Volkswagen Polo TDi: From Elegant German Beauty To a Hot German Chic

I agree with you, unlike the other diesel engines the TDi is very revv friendly and easily goes to the redline without any fuss and waste of acceleration. I also agree with the fact that no matter how hard you drive the Polo 1.2 TDi it returns a decent average of 15-16 kmpl which surely the elder brothers dont but yes at the same speed of say 120-130 the elder siblings will give almost similar to the 1.2 tdi as they are not being strained in comparison to the 1.2.

Its pretty bad to hear that you might be departing from your polo. The GT TSi should serve a great replacement, but again i feel that you family might not like to replace a polo with a polo.
Very true. My Polo, even when I thrash her, gives an average of 15-16kmpl whereas my Vento, when I take her to the limits, gives me around 10-12. Out on the highways, while I'm cruising at around 100-120, the Vento gives really good mileage compared to the Polo because, like you said, the Vento is in the zone unlike the Polo which is revving a little too much.

And yes. It is sad. The thing is that, once you own a German, no other car comes close in terms of build quality. Even my mom, who sees cars as something to take a person from A to B, said that a Corolla she traveled in recently felt like a tin can compared to our Vento. That's how good German build quality is. There are talks about an automatic Amaze but let's see. The priority is boot space for the occasional airport trips and for when the Vento is unavailable.

Wow!The best looking Polo I had ever seen Sandeep.She looks hot.Please debadge the car to look hot and get VW badge blackened.She will look meaner.

Earlier i was planning for a Remap but unfortunately there is no remap available yet for the TDi engines. About the ECU piggyback/Tuning boxes, it does give a significant output variation but in short it is fooling the stock ECU by telling it to supply more fuel which in the end results in smoking. As of now i have not even 0.1% of smoking issues and dont want to create any. About the CAI i had read on one of the forum not a CAI but a short RAM intake done on the Skoda Fabia 1.2 TDI. The guy had to remove the stock air filter box and do up the whole new setting. Earlier he faced issues of heating but later had to build a covering around the filter to prevent it from heat. The guy only got a noticeable difference in his performance but the turbo whistle was now visible clearly.

The thing with diesel and specially German diesels is that they are too complicated(My opinion) and tampering may cause problems. The best thing for tune up is a petrol vehicle. In fact i have even mentioned earlier or may be in one of VipinLJ's thread that as of now i am done with the mods for the polo for the time being as my future plan is to get hands on the Skoda Laura Tsi/VRS and build it up nicely to silent beast which is able to at least eat up the cars pricing upto 35lacs whenever i want it to. [;)]
Awesome. Would love to see your Skòda completely modified. Or as they call it, a "Sleeper" car. I know that the list of mods will be huge. [clap] if I had the money I would also love to make my SX4 a sleeper. Unfortunately there are no proper tuners or places where they mod SX4s. [sad]

Thread Starter #109
Originally posted by VipinLJ
Very true. My Polo, even when I thrash her, gives an average of 15-16kmpl whereas my Vento, when I take her to the limits, gives me around 10-12. Out on the highways, while I'm cruising at around 100-120, the Vento gives really good mileage compared to the Polo because, like you said, the Vento is in the zone unlike the Polo which is revving a little too much.
Yes considering city conditions the vento would not give good average due to the size of the engine but on the highway the cruising will give better than the Polo.

Originally posted by VipinLJ
And yes. It is sad. The thing is that, once you own a German, no other car comes close in terms of build quality. Even my mom, who sees cars as something to take a person from A to B, said that a Corolla she traveled in recently felt like a tin can compared to our Vento. That's how good German build quality is. There are talks about an automatic Amaze but let's see. The priority is boot space for the occasional airport trips and for when the Vento is unavailable.
For me its like "Once a German, always a German". It is my personal opinion and in no way am i degrading or insulting the other brands when i look for a car which will drop me from point A to point B and which will be light on my pocket for maintenance and services i will never even think about a German car because it sucks when it comes to the maintenance bills. But when i look from a driving pleasure point of view the German's sure know to put a smile on my face, again it doesn't mean that the others are bad it just means that the others don't impress me much. If other than a German brand i had to choose any other brand for driving pleasure it would surely be a Honda. But the side fact does remain which most of the Indian people see it as a priority on the list is that it is very expensive to maintain and very bad in resale.

Originally posted by Music_Swift
Wow!The best looking Polo I had ever seen Sandeep.She looks hot.Please debadge the car to look hot and get VW badge blackened.She will look meaner.
Thanks for the appreciation bro. Well one guy at the the gym does bring his polo with blackened badge and it really doesn't suit the car at all (Personal Opinion). Seeing his ride only i did not blacken the VW badge on the front grill and on the boot. A bit of chrome wont be much of a problem. Anyway thanks a lot for the suggestion also.

