Bitten By 4x4 Bug. Now I Want One

Thread Starter #61

Hello Mr Joshi,
Thanks for the reply.

I did more talking with the owner. He has visited RTO and is in process of getting his new RC printed ( I do not know how long that takes to arrive). He has the reciepts already that car is in his name. So I guess I will be the 3rd owner only!

Apart from that, Insurance is near expiry (1 week) so will see how it happens.
The 4x4 wiring has some niggles as 4x4 lights are coming on dash randomly. The reverse camera is non functional. I guess a detailed service will be in order after I get the car in my command. Have reserved 25k for the service.

Thread Starter #62

Guys I came across 2 Safari VX 4x4s.
In both the 4x4 High and low lights are coming together. The owners said its due to some wiring problem. Any Safari Experts here?

Prices for both are near 4L. makes sense?

Guys I came across 2 Safari VX 4x4s.
In both the 4x4 High and low lights are coming together. The owners said its due to some wiring problem. Any Safari Experts here?

Prices for both are near 4L. makes sense?
year and odo?

Thread Starter #64

2010, 69k, 3rd owner.
2011, 58k, 4th owner.

both of these were being attended by fng hence Service history is unavailable.

@bhvm - Have you purchased the Safari 4X4? Could you please update the status of your hunt? Am also considering buying a used Safari Storme as my next vehicle.

Arvind.

Thread Starter #66

hello Arvind,
there are only 5 Safari 4x4 on olx, most being fakes from dealers.
I'm waiting For a good lead. soul admins are aware if my requirement.

today morning I talked to 2 people who turned out to be 4x2 versions. the hunt is far harder than I thought. but I'm still on.

Why don't you buy a used gypsy and get done with it. It will be very economical on your pockets and of drool value too, as well as capable(much more than safari).

I'm in line to bite the 4*4 bullet, found one 100km away from my place, Thar crde 4*4 2014 56km on odo on olx.

Guru's what all should I look for? I'll try and take a mechanic, your inputs I'll use as a guide.

Thread Starter #69

dear Mayank,
as described in 1St. page, I cannot use open top or soft top versions due to lack of proper AC & pollution control.

also, a dedicated offroader will be useless for other tasks like long highway runs.

hello Arvind,
there are only 5 Safari 4x4 on olx, most being fakes from dealers.
I'm waiting For a good lead. soul admins are aware if my requirement.

today morning I talked to 2 people who turned out to be 4x2 versions. the hunt is far harder than I thought. but I'm still on.
Woow... That is quite a long hunting season there, almost 7 months into it already. Hope you get a good one soon. All the very best and kindly keep us posted on the progress.
Am also in the market for a good Storme VX in Bangalore, I can make do with 4X2, but would like to get a 4X4.

sorry bhvm,my bad.I forgot your primary requirements on the first page itself.Happy hunting.Hope you get a good vehicle in the end.[:)]

Thread Starter #72

I'm in line to bite the 4*4 bullet, found one 100km away from my place, Thar crde 4*4 2014 56km on odo on olx.

Guru's what all should I look for? I'll try and take a mechanic, your inputs I'll use as a guide.

2014 would not be a very old car. What is the owner quoting? I've found used thars quite expensive. However for hardcore offroading its the best choice. Check of Owner abuses, Uneven tyre wear (worn suspension), Offorading abuses (Underbody hits, Wheel scratches/ Dents), Passenger abuses (Torn seats, Broken switches) etc.

Woow... That is quite a long hunting season there, almost 7 months into it already. Hope you get a good one soon. All the very best and kindly keep us posted on the progress.
Am also in the market for a good Storme VX in Bangalore, I can make do with 4X2, but would like to get a 4X4.
Hey Tanks buddy!
I talked to 2 safari owners who turned out to be 4x2. Interestingly, they were also planning in exchanging their 4x2s for 4x4. However 4x4 safari specimens are very rare. A worthwhile specimen pops up on OLX only once a month or so. Hence the hunt is slow. I will keep you posted.

4x2s are practically flooding the market and it will be easy to find one in Bangalore. 2014 cars are prices around 7 lacs which is quite VFM IMO. Good luck.

sorry bhvm,my bad.I forgot your primary requirements on the first page itself.Happy hunting.Hope you get a good vehicle in the end.[:)]
Thanks buddy.
Found 2 Pune registered vehicles on OLX. Dropping them a message. They are not perfect and have some scratches and such. I can do with if at-least they're mechanically sound and reliable.

2014 would not be a very old car. What is the owner quoting? I've found used thars quite expensive. However for hardcore offroading its the best choice. Check of Owner abuses, Uneven tyre wear (worn suspension), Offorading abuses (Underbody hits, Wheel scratches/ Dents), Passenger abuses (Torn seats, Broken switches) etc.
Thanks for your pointers, will come very handy in checking the Thar.

5.5L is the asking price, this seems reasonable, let's see if it has been abused.

Dear bhvm,
Have you searched for the used TATA Safari 4x4 in your nearest TATA Showroom ? If not please do check. And if you still like Force Gurkha (older 3 Door version) then please do check if it is available on the Force Showroom near you. Even the previous gen model are sold with little discounts to clear the stock. (Some showrooms might have, I am not confident)

Found these on Teambhp:
1. You might want to raise your budget for this one. But you can modify it to your taste. And have this for life long than the others.
http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy...regaon, Mumbai/1991/Toyota/Land-Cruiser.html/
2. http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy-used-for-sale/57310/Indore, MP/2008/Maruti/Grand-Vitara.html/
3. http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy-used-for-sale/57222/Mumbai/2008/Mitsubishi/Pajero.html/
4. http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy-used-for-sale/57042/Amritsar, PB/2010/Chevrolet/Captiva.html/