I have been planning this trip since September and finally went to this magical place early December.
VISA Formalities and Planning
Visa itself took 20 days at the embassy but i Tried 3 Different Agents and none of them would Guarantee Visa Approval because of the documents i had. Finally the third one was able to set all the documents right and got the approval.
Date of Travel
4th December, 2018 (20 Hours flight to Auckland , 4 hours stop at Guangzhou) - 16th December ( 21 hours flight from Christchurch to New Delhi , 5 hours stop at Guangzhou)
Date of Booking
27th November , 2018. Just 7 Days Before
the second Travel Agent wasted 10 days giving numerous reasons why he couldn't apply. I got the Visa on 26th November.
[Don't Pre-book anything before you get the visa. One other indian couple didn't get the visa on time and lost 1.7 lakhs because of non-refundable bookings]
All the three agents Quoted me 3 Lakhs per person for 11 nights \ 12 days with 2-3 star hotels and 4 basic activities and return flights with visa. Just wait when i tell you what my trip costed me including extra activities and all the food and parking costs.
Itinerary
5th December Day 1 - Auckland
Day 2 - Auckland - Waitomo - Auckland
Day 3 - Auckland - Rotorua
Day 4 - Rotorua -Taupo - Rotorua
Day 5 - Flight Rotorua to Christchurch
Day 6 - Christchurch - Tekapo - Mount Cook - Queenstown
Day 7 - Queenstown - Glenorchy - Queenstown
Day 8 - Queenstown - Te anau - Milford Sound - Queenstown
Day 9 - Queenstown
Day 10 - Queenstown - Wanaka - Franz josef Glacier
Day 11 - Franz Josef Glacier - Hokitika - Arthur's Pass - Christchurch
Day 12 - Flight Back to New Delhi.
Costs Incurred (all expenses for 2 people)
1 , 2 and 3 booked from travel agent
4 - Ezi Car Rental and Rad Car hire
5 - The Legendary Black Water Rafting Co
6 , 7 and 8 - Tripadvisor
11 - Got the Currency on my way to the airport at 8:30 AM
i was occupied somewhere and totally forgot to get the currency. God bless india And the Jugaad which is something you can't do in countries like New Zealand.
Important Tips
VISA Formalities and Planning
Visa itself took 20 days at the embassy but i Tried 3 Different Agents and none of them would Guarantee Visa Approval because of the documents i had. Finally the third one was able to set all the documents right and got the approval.
Date of Travel
4th December, 2018 (20 Hours flight to Auckland , 4 hours stop at Guangzhou) - 16th December ( 21 hours flight from Christchurch to New Delhi , 5 hours stop at Guangzhou)
Date of Booking
27th November , 2018. Just 7 Days Before
![Laugh [lol] [lol]](https://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/images/smilies/Laugh.gif)
[Don't Pre-book anything before you get the visa. One other indian couple didn't get the visa on time and lost 1.7 lakhs because of non-refundable bookings]
All the three agents Quoted me 3 Lakhs per person for 11 nights \ 12 days with 2-3 star hotels and 4 basic activities and return flights with visa. Just wait when i tell you what my trip costed me including extra activities and all the food and parking costs.
Itinerary
5th December Day 1 - Auckland
Day 2 - Auckland - Waitomo - Auckland
Day 3 - Auckland - Rotorua
Day 4 - Rotorua -Taupo - Rotorua
Day 5 - Flight Rotorua to Christchurch
Day 6 - Christchurch - Tekapo - Mount Cook - Queenstown
Day 7 - Queenstown - Glenorchy - Queenstown
Day 8 - Queenstown - Te anau - Milford Sound - Queenstown
Day 9 - Queenstown
Day 10 - Queenstown - Wanaka - Franz josef Glacier
Day 11 - Franz Josef Glacier - Hokitika - Arthur's Pass - Christchurch
Day 12 - Flight Back to New Delhi.
Costs Incurred (all expenses for 2 people)
- Visa - 19000 rupees.
- Flights - China Southern Airlines - 184000 rupees and Air New Zealand - 21000 rupees.
- Hotels - all 4-5 stars category hotels with daily buffet breakfast - 140000 rupees.
- Self Drive Car rental for 12 days - 52000 rupees
- Waitomo Caves Black Labyrinth Tour - 14500 rupees
- Hobbiton Tour - 7000 rupees.
- Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance - 11000 rupees.
- Milford Sound Cruise Only - 8300 rupees.
- Thunder Jet Boat Ride - 7000 rupees
- Para Flights Parasailing - 8000 rupees.
- Currency - 125000 rupees
1 , 2 and 3 booked from travel agent
4 - Ezi Car Rental and Rad Car hire
5 - The Legendary Black Water Rafting Co
6 , 7 and 8 - Tripadvisor
11 - Got the Currency on my way to the airport at 8:30 AM
![Laugh [lol] [lol]](https://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/images/smilies/Laugh.gif)
Important Tips
- You have to have a credit card in your name or else you won't be able to rent a self drive car.
- Many hotels charge parking fees even if they have their own parking space.
- Parking is free at night from 9pm - 9am on public roads and from 9am-9pm rates ranges from 2$-4$ per hour depending on the city.
- Speed limit is 100 kmph. don't exceed it. my cousin was fined 500$ plus 28 days license suspension for driving at 160 kmph.
- Get all supplies from Countdown Supermarket.
- Keep on left lanes unless you are overtaking.