Originally posted by nikhn
Awesome. Would love to see your Skòda completely modified. Or as they call it, a "Sleeper" car. I know that the list of mods will be huge.
Well as mentioned earlier i have been a die hard fan of the VRS and now the TSI since its launch in India. I had been in search of a Skoda Octavia VRs since a long time but never found a good one ever. Now i have plans for the TSI/VRs Laura ina bout a year or two lets see how things work. Vitamin M is always a problem for big mods [sad]. I have few thing in mind totally different from the polo and will surely be a long term car.

Originally posted by nikhn
if I had the money I would also love to make my SX4 a sleeper. Unfortunately there are no proper tuners or places where they mod SX4s.
I have driven my friends and cousins car earlier and to be frank its a very peppy car to drive. The weight does create a bit issue but still a mind blowing car. I would say it was the best engine to drive after the Honda I Vtec for sure. Your location is showing Bangalore which is home to Red Rooster Performance (RRP) and had read somewhere that they had worked on SX4 the VVT version for turbocharging it and remapping. The end result of that guy was about 140BHP & 220 NM torque with 0-100 about 8 seconds. No doubt the guy had spent almost 2.5 lacs on a lot of mods but i know Vitamin M is too much so you can basically start with a Stage 1 Remap and some basic Exhaust and CAI/Intake system will surely improve the performance and be light on the pocket. Here in Mumbai we have plenty of options for these stuff so not much of issue.

I just read this thread. and decided to sign up as I also own a VW Polo 1.2 TDI Highline [:D] in a sexy Shadow Blue color.[:D]

I was also planning for Projector LED headlights for my car. researched over Internet. got many options on various sites like vagtune.in , auto gully etc
But I didn't like the headlight designs much.so finally decided for local retrofit. but I have a question regarding this as you have put those awesome led tube lights on ur polo (just saw them on google and instantly opened this page.in love with those headlights) great design.

My que is that if I do a retrofit job on these headlights locally. Will this be safe for rainy season. I saw the dates on each thread and you got your pair of lights in Feb. I guess, and now it's July, and it's raining.so do you get any water leak problem inside headlights. Or any other issue like led tube not working or any other technical problem? as now your polo have got a good experience of cold hot and rains.

And one more question, the led tube seems outside the headlight in the picture they really out of headlight, and putting them outside will not give any technical problem to them.?

And one last.i know I am getting curious but.[:D]

Have you got any switch for the led tube lights or you have connected them to parking light switch or to the ignition?

Please answer my questions as I'm too planning for these projector lights with some stylish led tubes.

Style and looks are important but more important for me is the performance of projectors and xenon’s on road.as I go on highways too. and had ok ok experience with xenon as I got them on my bolero on reflectors (stock headlight).it was 8000K and was fine but when some approaching traffic comes in high beam or low beam of normal halogen than I was not able to see in those xenon’s I need to put on my extra halogen lamps.so my final que as written above does the single projector with 6000K doesn't blind you from oncoming traffic with normal halogens.???

Asked so many questions. hope you will not get frustrated.��

Thread Starter #111
@ My_Blue_Polo Its nice to know that you joined this forum after reading the thread.

Now to you questions

1) Will this be safe for rainy season?

Well this completely depends on the guy doing your work, well once the headlight is opened there is now way in which you can seal it exactly like the original company finish. In my headlamps there is no leakage but yes during heavy rains it tends to fog up a bit, similarly my brother got it done from some place else and there is water leakage in it. The Fog tends to disappear if the headlights are used.

2)Or any other issue like led tube not working or any other technical problem?

No issues its been 6 months and last 1 month of rain and touchwood the thing is working perfectly.

3) And one more question, the led tube seems outside the headlight in the picture they really out of headlight, and putting them outside will not give any technical problem to them.?

The LED Tube is also placed inside the headlamp with help of clips and the headlight is completely sealed.

4) Have you got any switch for the led tube lights or you have connected them to parking light switch or to the ignition?

I have connected to the Parking light as these cannot be used as DRL like the ones u see in Audi as the Audi ones are costly non heat emitting LED whereas these emit heat.

5)Style and looks are important but more important for me is the performance of projectors and xenon’s on road.as I go on highways too. and had ok ok experience with xenon as I got them on my bolero on reflectors (stock headlight).it was 8000K and was fine but when some approaching traffic comes in high beam or low beam of normal halogen than I was not able to see in those xenon’s I need to put on my extra halogen lamps.so my final que as written above does the single projector with 6000K doesn't blind you from oncoming traffic with normal halogens.???

6000k is pure white and 8000k is bluish white, both these get overpowered by oncoming high beams of vehicle or under street light, but yes your high beam which may appear less powerful to you under such times will actually affect them more then you. The best for highway is a yellow bulb and after that you can try the 4300k which is Whitish yellowish.

I hope to have solved your queries if any more do PM me.

