attempting this feat. I got hold of him dragged him to the nearest police station and threatened to file a complaint. The police station scene continued for another 3 hours after which the driver agreed to pay me 4500/- for the damage. I accepted, let him go and took my car next day to ASC for repairs. Insurance had to claimed as the damage was too heavy and the car was in garage for 6 days. The door panels were replaced, repainted and baked in the oven at the body shop. When the car came to me after 6 days it was all brand new. A minimal fee of 800/- was charged to me and rest was claimed from Insurance. I did loose NCB for the policy but the amount recovered from bus driver compensated that.

Hi friends,

I bought my new car Toyota liva limited edition on the 3rd of July 2016. I have already driven the car for 3000 odd kilometer.

Everything was going fine as I drive my car pretty smoothly. Just a couple of days back at around 6am in the morning I was heading to my home after dropping my Wife to her school .

Their it was as I took a right after crossing the road, all of a sudden a bike came right at my car from wrong direction and bang.....he hit my side side rear view camera. The glass fell off on the road and the bike waala hurriedly rushed off before I could stop mu car. I collected the glass from road which was shattered into pieces.

It really broke my heart , although their was no dent, it's really difficult for me to drive without right side rear view mirror.

Spoke to a private garage who resides just next to my house. He has ordered the glasses, however it will take some time before I get it as its tough to get liva parts from private vendors. It will cost me around 300 to 400 bucks and at the same time it will cost me around 1100 to 1200 plus taxes if I get it from Toyota.

Haha good thread. I managed to get the first damage in a month's time when I was a new driver and a cousin helping me while reversing couldn't spot a damn electric pole with both his eyes+ another set of glasses.

In other news, I know someone who rubbed his car at showroom exit itself [lol]

Generally people learn driving first and purchase own car afterwards. I did the reverse and even more interestingly started driving following driving videos of YouTube. And to my surprise I could start the car and move a bit. Strengthened by such experience one day I took the car out of my housing to about 1/2 km. After returning to my housing complex I sweated a lot to park. Finally after having some scratches on the bumper I could park. And the exhaustion and trauma of that day led me to join MDS to learn driving. The scratches still remained on left of my front bumper.

Hi friends,

I bought my new car Toyota liva limited edition on the 3rd of July 2016. I have already driven the car for 3000 odd kilometer.

Everything was going fine as I drive my car pretty smoothly. Just a couple of days back at around 6am in the morning I was heading to my home after dropping my Wife to her school .

Their it was as I took a right after crossing the road, all of a sudden a bike came right at my car from wrong direction and bang.....he hit my side side rear view camera. The glass fell off on the road and the bike waala hurriedly rushed off before I could stop mu car. I collected the glass from road which was shattered into pieces.

It really broke my heart , although their was no dent, it's really difficult for me to drive without right side rear view mirror.

Spoke to a private garage who resides just next to my house. He has ordered the glasses, however it will take some time before I get it as its tough to get liva parts from private vendors. It will cost me around 300 to 400 bucks and at the same time it will cost me around 1100 to 1200 plus taxes if I get it from Toyota.
I don't think the glass should cost more than 200 rs. For santro and i10 it costs less than 100 rs ( fox brand)

Hey allhyundaicars,

Suppose I get the glasses from outside, will it be alright?

I mean despite of the huge price difference I was noy sure wether to get it done from outside or get it done from Toyota itself.

If the quality of outside glass is ok then I think it will be wise enough to get it done outside rather through Toyota.

Kindly advice. Need to get it done ASAP.

I took delivery of my vehicle in the morning session.
Came home for lunch.
Had planned to go to temple for blessing the car in the evening - temple authorities were informed prior to my visiting so the time to take darshan & blessings were fixed.
In my enthusiasm to back my vehicle out of our enclosed parking in my building, i did not judge the pillars and my right side mirror went for a song when backing my vehicle.
To correct this, i overcompensated in the other direction and scratched the left side aft portion of the car too.
Felt bad but went to temple with family, took good darshan, got car blessed and gave to service centre for repairs. [:)]

Hey allhyundaicars,

Suppose I get the glasses from outside, will it be alright?

I mean despite of the huge price difference I was noy sure wether to get it done from outside or get it done from Toyota itself.

