Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere (Variants Leaked! Pg.98)

Re: Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere: Coverage on Pg.3

But I feel for 2 people in the back seat it should be ok, 3rd person in the center might be inconvenient as there is a central console and also transmission tunnel. Above pic should give you an idea. Front seat is almost at extreme back position. Looks like the person sitting is about 5'8", If so I think I can live with that space.
The person sitting..err..Mr. Shapur Kotwal of ACI is a man with a good built(not heavy but not light either) and hence I can conclude that the seat space must be admirable.
But as much I remember Ecosport is a FWD then what is the purpose of transmission tunnel? Maybe it is the Brazilian version(He tested Ecosport in Brazil) and is RWD. Maybe Indian version will get better rear seats as most of the companies pay a special attention to rear seats int eh Indian version of their cars.

Still guys with more pics and videos coming I am forced to pay my attention towards this car. Eh, count me in the list of waiting prospective buyers(a compact SUV(leave Duster, I have booked and cancelled it) makes for a perfect vehicle for me). Ford, price it well and you have a chance to turn the market upside down, if Figo was the big thing for Ford then this may be the bigger one.

That's right, but what if after all these waits and finally find another pricey elephant, what are the backup options? All my backups have raised their prices(City, Verna, Duster) I am worried about it now
Yes Indian, if the prices are not dearer people including me will start to hate ES and move on to some other.

See it all boils down to pricing , I have a feeling it will be priced good . What is your expectation ? And Indian how much you think is a vfm pricing for ES ?

I wish it should be like this to become VFM

Petro - 6 to 8L
Diesel - 7 to 9L[:)]

Yes Raja Bro. Its all about pricing. When New Fiesta was about to launch, I used to update the news from the sites and was eager to buy it for my sister. Even though it is a fantastic machine in all aspects, the price made us settle down with a Highline Vento.

Ford's statement of 80% localization of EcoSports's parts can bring down the prices with the 4m length. Hoping it to be competitive with the Duster.

Petro - 6 to 8L
Diesel - 7 to 9L
If Ford Prices ES in this range, ES will be a hit, i believe.

Petro - 6 to 8L
Diesel - 7 to 9L
Sir, those sound like fantastic pricing but in my humble opinion those prices, especially for diesel version are next to impossible.
At least 10-10.5 lac for top end diesel and upto 8 lac for lower end are expected by me. Especially after looking ta the way they have priced new Fiesta.

Yes, I know that will be very competitive, but if they want to hit the market with a Big Bang then the prices should be like that[:)]

Yes, I know that will be very competitive, but if they want to hit the market with a Big Bang then the prices should be like that
Let us hope it to happen. Or else a superb machine(as per the reviews) will make its way to the graveyard.

With so many Ford EcoSport units on test in Pune and Chennai, one would believe the launch is just around the corner. However Ford will only launch its compact SUV in April 2013. The reason for the delay is the union budget. Multiple reports suggest that the Indian government will reduce excise duty on small cars by 2%, which will be applicable from April. The EcoSport’s sub 4-metre dimensions and small capacity engines will make it classify as a small car, thereby getting it massive cost benefits over its arch rival, the Renault Duster.
The crucial question though is if Ford is late to the party? The Duster was unveiled at the same time as the EcoSport but Renault has already put more than 25,000 units on Indian roads, hiking prices of the vehicle three times already. The Duster has had a home run and the EcoSport is all ready to lure customers to Ford showrooms. But with other manufacturers already working hard on compact SUVs, the EcoSport will have more than the Duster to rival in its very first year. Delay is never good and launching a product 14 months after its first unveil is not the best strategy adopted by the American car maker.

Complete article - Ford To Launch EcoSport In April 2013 | MotorBeam - Indian Car Bike News & Reviews
Read more at Ford To Launch EcoSport In April 2013 | MotorBeam - Indian Car Bike News & Reviews

Petro - 6 to 8L
Diesel - 7 to 9L
[:)]
Ford's statement of 80% localization of EcoSports's parts can bring down the prices with the 4m length. Hoping it to be competitive with the Duster.

... Multiple reports suggest that the Indian government will reduce excise duty on small cars by 2%, which will be applicable from April. The EcoSport’s sub 4-metre dimensions and small capacity engines will make it classify as a small car, thereby getting it massive cost benefits over its arch rival, the Renault Duster.[/B]
Delay is never good and launching a product 14 months after its first unveil is not the best strategy adopted by the American car maker.
Price quoted by Gurrala, almost mouth watering. I think ford can afford to do it based on the discounts its gonna get under various schemes. But think about it, why would Ford wants to do it? Right now the compaction being the Duster, which is selling at really high price and going like a hot cake!. If you take the Dusters OTR price to be around 13 K with ordinary interior, then Ford might think 'lets keep the price 1Lac less'. I am pretty sure people still buy it (why? I have not idea, I am thinking about the numbers at which Duster being sold) That's what makes me too nervous being positive towards the optimistic pricing we anticipating. I think Ford has a great opportunity to capture the compact SUV market, but they have to think differently this time.