@Sandykudva I really appreciate your reply. the way you just replied.I just love it. I am very thankful to you that you gave your precious time to solve my queries. You helped me so much by your answers that now I will take these things in consideration before buying any set of headlights for my car. Thanks a lot [:)] that means a lot to me. [:D]

But after this discussion I'm surprised [surprise] to know that xenon don't even perform well in projectors. earlier I thought that they they don't work well with reflectors but than I wonder how the cars with a single projector and xenon like Audi A4 work so well. the basic format for the headlight, companies use with xenon lights is they use xenon for only low beam in projector and the high beam is standard halogen in the reflectors and the xenons are always in the range from 4500k to 6000k (we have toyota fortuner and many more with this type of setup in india) and most important part when some car approaches is that in low beam you should have a good visibility, xenon works best to help you get low beam from the oncoming traffic but it doesn't help you even when the arriving car is in low beam. this is the what stoping me for going with a single projector even the official vw headlight is the foreign version of polo with projector and LEDs uses a projector with xenon in low and halogen in high. after this discussion I wonder that will only xenons in low beam help. :(

So after trying xenons earlier in my bolero I didn't go with those in my polo. I wanted projectors to use them till that time I purchased Philips Diamond Vision 5000K 55/60W white light bulbs as this didn't required any relays etc. as I didn't want any electrical etc work in my car outside vw as I had a very bad experience with my bolero's wiring with aftermarket work but these halogen white bulbs too disappointed me. these too behave like xenons only difference is that they don't force the oncoming traffic to give me an instant low beam. otherwise they behave same as xenons they don't provide the visibility when nearing a oncoming vehicle. :(

I think the problem is the white colour of light as the yellowish colour of halogen gives a very good visibility in most cars for eg I can say indigo cs , safari storme , xuv 5OO etc etc but not The Polo.

After searching I got one more type of light and they are very new to the market so the major manufactures for now don't have that product and that is LED headlamps. they come in white light ranging btw 4000 to 6000K but they don't give glare to other drivers like the xenon and I think in India the more the glare in high beam the more rapidly you get a low beam from others but the low beam is also important. so I am thing to also try and experiment with LED headlights but they are also for now very expensive. :'(

What I planned for polo is a dual beam headlight like the new polo has and customize it or find a pair on net. that can have following forms.

1. Both projectors one xenon and one LED/Halogen both having high and low beams.

2. One projector and one reflector , projector with xenon and reflector with LED/Halogen.

3. Simply have new polo's headlight and go for LED/Halogen for low beam and xenon/LED for high and both are reflector and each have different function one only has low and one only has high but in high beam both reflectors are on and in low only one of them is on

And each having LED tubes either way inside or outside the headlight unit.

And at this point from the 3rd form one que arises in mind that the reflectors have different functions one with only low and one with only high so if I fit a low/bulb any of xenon/halogen/LED will that work for both high/low or or if fit projectors by customising them will the projectors work in both hi-low beam or not. so just researching on this que and if I get a positive ans for this I will definitely go for the 3rd one.

So finally comming to an END one last point I would like to share that as you told me that your headlights gets some fog/water vapours and goes off when lights on. I have same problem with my right fog lamp. I got that opened at VW and found no crack etc to enter water and thought it could be some other reason than a few days back got my eyes attracted towards my fog lamp and what I find is a little amount of water in it. that was the reason of fogging up of the lamp and I was like yaar obviously how will water vapour come without water inside. OMG

So I think you should also check if there is some water inside your headlight which fogs up. :)

Now adding some pics for reference for the above discussion. I am using my mobile to operate this so was unable to input pics at the same time where I m talking about them. hope I get some editing option after uploading them to arrange.

And hope this thread help everyone who reads it discover some new ideas and solutions for there headlight related problems. :D

THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN

image.jpg

Audi A4 with single projector and Xenon

Official vw polo headlight that is used in foreign models
With projector xenon low beam and reflector high beam and lele drls
Available at vagtune.in but very expensive at ₹ 71000 and one model ₹ 125000

Fortuner headlight with low beam xenon projector and high beam halogen reflector

These are philips diamond vision 5000K halogen white light currently in my polo not giving a desired performance

These are new light LED light technology
Gives white light ranging 4000 to 6000K without glare to others
But don't no about the performance

This is my polo's fog lamp getting up fog got checked at vw but was fine den one day saw the water inside tha fog lamp so do check ur headlights too which fogs up

Dual beam headlight of the new polo launched
I thing the outer one with low beam and inner reflector with high beam

Thread Starter #115
@My_Blue_Polo: I am unable to PM you, why dont you PM me your phone number as one of my friend has got this headlamps installed in his new Polo GT TSI so will be able to help you on this.

@Sandykudva I am also unable PM you, don't know the reason.
You can take my email ID that is "prateek.emerald@gmail.com" and from there I can give you my contact no. Thanks a lot for your help [:D]

The message displayed when I tried to PM you