Repeated Case of Zero NCAP Crash Test Rating of Indian Cars

I think the automakers build what aam junta wants they don't give a damn for safety features the two things that matter are "kitna deti hai" and resale. when you ask them why you are not choosing ABS+Airbags model their answer will be " hum kaun si race lagani hai".

Well here is the great video on Tata motors crash test facility. I feel and surely feel that Tata cars are worth it and much much safer than the rest.

CNB Bazaar Buzz: Focus on Safety
What has prevented Tata Motors from implementing the full set of airbags on all its cars if they have been doing research since the late 90s ? Or is it just to cater to the export markets ? In that case, shame on them! On the one hand they do research on occupant safety and on the other they bring out models without basic protection such as the Nano (whatever else its merits be).
In any case they have been taking a hit on profitability. Might as well have a USP up their sleeve by providing a full range of safety features as standard ! Who knows, that would have made the other manufacturers sit up and notice.
All it takes is one courageous decision. People have been expecting it from Maruti. But their chairman is just dishing out one pathetic excuse after the other.
Tatas could have taken the lead on this one.

Without airbags every thing will fail in test[evil]
not really. They have points/score for everything. For structural strength (of which crumple zone is a part of, I think), for electronic aids, for pedestrian safety etc etc. A car can score big in structural strength parameters and yet have a lowly 2 stars for lack of electronic safety aids, like the Xenon (australia) did.

Xenon scored better than Mitsubishi and was equal to Toyota I think, but scored only 2 stars, but then with the introduction of electronic safety aids got 4 stars.

While we rightly bash manufacturers, here is a question for other side - Are we sure that GNCAP tests are NOT manipulated?

I remember Polo w/o airbags had failed the tests when VW gave their airbags variant for re-test and it passed.

What I had seen at that time as difference in videos (I could be wrong here) was the outside damage caused to the w/ airbags version was visibly less than that had happened with earlier test.

What if GNCAP manipulates the speed of the vehicle during tests differently? Just a wild thought :)

Note that from GNCAP site, the original VW crash video is now replaced for non-airbags version - that is, if you click video for "non-airbags version", what you get is the video for "airbags version".

I know this fits typical conspiracy theory but...

All I say is what you pay for is what you get for. I think we cannot blame any manufacturer, and nothing is going to happen shortly

I would love to see NCAP ratings of the Indian tank Fiat cars. I won't be surprised if they pass out with flying colors.
I would think so too! But then- why doesnt Fiat take this opportunity and offer their cars to be tested ? That would be worth the advertisement and a virtual endorsement isnt it? [thinking]

NCAP test is usually done to most popular models and when GNCAP summons the brands not all brands will respond because for some even 1 car is special and might contribute well enough for sales,
Also the availability of the car at the day and time of test too is a factor

I think the manufacturer is not the only one with the least concern for safety here. The vehicles are heavily taxed to an extent where up to 40% of the cost of a new car is just tax. The government should give some concessions to the considerate companies providing safe cars at reasonable prices for the customer to prefer the vehicles. The customers, especially the entry car buyers on a shoestring budget will boldly choose a strong, heavy vehicle returning a lower FE figure only when Govt allows the manufacturer to price the vehicle competitively by giving concessions in taxes. Here in India its the other way around., if a manufacturer gives a bigger vehicle with higher safety features then they get taxed at a higher rate.

It was really horrifying to see how the roofs caved in in case of Scorpio and the kwid ! Safety cannot be and should not be replaced with unnecessary features.