I agree with you Indian, yes always one looks at the competition what they are offering at what price and try and see to place there vehicle little below from competition where it just gives a thought to buyer that hey this is 1 L less, but again buyer will think that oh !! those things are good in Duster, so only one lakh difference so why should I put money on this Ford and I will buy Duster as everybody is buying it. So Ford will sell and in just an average numbers. IF

Ford goes with the price I have mentioned, then believe me it is just a mad big bang in the market and people buy ES like mad and within 6 month they will achieve their 4 year projections and waiting period will reach to 1 year[lol][lol]so that is called game changer and HIT in the market will become a mass hit, so you will buy it and probably I will buy and Raja also buy it, so it is reaching every body and thru' us so many others will buy. So this is what I am talking about, now story is left to Ford that what they want to do with ES

My price estimates are 50k more then i20 petrol and diesel models variant wise ,.
Btw the ARAI certification for ecoboost will be 19-20 kmpl . And remember the power out will be like 1.6 engine .

TEST: FORD ECOSPORT FREESTYLE 1.6 - THE REUNION AFTER 20,000 KM

0 km test car is a beauty: smell again and everything running in perfect order. But when we take a more rotated, sometimes we realize that not all qualities of the vehicle fresh out of the factory were kept. So I was happy to see that the EcoSport FreeStyle 1.6 sent for testing CARPLACE had over 20 thousand km run. As I had already been a few times in units with low mileage, the reunion would serve to confirm (or not) the virtues (and defects) of the jeep.

In Eco old, especially the first batch (until 2007), it was common for owners complain of noises and crashes finishing after some time of use. Apparently, the new model evolved in the quality of materials and construction presents a far more elaborate - even if that unit tested, the pre-series, has a large gap in the bodywork back cover that is fixed by Ford in "batches" following. In fact, the car remains fairly intact after more than 20,000 km and recalls that this mileage was covered in tests with journalists, who generally require more car. Because we did not find anything parasitic noise or undocked finishing pieces - at most a few scratches on the hard plastic panel. The only problem was the rubber driver's door. Happened to the glass plates, with anti-crush, when it came down to the door jamb, requiring the user to hold the button until the window closes for good. This also precluded the use of "global closing" by the remote control key, because the driver's window closed and opened again.

The reunion with Eco also confirmed its good played. Reminds me of a New Fiesta (car which I consider one of the best to drive in its class) with the suspension and the position of guiding high. The electric steering is well calibrated the highlight: soft and mild maneuvers, rapid and correct weight on the road, and still able to absorb impacts without wheels loosing communication with the driver. The 1.6 16V engine Sigma also serves well the jeep, coupled with exchange of good couplings. There is good supply of torque at low rpm (80% of 15.9 Nm is available at 1,500 revs), which makes the smart car in traffic. He bends the corner and passes on spines of third gear, without choking. In our test, the acceleration from 0 to 100 km / h in 12.2 s was accomplished - time also much lighter car with 1.6 engine. On highways, you will only miss of power (115 hp with ethanol are) if the car is full. Other than that, the performance is good, and to 120 km / h in fifth gear, the engine works slightly above 3,000 rpm, without intruding on the conversation in the cockpit.

Sigma Another advantage is the smoothness of operation. You can explore almost the limit spins the propellant does not appear harsh or excessively noisy. In addition, fuel economy continues to attract attention, even in a heavier car like the Eco Both have recorded good average of 8 km / l in the city and 11.2 km / l on the road, always with ethanol. For the optimal balance in performance relative x consumption, the Eco 1.6 is the best option line. I just take the 2.0 case traveled a lot with the car loaded or opt for the version with exchange Powershift dual clutch.

If the engine does not miss the old leaves Rocam 1.6, the suspension can divide opinions. In my view, the class took advantage of the dynamic behavior on the comfort. The new Eco was more balanced cornering and fast deviations, despite the high center of gravity, but the suspension travel was reduced, reaching the limit on holes where the old model did not complain. The rival Renault Duster, for example, is much softer, but more balance in curves - word of someone who has traveled with the two for more than 1,000 km. Not that the Echo has lost the appetite to run over potholes and ditches, but if you take a dirt road or a bumpy stretch too, will feel the impacts more than the old model. Flooded to a depth of up to 450 mm can also be crossed, if in compliance with the maximum speed of 7 km / h during the trip.

