2012 Apache RTR. The Devil's Angel

Revs

thanks revs, fazer is a very good bike from yamaha but i was looking for a bike above 150 cc segment. I mailed to TVS last day and also had a talk with the dealer, they have asked to bring the vehicle for further inspection. All of this occured cause that stupid servicing mechanic shortened the tube which he is not supposed to.[anger] [frustration]
Hope that TVS rectifies your issue by changing that tube (which was altered by the mechanic), most probably.

And what about the service light not going off in your bike? It is corrected now?

Not remember the correct amount, but i think it is around Rs.1600 for the 9amp battery which replaced the company 7 amp battery

Hope that TVS rectifies your issue by changing that tube (which was altered by the mechanic), most probably.

And what about the service light not going off in your bike? It is corrected now?
yes @revs , took the bike to the dealer today and they have put on some coating on the places where acid fell, just to cover up their mistake [frustration]any way my bike is still healthy [;)]

Revs

Hehe! Congratulations! Your bike smashed 1000 kms of tarmac! :stupid: The tachometer reminds me of Aviator's speedo!
BTW Did you ask the mechanic why he cut off the tube? Is your bike back to normal now?

Revs.

hello friends, i am planning to upgrade the headlamps cause night riding is pain with current set up. Low beam visibility is ultra poor and high beam is ok. Initially thought of installing HID but i don't want to mess up with the warranty of my bike. So can any one guide me on upgrading the headlamps of RTR without breaking warranty ?

hello friends, completed 3500 kms yesterday, bike is running great and no issues so far. Really feeling so happy to choose this powerhouse from TVS :)

Though i am late but let me first congratulate you on acquiring this wonderful machine from TVS. Looking nice and i like the color as well.

And good to know that the bike is serving you good without any niggles.

BTW: How much does the service cost?

hello friends, i am planning to upgrade the headlamps cause night riding is pain with current set up. Low beam visibility is ultra poor and high beam is ok. Initially thought of installing HID but i don't want to mess up with the warranty of my bike. So can any one guide me on upgrading the headlamps of RTR without breaking warranty ?
hey buddy , Cngrats for your RTR. If 35W in not enough for you then you can try 55W without any mod

Heya.

I know I'm very late but congratulations on the Apache. Let me tell you. I have the A150 which I bought in April 2006. And the bike works like a charm with absolutely no fault *touchwood* I hadn't even serviced the bike for more than a year until recently and I hadn't used the bike for 6 months at a stretch. Yet she started the moment I used the electric start. I am not exaggerating one bit.
Seriously, I think TVS is a very very very under-rated company. The Apache can take a hell of a lot of abuse and still treat you like you are the king. I simply love my bike and I am so unbelievable glad that I did not buy a Pulsar.
All I do is service the bike every now and then and she has never given up on me. I have no plans on selling my bike because she still runs like a charm and can give the newer bikes a run for their money.
The reason I said this is because there are many people who are against TVS and Apache but I think these are very under-rated bikes.
I hope you have an excellent time with your Apache and I hope she treats you like how my bike treats me. I am one very satisfied owner and I know for a fact that I will not sell her no matter what.

Vipin

Heya.

I know I'm very late but congratulations on the Apache. Let me tell you. I have the A150 which I bought in April 2006. And the bike works like a charm with absolutely no fault *touchwood* I hadn't even serviced the bike for more than a year until recently and I hadn't used the bike for 6 months at a stretch. Yet she started the moment I used the electric start. I am not exaggerating one bit.
Seriously, I think TVS is a very very very under-rated company. The Apache can take a hell of a lot of abuse and still treat you like you are the king. I simply love my bike and I am so unbelievable glad that I did not buy a Pulsar.
All I do is service the bike every now and then and she has never given up on me. I have no plans on selling my bike because she still runs like a charm and can give the newer bikes a run for their money.
The reason I said this is because there are many people who are against TVS and Apache but I think these are very under-rated bikes.
I hope you have an excellent time with your Apache and I hope she treats you like how my bike treats me. I am one very satisfied owner and I know for a fact that I will not sell her no matter what.

Vipin

thank you VipinLJ and you are absolutely right [clap] i too had a dilemma while choosing TVS because some of my friends insisted me not to. But as you said, the beast really makes you the king of road. And not to forget, the exhaust note and raw power is simply "NIRVANA" [:D]

hey buddy , Cngrats for your RTR. If 35W in not enough for you then you can try 55W without any mod
thanks abhiwar. I went to a mechanic today, and discussed on fixing an HID+Projector. Will upgrade my beast next week [:D]

Though i am late but let me first congratulate you on acquiring this wonderful machine from TVS. Looking nice and i like the color as well.

And good to know that the bike is serving you good without any niggles.

BTW: How much does the service cost?
thank you singh890 . I have completed two of the free services. It costs around 350. [ tvs tru4 oil+oil filter+ lubrication of chain]. But i have to admit, the service is not anywhere near to the yammis or hondas.

Hello friends , completed 5000 km on odo and 3rd free service is due.
Before that i would like to discuss a few queries with you guys.

1. Planning to switch the engine oil to motul 5100 5w50. The tvs tru4 oil that the svc provide is of 10w30 grade. Is there any problem in using different grades ?

2. I could feel small jerks while riding in 2.5 to 3.5 k rpm at the speeds of around 40-45 kmph. What could be the possible reason? I dont think its the problem with fuel.

3. Vibrations are an issue and makes you feel bad if you ride a pulsar and apache back to back. Pulsars lack the outright punch of apache but they have really advanced on engine smoothness and gear shifts. Hope engine oil change might cause some relief. Any other suggestions ?

4. Please suggest if there are any other semi synthetic oil for apache rtr 180 other than motul. Iam sure we have many apache.ins here. So please guide.

Hello friends , completed 5000 km on odo and 3rd free service is due.
Before that i would like to discuss a few queries with you guys.

1. Planning to switch the engine oil to motul 5100 5w50. The tvs tru4 oil that the svc provide is of 10w30 grade. Is there any problem in using different grades ?
Changing Oil grade might voide Bikes warranty . Also i feel 5w50 will be to thick for RTR . Try Castrol Power 1 15w40 for RTR . I am X RTR owner and i used to use this oil for long trips and used to change it at every 2000kms. For Fully Synth try Petronas Sprinta 10w30 suits well for RTRs short stroke motor.

2. I could feel small jerks while riding in 2.5 to 3.5 k rpm at the speeds of around 40-45 kmph. What could be the possible reason? I dont think its the problem with fuel. may e chocked fule line or Car Jet ? try cleaning carb and see if it makes any difference.

3. Vibrations are an issue and makes you feel bad if you ride a pulsar and apache back to back. Pulsars lack the outright punch of apache but they have really advanced on engine smoothness and gear shifts. Hope engine oil change might cause some relief. Any other suggestions ?
hehehehe. I am not against any brand but RTR is way ahead in terms of performance and rigidity . For hard gear shift check Clutch setting and for Vibrations :P always ride above 5k mark [lol] you wont feel any thing at all .

4. Please suggest if there are any other semi synthetic oil for apache rtr 180 other than motul. Iam sure we have many apache.ins here. So please guide.

answers are in bold

Thanks abhiwar, and changing oil would void warranty ? I thought of changing brands because the engine is heating up pretty fast and 10w30 is really not holding up so well while redlining, which i used to do often[;)]

i havent heard much good reviews on castrol though. Any way i think its time for some more googling [glasses]