Car Owners May Not Get Subsidised Diesel + “Special Tax” on Diesel Cars

Thread Starter #76
Re: Car Owners May Not Get Subsidised Diesel

@MSN1 Good news, now I can start with my plan for new swift ZDi [drive]

Yes even i got this news from my dad today morning.

Actually me and my dad had a discussion about this issue and i was pleasantly surprised by his replies , even though we have two diesel cars at home. He is actually pitying all the petrol car owners who cannot afford to own diesel cars. Why charge petrol alone more and have this much wide gap was his question. My dad is even ready to have same prices for petrol and diesel![surprise] He said he is using diesel since it was Rs.11 per litre and now it is Rs.45!

Looks like age matters a lot when coming to such issues , kiddish me was arguing thinking from only my point of view!:rolleyes:

Dhaya, nothing wrong in having a point of view, good or bad [:)] Although good or bad again is relative in perception [:D]

Yes even i got this news from my dad today morning.

Actually me and my dad had a discussion about this issue and i was pleasantly surprised by his replies , even though we have two diesel cars at home. He is actually pitying all the petrol car owners who cannot afford to own diesel cars. Why charge petrol alone more and have this much wide gap was his question. My dad is even ready to have same prices for petrol and diesel![surprise] He said he is using diesel since it was Rs.11 per litre and now it is Rs.45!

Looks like age matters a lot when coming to such issues , kiddish me was arguing thinking from only my point of view!:rolleyes:
I have already booked an Altis Diesel and even I have the same opinion of your Dad's. I respect that personality.[cheers]

He is actually pitying all the petrol car owners who cannot afford to own diesel cars.
No offence meant Dhaya.

But diesal cars are not unaffordable.
for regular commute of city at speed of 40-70kmph there are lot of options.
Even diesal 2 wheelers are not far away dreams.

Given a petrol car with mileage of 30kmpl people wont accept it.
Why petrol vehicles still have upper hand is .. no i dont want to jump into debate again.

No offence meant Dhaya.

But diesal cars are not unaffordable.
for regular commute of city at speed of 40-70kmph there are lot of options.
Even diesal 2 wheelers are not far away dreams.

Given a petrol car with mileage of 30kmpl people wont accept it.
Why petrol vehicles still have upper hand is .. no i dont want to jump into debate again.
A new diesel is out of bounds for me.

And diesel two wheelers were there before and is not something new, The Enfield Diesel and the Sooraj both died out. They both had a fuel efficiency of 60-65 kmpl for every litre of diesel.

If someone launches a petrol with a fuel efficiency of 30kmpl along with atleast the size,comfort,reliability and performance of the Alto K10 I sure will go for it. Provided it also does not cost more than 3.75 lakhs OTR.

@ Jayadev I believe the cheapest brand new diesel will come around Rs.5 Lakh OTR which some people may not be able to afford at the moment. And even if you leave out affordability there are many people whose running does not justify a diesel car. What happens to those people then , My dad's question is why so much price difference between Petrol and Diesel?

But still i am happy that subsidised diesel is still available , for students like me its lighter on the pocket![evil]

Yes because they see massive growth in diesel segment. Just look at the sales during month of Aug! Manufacturers are discarding petrol like anything [:)]

Update! Govt. Of Delhi has increased the registration fee of Diesel vehicles by 25% on the existing amount.

NEW DELHI: Buying a diesel-run car will pinch you more from tomorrow with Delhi Government increasing the registration fee for such vehicles by 25 per cent on the existing amount. Officials said the registration fee for low priced diesel vehicle will increase by at least Rs 6,000 while the hike could be in the range of Rs 20,000 to Rs 30,000 for high-end luxury cars as well as goods carriers.

On an average 1,200 to 1,400 vehicles are registered in the city daily, out of which around 30 per cent are diesel cars. Chief Minister Sheila Dikshi t while presenting the annual budget in March had proposed to levy additional tax on all diesel-propelled vehicles specified in the schedule-I of the Motor Vehicle Taxation Act 2004. Officials said Lt Governor Tejendra Khanna has signed the file effecting the hike.

They said diesel vehicles attracting four per cent of the total cost as registration fee will now have to pay five per cent while vehicles having to pay seven per cent tax will have to pay 8.75 per cent as registration fee. The high end luxury cars will attract registration fee of 12.5 per cent instead of existing 10 per cent. The Chief Minister had proposed the hike in registration fee of diesel vehicles with an aim to discourage people to buy such vehicles due to environmental concerns.
Source: Diesel cars to cost more in Delhi - The Economic Times

oh well slowly it will make no diff. to buy petrol or diesel car in india!!

well sad news for diesel guys!! excise duty will increase on diesel now.

The Indian automotive market has seen plummeting sales performance this year is largely attributed to the rising fuel prices and simultaneously increasing lending rates of the banks. This has made the customers shift their focus to buying diesel cars instead of petrol variants to reduce their cost of ownership. However, things are likely to change in the near future. According to a report in Business Line, the petrol variant can possibly see a shoot in demand next year provided the proposal to increase the excise duty on diesel cars finds a way in the Budget 2012-13. The report states that the sales of petrol cars are likely to see an increase because of the increase in initial cost of purchase of diesel cars after April 2012. This is because the ownership benefit availed by the customers of diesel cars is likely to face a setback. Presently, the difference of price between petrol and a diesel car is about 16 to 25% though the manufacturing costs are quite similar. Higher duties will slow down diesel car sales, but give a boost to petrol vehicles. The boost (for diesel cars) received through the subsidy of cost of ownership is not good and has created a huge distortion in demand. Personally, I would like the policy decision to happen now and not wait till the Budget.”, R C Bhargava, Chairman, Maruti Suzuki India said.

Recently it was announced by many companies that they are making investments in India in the field of diesel technology. Mr Bhargava also added that if the company invests in diesel technology and this bill comes along then it is definitely going to be a big blow for the company. All the investments are usually made keeping 30 years ahead. Maruti Suzuki is gradually increasing its diesel engine production after the strike and is also working out a separate diesel engine supply deal with Fiat India to provide the 1.3 litre engine. Hyundai Motor India, the country’s largest exporter of cars has also with held its plans of investing in India by creating an Rs. 400 crore diesel plant. Currently, the diesel engines are being imported from South Korea, according to the report.
Excise Duty On Diesel Cars To Increase | MotorBeam - Indian Car Bike News & Reviews