Life on board was favored by increasing the wheelbase. Who's after now has more space, especially in the area for the legs and head, besides having the backrest adjustment. Four adults and one child traveling comfortably. One limitation for those who think like the Eco family car, however, is in the trunk. Officially, the capacity increased from 296 to 362 liters, but in the real magazine lost depth (the gain was at the time), which complicates the time to put bags and large objects. Another felt was lack of storage compartments in the back cover that existed in the previous model. The cap continues with side opening, now with built-in flashlight handle curiously. The following steppe outside, according to Ford through consumer choice in clinics.

In front of the accommodation is good, but the seats could be a little longer for better thigh support. The front speakers steeper gave a good sense of space in front of the driver, who stole only part of the side view, requiring some custom. The driving position is favored by adjustments of height and depth direction, commanded by a good grip steering wheel, shift lever and the high. There are good internal solutions like two bottle holders in the front doors and the little drawer under the passenger seat, but there is a lack of ergonomics: the control of power windows is in a very advanced position in the driver's door. It's easy to open the windows back unintentionally when you want to open the front.

The Sync entertainment system also requires some adjustment at first until you become familiar with all functions, but like the good sound quality and the presence of Bluetooth and USB. Informants linked to indicate that Ford is developing an option for built-in GPS for short (now that the Duster won this option), and the sun roof - things that can paint the model 2014. FreeStyle This version comes equipped with stability control (which operates discreetly in the ceiling) and assistant interesting exit ramps, which "holds" the car as the driver releases the clutch. The list of standard features also include dual airbags, ABS brakes, sound commands on the steering wheel with LED headlights, wheel rim 16 and parking sensor. The only option is the set of side airbags leather jacket with the banks, which raises the price of R $ 61,500 to R $ 65,300. For the complete car as evaluated the price reaches overcome the SE version 2.0 Powershift, which costs U.S. $ 64,960 and offers stronger engine and more sophisticated exchange.

Despite losing the appeal of "affordable SUV" (today the Duster is cheaper), it is undeniable that the new generation of Eco took a giant leap in quality and drivability, and rekindle the flame aspirational consumer with a stylish design and modern. The fact to keep in good condition after the 20,000 kilometers of tests is a good indicator for who thinks up a new semi-Eco. With the model 0 Km beating sales records, soon the used market will be full of good options.

By Daniel Messeder
Photos Rafael Muñoz unique to CARPLACE - Portfolio Flickr

Imprint - Ford EcoSport FreeStyle 1.6

Engine: Front, transverse four cylinder,

16-valve 1596 cm3,

dual control, flex,

Power: 110 hp at 6,500 rpm / 115 hp at 5,500 rpm Torque: 15.7 Nm at 4,250 rpm / 15.9 lb.-ft. to 4,750;

Transmission: five-speed manual gearbox, front-wheel drive;

Direction: electrical;

Suspension: McPherson independent front and torsion beam at the rear;

Brakes: ventilated discs in front and drums at the rear, with ABS;

Weight: 1243 kg;

Capabilities: trunk 362 liters,

52 liters tank;

Dimensions: length 4.241 mm,

width 1.765 mm,

height 1.696 mm,

2.521 mm wheelbase

Teste: Ford Ecosport FreeStyle 1.6 - O reencontro depois de 20 mil km

Thanks Raja for the detailed report on a long time ownership. Well most of the things looks very promising, except the fact that 'may be the ride quality may not be as good as duster on rough roads'. Duster is very 'sedan like'. Only TD will make me accept or not.

I am more happy with this pic, as the person sitting is a big and the front seats in extreme position. Space is fine for me [:)]

Ford-Ecosport-espaco-traseiro.jpg

Now... Look at the old and new Ecosport. For some reason I like one in the left [evil], Looks more SUVish
Ford-EcoSport-new-vs-old-front.jpg

Full report here.

Pictorial - Old Ford EcoSport vs New EcoSport

Thanks Raja for the detailed report on a long time ownership. Well most of the things looks very promising, except the fact that 'may be the ride quality may not be as good as duster on rough roads'. Duster is very 'sedan like'. Only TD will make me accept or not.

I am more happy with this pic, as the person sitting is a big and the front seats in extreme position. Space is fine for me [:)]

View attachment 80644

Now... Look at the old and new Ecosport. For some reason I like one in the left [evil], Looks more SUVish
View attachment 80645

Full report here.

Pictorial - Old Ford EcoSport vs New EcoSport
That seating position seems to be comfortable enough in 2nd row, but we really need to see it in flesh[:)]

Old ES looks like Ford fusion to me which is decent and sober and New ES is really has some aggressive front and I like it as it is ready for a "roar"