Fog Lamps: Necessity / Importance?

But i heard for the thick fogs, you need yellow lights ie fog lamps( other than usuall small light on th bumper) right? for fixing this is needs some special permission from RTO here. other wise it'll calculate as illegal and fined here.

Now what are white lights? I guess you mean the driving lights you referred to earlier & the glare it might cause. I guess its best to point them parallel or bit downwards to the the road.
The colour of light depends on the colour temp. of the light source. I'v attached a chart which illustrate the light colour on different temp.

Now I want to say few things about FOG lights. We can use fog lights for 3 reasons:
1) for better visibility at foggy weather,
for better visibility at foggy weather the colour temp of the light source should be less than 3500K; higher than this reading will spoil your visibility. Higher the light temp better the reflection by the fog hence poor visibility. Stock bulbs are useless, just for show up only. There are HIDs with lower colour temp and ideal for those who drive in foggy weather.

2) better side by side visibility at night &
Normal stock bulbs serves the purpose well; I drive verna and its pretty decent but not brilliant.

3) show up.
I'v seen many cars with bluish/blue fog lights which emits serious glare even with my front wind shield crystal clear; this is serious offense; cops should act with such installation. There are others who install HIDs in their reflector headlight housing but never properly tests about glare/reflections emitted at low beam.

People installing HIDs or bulbs with higher colour temps as fog lamp have to be extra careful. Becoz if light escapes as high beam then opposite drivers will have serious issues. There are many RTAs documented due to situations where the opposite driver didn't used dipper and due to illegal/improper fog lamp installation. So I would like to request everybody to take extra precaution while upgrading their fog as well as head lights to higher wattage/kelvin. Any upgrades should be thoroughly tested before hitting the road. There are innocent lives at stake just becoz of our carelessness.

Lovely thread started by IndicaDLS2002;

Recently i have upgraded my Ertiga head lamp bulb to Philips EV 55/60 (Stock watt). the result is good but not the best.
Now i want to upgrade my Fog lamp bulb to EV as well.
But the wattage should be 55/60. The stock wattage is H8 35 W.
For this upgradation do i need a relay & ceramic holder ?

Even i do not know, if Philips EV has H8 55/60 W bulb or not.
Please confirm if anyone using this configuration.

Recently i have upgraded my Ertiga head lamp bulb to Philips EV 55/60 (Stock watt). the result is good but not the best.
Now i want to upgrade my Fog lamp bulb to EV as well.
But the wattage should be 55/60. The stock wattage is H8 35 W.
For this upgradation do i need a relay & ceramic holder ?

Even i do not know, if Philips EV has H8 55/60 W bulb or not.
Please confirm if anyone using this configuration.
If you are talking about Phillips essential vision then its a good choice within this wattage; I think its 4300K temp right? If you are a frequent night driver than you might consider upgrading to 90/100W bulb; in this case you will need a relay. result is outstanding. I'v used Phillips essential vision 90/100w without relay in my K10 for around 6 months - no issues, the only precautions I took is switch off when car is in idle but relay is must when driving long at night.

Theoretically relay is must beyond the designated wattage; so in case you want to upgrade from 35 to 55/60 you must install relay; consider installing philips relay, they are costly but good.

If you are talking about Phillips essential vision then its a good choice within this wattage; I think its 4300K temp right? If you are a frequent night driver than you might consider upgrading to 90/100W bulb; in this case you will need a relay. result is outstanding. I'v used Phillips essential vision 90/100w without relay in my K10 for around 6 months - no issues, the only precautions I took is switch off when car is in idle but relay is must when driving long at night.

Theoretically relay is must beyond the designated wattage; so in case you want to upgrade from 35 to 55/60 you must install relay; consider installing philips relay, they are costly but good.
Sorry for the confusion.
Currently i am using Philips Extreme vision 55/60 in head lamp.
Want to upgrade the fog lamp bulb to H8 Philips Extreme vision 55/60

Thread Starter #37

@dbarma & @KALINGA

Can I used Phillips EV in my fog lamp provision in the bumper with light pointing to the road as a fallback or failover or alternative to my main head lamps in case those fail? If yes then what would be a safe max wattage without risking the wiring/battery etc? I will do this only after the warranty period anyways.

