Volkswagen Brings Diesel Hot Hatch: Polo GT TDi (Details: Pg.14)

Re: Upgraded Volkswagen Polo Coming. Possibly with 1.6 TDi?

Jazz is a 4 Cylinder 1.2 I-vtec Engine which is pleasure to Drive,Polo no doubt is good car but After Sales is a bit of let down.Also though polo has Service Interval of 15000KM or One Year but when you do take your car to the workshop, It will make a big hole in your pocket.

But how do you assume that ritz will allways be or for that matter any car will be less niggle free and less tension free then polo .?
I have never heard anybody saying polo is a troublesome car compared to its competetion .
Dear Raja, it is because, unfortunately I again have to friends[clap] one owns a Ritz diesel since last 3 years I hope and clocked some 70000km without any major niggle, may be a small ones happens to any car. I also have one friend who bought a POLO diesel black last year clocked some 25000km and he will keep telling me about its problems and ofcourse problems of VW dealer for his high service and spare prices. Sorry I do not have details on the paper about this. but I realise whenever my Polo friend enters my office street, I recognise easily with the sound of his car and come out of the office[clap] and ask him to switch off the engine as it is unbearable sound[frustration]

So there ends the story !! I do not want to drag this thread further OT other wise mods will send me to school !!back

Why I feel that Highline owners are at loss ( I wont say that they are cheated, but obviously are at great loss)

To start with me and rightnow got the polo well after the vw polo had made a great position as a brand and a great cars to follow up with their establishment.
So I wont say that I got the car in a hurry. Its just that I used to feel that polo was lacking some essentials( as I was buying a top end model), but what I felt that most of their investment was in building a great cabin and tank like body.. and therefore I thought that even if they added some features they will increase the price.

Rather what has happened actually is that they have added:
Black headlamps
Steering mounted controls
leather interior
new alloys
all 4 power windows button , auto closing and opening of windows. .anti pinch one touch

Now how these features came in .. price hike no .. they decreased the price .. and that too with 40 k
Now vw should also understand that in the price sensitive market like india you also have to understand the concept of Second hand vehicles market..
now old vw polos become feature less in comparison and looses their value, vw guys need to understand that respecting the owners who got their vehicles, showed interest in them when they were so new is also IMPortant

WHAT THEY SHOULD HAVE DONE??

I am not really saying that they should have not added these features but the correct approach was to add a new engine ( say for a petrol vehicle)
they could have added 1.2 TSI and would have clubbed these features with them and could have launced a new model saying 1.2 TSI+ , only in highline and could set the exshowroom around 6.60 ( This way the second hand market wont be feeling heat and you have a new model, )

VW should learn from companies like Maruti , see an example of Swift Dzire (New) they launched a new vehicle and still the old dzires carry their value rather second hand market got better for old dzires ..

Rightnow, don't be surprised if they ask you 6000 for black headlamps, 30k for new steering, and 10k for leather treatment,( i am not including the alloys)makes a total 0f 46k and now compare the on road price of new vehicle with what you paid +46 k ( and you will indeed feel a loss of over 60k -70 k which is a huge amount) I really want to question their decision of absorbing a new marketing head from Hyundai India

It is not at all correct to compare Ritz with Polo may be !!, but still Since while buying Ritz, I was also looking to own a VW beauty, but if I start comparing, then

On road price of POLO according to you is 6.53 and Ritz was 5.77L, we just leave the features and safety aspects here. I agree that Polo comes with loaded features and good safety aspects, but what to do, I am a typical Indian budget buyer.

Now comes to the 3 year AMC for which you have already paid some amount in that 6.53 on road price and + 2 year warranty you need to pay something to that so all together it is 5 years under warranty but you need to pay for consumables and service cost !! If I am right, so my Ritz within 1-1/2 years with 15000km the money spent is Rs.5000/- approx. and for next 3.5 years too it will be like this only and I do not see any major break down of parts within this 5 years.