@commuter
I say look at Ford, VW
One maynot see a touch screen and android auto, or even parking sensors etc but instead give airbags and ABS standard, see the Figo is the best example, its sure lighter than previous model but its safety shell is still strong, and yet it is cheapest hatch back to buy in its segement, only the Titanium+ variant is more expensive than rivals by 20-25k odd.
It can be done, see government is not going to change, we all know that since nothing has changed which ever party rules India, but manufacturers change, like Ford,Fiat and VW and Tata showed other brands how its to be done, they never compromise on safety, Ford could have easily added parking sensors and some other gimmick as standard and avoided airbags on Base and Trend variants, they didnt do that,
Polo made dual airbags and ABS standard on all cars
Tata too is now doing the same and just look how strong new Tatas are,we feel like Maruti,Hyundai are pathetic before Tata, if Ford,Fiat,VW,Tata all having less than 5% market share in India can do this why not Maruti with over 47% share and Hyundai with 18% share do it,
I read a news that Maruti will be expanding its dealerships from 1800 to 2100 by 2017 July, thats like 300 odd dealers within 1 year, I think that money is more than enought o make cars with more solid structure, and ABS standard,
Maruti and Hyundai has spoiled Indian minds, now the average Indian popation is made to believe the gimmicks on lower variants add more value, nobody cares about AbS,Airbags,seat belts, because they are not given priority by our top sellers.

Well the height of the things is when a person wants to go infor Airbag variant, the Sales advisors at maruti disuade buyers.
First hand info when my BIL bought his swift dzire. He was disuaded from going for variant with Airbag. So when he asked for discount on the top end variant with airbags he was convinced on how the variant without airbags is good and economical. and beauty is he accepted that.

I couldn't do any thing.

@commuter
I say look at Ford, VW
One maynot see a touch screen and android auto, or even parking sensors etc but instead give airbags and ABS standard, see the Figo is the best example, its sure lighter than previous model but its safety shell is still strong, and yet it is cheapest hatch back to buy in its segement, only the Titanium+ variant is more expensive than rivals by 20-25k odd.
It can be done, see government is not going to change, we all know that since nothing has changed which ever party rules India, but manufacturers change, like Ford,Fiat and VW and Tata showed other brands how its to be done, they never compromise on safety, Ford could have easily added parking sensors and some other gimmick as standard and avoided airbags on Base and Trend variants, they didnt do that,
Polo made dual airbags and ABS standard on all cars
Tata too is now doing the same and just look how strong new Tatas are,we feel like Maruti,Hyundai are pathetic before Tata, if Ford,Fiat,VW,Tata all having less than 5% market share in India can do this why not Maruti with over 47% share and Hyundai with 18% share do it,
I read a news that Maruti will be expanding its dealerships from 1800 to 2100 by 2017 July, thats like 300 odd dealers within 1 year, I think that money is more than enought o make cars with more solid structure, and ABS standard,
Maruti and Hyundai has spoiled Indian minds, now the average Indian popation is made to believe the gimmicks on lower variants add more value, nobody cares about AbS,Airbags,seat belts, because they are not given priority by our top sellers.
Well said.I salute TATA MOTORS for not giving in , despite dwindling sales and dealers deserting them..they went ahead with a robust product development.The picture posted is with permission from the dealer, of an Aria with a frontal collision at high speeds.Notice how well the crumple zones have effectively absorbed the impact.The victim survived thanks to the strong build.I have understood one thing... truth and commitment will eventually shine through.[:)]

Without airbags every thing will fail in test
Well, airbags are supplements to the sub standard and weak structures provided to cars in general today (Simple eg: A weak and thin guy makes muscles by having the supplements to appear beefed up so same way our weak cars use supplements to beef up their safety). Go back to 2 decades, when cars did not have any safety devices yet accidents happened and death rate still remained not as high as its today with cars having safety features and advanced protections et al. The cars today are technically strong but structure wise they are very very weak. Just try hitting a old gen Maruti 800 or Ambassador in today's Honda or Hyundai and even without any safety the old 800/ Ambassador would be on a far better side. In order to increase FE, the weight has been reduced i.e less metal and more fibre. People in India look for FE so they are least bothered on structural strength and safety. Another thing, quality comes at premium. As the majority of buyers look for FE and comfort so at lesser price they want better engine and interiors by compromising on outer-body strength of the car. The buyers are not really interested in paying for a strong vehicle in India and because of this the brands do not invest much in elementary stage of car's body shell. The day we change our perception from "Kitna Deti Hai" to "Kaise Bani Hai" or "Ye safe hai ya nahi" (How is it built? Is it safe or not?) and investigate on our part about the vehicle till then many brands will offer weak products and laugh their way to banks.