Also what should I use as housing?

Help/Info appreciated. Thanks in advance.

@dbarma & @KALINGA

Can I used Phillips EV in my fog lamp provision in the bumper with light pointing to the road as a fallback or failover or alternative to my main head lamps in case those fail? If yes then what would be a safe max wattage without risking the wiring/battery etc? I will do this only after the warranty period anyways.

Also what should I use as housing?

Help/Info appreciated. Thanks in advance.
You can install any kind of lamp you want and the company will also provide you wires along with it; you can also upgrade any bulbs specified by the manufacturer. But I heard bumper lamp installations are not allowed except in certain states where weather is xtreme.

About wattage? kindly check the user manual for wattage; wattage higher than designated will need relay as your cars wire wont be able to withstand the extra loads.

You can install any kind of lamp you want and the company will also provide you wires along with it; you can also upgrade any bulbs specified by the manufacturer. But I heard bumper lamp installations are not allowed except in certain states where weather is xtreme.

About wattage? kindly check the user manual for wattage; wattage higher than designated will need relay as your cars wire wont be able to withstand the extra loads.
What will happen when other state (where no such rules) vehicles comes to that state?

Good discussion going on here.

You can only use the bulbs that your lamp supports.The lamps have sockets that accept only what they are designed for.

Most foglamps/aux lamps(halogen type) use H3 bulbs.Single wattage bulb like 50w or 100w and not 55/60w or 100/90. They don't have two filaments like the headlamp bulbs.

There are also foglamps that use HID but then again they are single wattage bulbs.

Driving lamps that are bigger and feature upper and dipper use bulbs similar to the headlamps.

Most countries have a rule that lights should be covered when not in use.If they enforce the law the external lights on the bumper can be covered.

The advantages of fog lamps are only apparent - as suggested by the name - in extremely foggy, rainy/snowy or dusty conditions. Basic explanation is below:

The main difference compared to the headlamps is their positioning: Low and at the corners of the car. This is because is allows the beam to illuminated the surface of the road effectively in situations where the main lights would simply be reflected by the moisture/dirt in the air.

However, the housing is also shaped such that it 'spreads' the beam of light, as compared to 'focusing' it like headlamps do.

It is for this reason that you should NEVER use foglamps in combination with your full beam lights, because full beams will simply be reflected back at you and (according to Biology your pupils will contract) you will be unable to take advantage of the sight provided by the fog lamps!

It also explains why fog lamps are never white, because white gets reflected by moisture much more easily (due to a wide range of light frequencies present) than a tinted colour such as blue or yellow.

In conclusion, I urge you to buy headlamps, you never know when they come in handy, and you can even use them creatively like "K!NkY" to help you in other situations! Don't get obsessed with trying to buy the most powerful ones though, just make sure that the person installing them knows how to align them for max. effectiveness.

Ps. I really hate it when people don't know how to use their fog lamps properly and just turn it on/off as they please to show off, rarely turning them on even in the typical zero visibility Delhi fog!

Sorry for the confusion.
Currently i am using Philips Extreme vision 55/60 in head lamp.
Want to upgrade the fog lamp bulb to H8 Philips Extreme vision 55/60
I don't think it will be advisable to use anything more than the spec 35W bulbs in the fog lamps. Of course you can(with additional wiring harness consisting relay and ceramic holders) but in the long run it will damage the housings.
Ertiga fog lamp housings are small(3" dia) with a small reflector. Which means there is no means of the extra heat generated by the higher wattage bulbs to dissipate. Considering you are using wiring harness with ceramic holders, in the long run, the reflector(made of plastic) will decolourise causing loss in intensity and may even melt. This is because the maximum energy output of a halogen bulb is in the form of heat and a minor percentage is only light, just like a room heater.

Hope this helps.