So this is how it goes about Ritz without single niggle so far and peace of mind. Also I should say here with best of the FE in city 18+ with AC and 22+ on highway with lot of leg room and head room and importantly 1 cylinder more on engine and very less noise compared to Polo[clap]

Again I am saying it is not fair to compare Polo with Ritz, but what to do unfortunately I am a typical Indian budged buyer who is very cautious and afford to miss FUN !!
I hope you are comparing your petrol RITZ .. because 6.53 is the on road price of polo petrol , how u get 22 average in petrol vehicle

RIGHTNOW, I am being surprised that you are not at all feeling bad. with a price drop and addition of new features..
you paid 6.53 lac on road and you would be shocked to hear what I paid
56 k less than what you paid, including AMC(silver one), Zero Dep insurance, Underbody coating and teflon coating. but I am still feeling bad , am I baniya?? :)

Why I feel that Highline owners are at loss ( I wont say that they are cheated, but obviously are at great loss)

Rather what has happened actually is that they have added:
Black headlamps
Steering mounted controls:
leather interior
new alloys
all 4 power windows button , auto closing and opening of windows. .anti pinch one touch

WHAT THEY SHOULD HAVE DONE??[/B][/U]
I really want to question their decision of absorbing a new marketing head from Hyundai India
Black headlamps: I don't know how would they look in flesh, if they look good I may get them eventually.
Steering mounted controls: I liked this feature quite a lot as a cosmetic upgrade and practicality too.
leather interior: not much to bother
new alloys: previous alloys were better for me.
all 4 power windows button , auto closing and opening of windows. .anti pinch one touch: This is the most significant feature as this involves safety aspect too.
also add the new system with USB: I may get this from dealer as soon as possible by exchanging older one.

Definitely the value of new polo will be higher.

What should they have done: of course they should have introduced new engine in polos, but that option doesn't seem to be most economical one for them. Cosmetic changes they could afford and they have done it. The highline prices are reduced to attract more customers than before and to make more margins from more volumes of highline.

If there are any odds, VW may provide an option of updating new features on polos of earlier customers as 'goodwill', or may be some reasonable amount. This may be a sort of recall, but there seems to be a very less possibility of anything of that sort happening.

I am going to my dealer soon and inquire him about possibility of updating of these add ons on older polos. Lets see.

I can say that I am not happy, but somehow I knew that these features like USB, bluetooth, headlamps would be introduced sooner or later in the market. So, I am not taken by shock and I don't feel the loss to that extent.

I really want to question their decision of absorbing a new marketing head from Hyundai India: What has he done?

Black headlamps: I don't know how would they look in flesh, if they look good I may get them eventually.
Steering mounted controls: I liked this feature quite a lot as a cosmetic upgrade and practicality too.
leather interior: not much to bother
new alloys: previous alloys were better for me.
all 4 power windows button , auto closing and opening of windows. .anti pinch one touch: This is the most significant feature as this involves safety aspect too.
also add the new system with USB: I may get this from dealer as soon as possible by exchanging older one.

Definitely the value of new polo will be higher.

What should they have done: of course they should have introduced new engine in polos, but that option doesn't seem to be most economical one for them. Cosmetic changes they could afford and they have done it. The highline prices are reduced to attract more customers than before and to make more margins from more volumes of highline.

If there are any odds, VW may provide an option of updating new features on polos of earlier customers as 'goodwill', or may be some reasonable amount. This may be a sort of recall, but there seems to be a very less possibility of anything of that sort happening.

I am going to my dealer soon and inquire him about possibility of updating of these add ons on older polos. Lets see.

I can say that I am not happy, but somehow I knew that these features like USB, bluetooth, headlamps would be introduced sooner or later in the market. So, I am not taken by shock and I don't feel the loss to that extent.

I really want to question their decision of absorbing a new marketing head from Hyundai India: What has he done?
Rightnow, you lost the whole idea of my article, what i meant to say that reducing price was not the way to go, if they really wanted to make the outgoing models affordable then they could have launched comfortline+ with all the features excepts alloys at 5.84 ex showroom
By doing this they also separate the highline and still the highline owners get that respect and that distinctiveness. This all bullshit has been done by the new marketing head!
Poor move, vw are you listening, if they read this they would easily hire me as a Marketing head [clap]

Rightnow, you lost the whole idea of my article, what i meant to say that reducing price was not the way to go, if they really wanted to make the outgoing models affordable then they could have launched comfortline+ with all the features excepts alloys at 5.84 ex showroom
By doing this they also separate the highline and still the highline owners get that respect and that distinctiveness. This all bullshit has been done by the new marketing head!
Poor move, vw are you listening, if they read this they would easily hire me as a Marketing head [clap]
No, I got whatever you are saying. They have reduced the prices only on highline, both CL and TL price have been raised. Its most apparent that they want to attract customers for HL model. The addition of features is quite straight forward to distinguish all the variants, and reduction/increase in is best know by their finance people.

You mean the hypothetical CL+ and HL would've had only one difference as that of alloys? They recently launched a model between CL and HL called bridge model, it didn't work out it seems.

No man, if polo was priced higher with better engine I am sure no one would have bought it quoting it highly overpriced on account of lesser features.
If there was a Polo with a better diesel heart I would have already been a customer of this German Hatch[:D]. A additional variant with a powerful diesel engine in the line up would have captured more sales than the now discontinued 1.6 petrol variant. There are many people who doesn't have proper parking space (that crowd includes me) but wants a powerful small car and such an offering from VW would have been a good seller.

Vishnu

Punto,Vista & Ritz are popular powerful diesel hatchbacks available in the market, then why to press VW to make a 4 pot diesel hatch for some 10L price[:)]

Though people say that highline prices are slashed, but still they are very high according to me where we can buy a good diesel sedan like Ford fiesta. VW may be great, but others too not less and them and who understands Indian way of buying very well[clap] and are successfully selling their cars

Vishnu

Punto,Vista & Ritz are popular powerful diesel hatchbacks available in the market, then why to press VW to make a 4 pot diesel hatch for some 10L price[:)]

Though people say that highline prices are slashed, but still they are very high according to me where we can buy a good diesel sedan like Ford fiesta. VW may be great, but others too not less and them and who understands Indian way of buying very well[clap] and are successfully selling their cars
Agree with you Gurrala.
But VW brand is considered to be a premium brand and you will surely feel it when you are inside this German Engineered beauty that is the Polo. A Brand conscious customer who wants something small yet powerful would opt for this so called Polo and may not mind spending some 9 lakhs on this. Even though the 1.6 petrol variant didn't have overwhelming response it gained some customers. Like that if it was a diesel variant it would have attracted some who loves to drive with a heavy right foot and doesn't want the pocket pinching petrol bills.

Agree with you Gurrala.
But VW brand is considered to be a premium brand and you will surely feel it when you are inside this German Engineered beauty that is the Polo. A Brand conscious customer who wants something small yet powerful would opt for this so called Polo and may not mind spending some 9 lakhs on this. Even though the 1.6 petrol variant didn't have overwhelming response it gained some customers. Like that if it was a diesel variant it would have attracted some who loves to drive with a heavy right foot and doesn't want the pocket pinching petrol bills.
Btw what is the price of highline polo and top model i20 crdi ?

YES, VW is a premium brand but remember across the world or to be precise in Europe, so if you want to be a mass hit in India then you have to competitive which is always a price sensitive market. I have a fair experience of much bigger cars of VW,BMW & Audi during my stay in Europe and yes their built quality and others are top notch but that premium pricing will be very normal in Europe, but not in India. In India either it is a premium brand or normal brand people want it for 100 rupees and start asking you " how much it gives"[:)]. So if it got premium pricing then you will have that premium loving customers, but it will never be a mass hit like Maruti's, TATA's & Mahindra's[clap]. Today everybody buy only branded things in India but at a discounted prices and in a place like "Brand Factory"

All boil downs to 1 important thing , how much localization the car has in India . Tata , maruti and mahindra have heavy localization say even 100% at times .

Ford and Chevy have started their localization upto 90% so now their offerings are very competetive .
New ford fiesta has 50% localization hence the higher price .

VW and skoda also have less localization hence the spare parts are expensive .

Every car company has a required baseline of quality ( spares , components and all kind of stuff) if they dont get the quality required they import those things which shoot the price up .
Hence you find better quality in VW and skoda compared to maruti , tata , mahindra but also expensive spares .

And beside that every car marker decides which way they want to build there brand and have a particular target in their mind it's not nesscary that VW wants to sell polo like the swift does since we don't know what projections they have in mind .

Similarly who knows VW might be earning same profit by selling 100 polos which maruti earns after selling 300 swifts .

Maruti , tata belive in volumes so they can earn , so their products need to click with masses on whole or else they are in loss .

And about consumers mentality remember 1 golden rule " quality comes with price " and our expectations regarding quality of the product must be directly proportionate to what we pay for the product .

We can't expect a Levi's quality in a 500 rs jeans and a Nokia build quality in a karbon mobile .

So when you buy a tata or maruti one must not cry too much for why the car rattles because if you need top class quality better buy a polo or fabia it's so simple , and that exactly is the crowd VW is trying for .