If the quality of outside glass is ok then I think it will be wise enough to get it done outside rather through Toyota.

Kindly advice. Need to get it done ASAP.
I hope allhyundaicars wouldn't mind me answering. I assume only the mirror came out & got broken. I also assume "mirror's plastic housing and clamps (inside housing are intact. I also assume mirror adjustment motor is working, if applicable. If all my assumptions are right, you can go ahead and replace with any mirror that fits inside the housing snugly. A third party mirror might have slightly poor reflectivity. It does not matter, as long as you are able to see objects in it.

Just for info:
The mirrors we use at homes would have a reflectivity of around 80% to 90%. 15 years back, I saw a mirror sample with reflectivity of more than 97%, for use in Satellite's Solar Panel. The size of the mirror was 1 inch x 1 inch. It was made by depositing a reflective substance onto a back plane. The cost then was ... ... ... Rs. 1 Lakhs per piece [surprise] It might cost Rs 20,000/- or lesser now.

I hope allhyundaicars wouldn't mind me answering. I assume only the mirror came out & got broken. I also assume "mirror's plastic housing and clamps (inside housing are intact. I also assume mirror adjustment motor is working, if applicable. If all my assumptions are right, you can go ahead and replace with any mirror that fits inside the housing snugly. A third party mirror might have slightly poor reflectivity. It does not matter, as long as you are able to see objects in it.

Just for info:
The mirrors we use at homes would have a reflectivity of around 80% to 90%. 15 years back, I saw a mirror sample with reflectivity of more than 97%, for use in Satellite's Solar Panel. The size of the mirror was 1 inch x 1 inch. It was made by depositing a reflective substance onto a back plane. The cost then was ... ... ... Rs. 1 Lakhs per piece [surprise] It might cost Rs 20,000/- or lesser now.
Thanks a lot Vijay !!!!

Appreciate your advice. You are right. Only my car glass has been broken, everything else is intact and the motor is also working.

As per your advice I think I can go with the 3rd party mirror. Their is no point spending 3 to 4 times the cost at which o am getting it locally.

On the Thread title:

Matiz was my first car. My first trip to Ghats in Matiz was to Kasauli and Chail in May 2000, with friends (yeah yeah, family went to home town for summer vacation). I learned Highway & Ghat driving during that trip. No incidents. Later on with family, had trips to Haridwar / Rishikesh, Mathura / Agra etc. Again no incidents.

First Damage to car: Sometime in May/June 2001 went to Mussoorie with family and relatives. On the Ghat roads, as I was overtaking a Bus, the bus driver moved to his right and the bus brushed Matiz's front passenger door. Somehow, with God's help, I managed to steer away from bus and avoided further damage. The bus sped away. I was not in a frame of mind to chase him (as I was literally shaking [;)] ). Found no damages other than heavy dents and scratches on the Passenger Door. Decided to enjoy the trip and went ahead. And, we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Even now I cherish the memory of my then 3+ year old daughter refusing to enter Kempty Falls (after she kept saying throughout the journey that she would catch fishes in the river).

Second Damage to car: Happened during the return journey itself [cry] ; That's reason I am mentioning the 2nd accident. It happened just outside Modinagar (between Meerut and Ghaziabad). It was raining cats and dogs, road was not at all visible and I was simply following a City's tail lights at a safe distance. Just before Modinagar, the road median started. City braked, I braked and ... BANG ... a M-800 crashed onto us (City didn't know what happened behind). Matiz had a solid metal bar tucked behind the flexi plastic bumper and that metal bar took ALL the impact. Nothing serious to Matiz, except some dents and little bit stuck boot lid. M-800 got the front damaged heavily. When I applied some pressure on the bumper with fingers, it regained its shape (making my position weak during the war of words with M-800 driver, starting with the usual "apne sudden brake maara"). As the time was around night 11, we moved on after exchanging customary nasty words (both cars had UP-14M Ghaziabad number plates). The repair cost me around Rs. 8 to 9,000 /- and was paid by Insurance Co.

LEARNINGS: Because of these twin accidents during the same trip, I got detached with respect to scratches on Cars body. I still make a mild show, when someone bumps my car so that they are careful in future, if they can :rolleyes: