Got Home My New Fluidic Hyundai Verna 1.6 CRDi

@monil , @fluidicsumit , @neil.vernafluidic, have any one of you seen Verna Fluidic 1.4 CRDi ? :confused:
when i went for testdrive around 1 month ago , my dad told me that see any car in range of 8 lakhs for you. i was planning to go for i20 but i dont like hatchback much. so i inquired about vento and 1.4 verna which was supposed to cost around 8 lakhs , but they said me that they have stopped manufacturing that model.and you will no longer get it.
I dont know if they have sold some of those already but i have never seen it.

@torque. no i havnt seen 1.4 model as i think it is no more in running. when i go for test drive after the launch the dealer was only having the top model of the car. i just asked him as i was not interested in that model. why dont you go for 1.6 base model.

is there a burgler alarm in verna fluidic? how to get it activated?
i dont think so. if there is one, pls also let me know how to activate it.

Thread Starter #97
Hi Friends.. Can you all please share your experience on mileage you getting from Diesel Fluidic Verna?

My usage has been very limited till now and i have not travelled out of Mumbai as yet. (I may be joining fellow TAI's at Pune meet - looking forward to it [:)]). I travel to my office which is 5 kms (1 way), in peak time traffic wherein most of the time i hardly get a chance to go beyond 3rd gear. And usually faces bumper to bumper traffic on my return journey. Adding few trips to south mumbai and local usage combined, i got mileage of 9.2 km/ltr on my diesel verna. [confused] This was after the first full tank. Car has clocked 460 kms (only) till now in 3 weeks of usage.

Hope this will improve further.

Monil.

it should improve try taking it for a highway run. if it still doesnt then change your petrol pump and recheck if still then check it with the service centre

I asked about the 1.4 CRDi, because I have already booked it one month ago. I booked it without test-drive. I am gifting this car to my dad, and I had tight budget of 8 lac. Didn't had any other option as I didn't liked the base model of Vento diesel. Verna 1.6 CRDi will cost near 1 lac more, and dad's driving is 95% in city, that why i went for 1.4 CRDi and its power will be good enough for city driving and good fuel economy. At that time when I booked dealer told that they booked five 1.4CRDi and 17 1.6CRDi in that month, means they haven't stopped manufacturing it I think? Can anyone please confirm it ?

First of all congratulation Monil for the lovely car. Even I am seriously considering New Verna Fluidic. I am driving Swift Vxi for last 5 year and from last couple of months is looking for an upgrade. Me and dad was all ready to book Honda Jazz but seeing the steep rise in petrol this week my dad is considering Verna now. I have few questions for you.

Me with my dad and cousin took the TD for Verna when it was launched the car was diesel SX and brand new one the odo showed 100 km. First my elder brother who owns i20 drove the car and was quite impressed with the pick up, quite engine and handling of the car but he never took the car above 80 km/hr. When I drove I wasn't that impressed, for me the biggest disappointment was the handling of the car, once the car goes past 120 km it seems like the car is floating and there is no feedback from the steering . Even the suspension was way too soft and my dad and brother did complain of the bumpy feel in the rear seat when I was driving the car at 100 km/hr speed. So how you finding the suspension and handling of the car is it something which should be a deal breaker cause I myself is crazy about Verna looks and feature. Lastly is it worth spending extra 60k for SX for just the alloys and reverse camera cause I am not that bigger fan of folding rvm I can do without them and did you ask the Hyundai guys what will be the cost of original Verna alloys.

@AMIT AGARWAL
i guess in the sx you get a driver and passenger side air bag which is good for safety concerns. the tires in sx variant is bigger in width and radius. folding mirrors may not make a difference, you can adjust the speedometer brightness, an auto dimming irvm(handy for reducing glare at night), reversing camera which is very much needed, cooled glove box.
if you buy the alloys from hyundai then im sure it is going to cost you above 25k and then the tires to that is if they have it in stock, or else you can buy the alloys of your choice from outside 16 inch rim 6j match the pcd and up size to 205/50/16 tires as you wont get 195/55/16 which comes in the sx variant anywhere outside.
for 60k your getting a big list of goods.
regarding the suspension ask the service advisor if they can adjust its stiffness.
steering can be fixed by a bit with a good tyre upsize

I asked about the 1.4 CRDi, because I have already booked it one month ago. I booked it without test-drive. I am gifting this car to my dad, and I had tight budget of 8 lac. Didn't had any other option as I didn't liked the base model of Vento diesel. Verna 1.6 CRDi will cost near 1 lac more, and dad's driving is 95% in city, that why i went for 1.4 CRDi and its power will be good enough for city driving and good fuel economy. At that time when I booked dealer told that they booked five 1.4CRDi and 17 1.6CRDi in that month, means they haven't stopped manufacturing it I think? Can anyone please confirm it ?
normally every one is going in for the 1.6 variants as the 1.4 is bare lacks the very very useful abs as well as rear disk breaks and also driver side air bags and auto climate control ac. i don't think the 1.4 is stopped however i will inquire with my dealer. I guess 1.6 would have been a better choice (just my advice)

@AMIT AGARWAL
i guess in the sx you get a driver and passenger side air bag which is good for safety concerns. the tires in sx variant is bigger in width and radius. folding mirrors may not make a difference, you can adjust the speedometer brightness, an auto dimming irvm(handy for reducing glare at night), reversing camera which is very much needed, cooled glove box.
if you buy the alloys from hyundai then im sure it is going to cost you above 25k and then the tires to that is if they have it in stock, or else you can buy the alloys of your choice from outside 16 inch rim 6j match the pcd and up size to 205/50/16 tires as you wont get 195/55/16 which comes in the sx variant anywhere outside.
for 60k your getting a big list of goods.
regarding the suspension ask the service advisor if they can adjust its stiffness.
steering can be fixed by a bit with a good tyre upsize
Thanks for the suggestion finally going for the test drive of Verna again in the coming week and might book one. Will surely try to convince dad for SX variant, as last decision will be taken by him only. Just one thing will upgrading the size of tire will void the warranty of the car's suspension and related parts If warrenty isn't void then even if my dad goes for base version, 1.6 CRDI even I might go for alloys and tire upgrade from outside market like Monil did. Lastly, I have noticed one thing most of the people booking SX version compared to base version.

there wont be an issue of warranty. if the suspensions are same as the sx. if it is then u can add a 16 inch rim with no issues. confirm with hyundai first.
people choose sx cause of the added features in that cheaper price difference. use the brochure to compare

Thread Starter #105
Thanks for the suggestion finally going for the test drive of Verna again in the coming week and might book one. Will surely try to convince dad for SX variant, as last decision will be taken by him only. Just one thing will upgrading the size of tire will void the warranty of the car's suspension and related parts If warrenty isn't void then even if my dad goes for base version, 1.6 CRDI even I might go for alloys and tire upgrade from outside market like Monil did. Lastly, I have noticed one thing most of the people booking SX version compared to base version.
Hi Amit,
I had checked with Hyundai (through a friend who works with dealer) about warranty part in case of upgrade. Since SX comes with higher spec, suspension set up remains same for both the variants. No warranty threat in case of upgrade. But yeah, i don't have anything in writing on this matter, worst come to worst, they might raise such objection in case they will have to do some work on car without payment..

And yeah, most people are going for SX version. It has some additional features worth considering for the price difference.

1. Alloy wheels & tires. - I paid appx 31,000 on after market fitting, after exchange of stock tires. (15 inch alloys - set of 5 & 5 new Michelins). If you will decide to go for 16 inch, that would increase anywhere around 40k +. - IMO additional 30-40k spend is worth other key features (mentioned below). Rest, you are the best judge for your requirement against budget.

2. Integrated Reverse parking Camera - Very useful feature as boot design is way too high and i am sure will really help. Al though 1.6 CRDi has parking censors, which helps too.

3. Passenger side airbags - Additional safety feature. Always [thumbswink]

4. Auto folding mirrors - Not that we can't live without it but its cool.

There are some minor bits which i personally feel, its ok if you give it a miss.

[cheers] - Monil