Volkswagen Brings Diesel Hot Hatch: Polo GT TDi (Details: Pg.14)

Re: Upgraded Volkswagen Polo Coming. Possibly with 1.6 TDi?

They were planning a 1.5L Version to be shared with vento and polo and to help them on the tax benefits for smaller displacement engine.

VW Polo GTD coming in 2013

VW's Polo 1.6 diesel hot hatch on its way

New Volkswagen Polo 1.6 diesel to be performance as well as economy oriented and will get a GTD moniker.

The concept of hot hatches hasn’t worked in India primarily because the amount of fuel they guzzle far outweighs the driving pleasure they offer. But with the Polo GTD, VW looks to provide a winning combination of performance and fuel economy. The carmaker plans to launch India’s first diesel hot hatch by plonking the Vento’s 1.6-litre diesel motor under the hood. Performance is likely to be better than the current Vento saloon as the Polo weighs 90kg less. The GTD is expected to have a lot more attitude with a body kit, low-profile tyres and other sporty bits as part of the package, spicing the hatch up.

VW plans to launch the Polo GTD early in 2013. The heavily accessorised GTD will cost significantly more than the existing 1.2 diesel Polo as the excise duty will be higher on the 1.6 engine. But then, VW is not expecting very large volumes for this one and hopes it will be a brand-enhancer.

SCOOP! VW's Polo 1.6 diesel hot hatch on its way | News | Autocar India

Re: VW Polo GTD coming in 2013

^^Hmm, sounds interesting..
I guess VW is on it's way to provide us some true hot hatches..
Polo 1.2 TSI already caught testing and with 1.6 TDI...hehe, this way there will be a Polo for everyone:
  • 1.2 petrol(I guess it's MPI): For a family man who want an A to B car and has a very less monthly running.
  • 1.2 TDI: Same man who needs an A to B car but has a higher running.
  • 1.2 TSI: For high revving turbocharged guys who want a less nose heavy, agile and good fun filled machine.
  • 1.6 TDI(GTD): For torque lovers and the ones who want performance and love that turbo kick and don't want it to run at 75 per liter!![clap]

Today I had been to showroom to check the new VW Polo. I asked him whether Polo 1.6 Diesel is coming, he was exited to speak. He asked me to come and have a seat, then he started telling me that Polo 1.6 will be coming in Jan 2013 and will be little bit different from normal Polo. He said it will come with body kit and will be 60-70k more expensive then current Highline Version. I had been to check Polo Diesel as a replacement for my 5 year old Swift VDi ABS. I briefly checked the Brochure and i went through features and saw Comfortline with more features. Now CL comes with following features

*15-inch steel wheels with full wheel covers (Set of 4)
*Pinch guard safety for all 4 power windows
*Outside rear view mirror, electrically adjustable
*Rear defogger
*Rear windshield wash and wiper
*Remote control central locking
*Opening and closing of windows with key remote
*Multi-function display (MFD)

So Guys what do you think should i go for Comfortline ?

..So Guys what do you think should i go for Comfortline ?
If you have decided on polo, then Comfortline makes it best choice among the three trims. Apart from ABS and Airbags, it has got all the features that were previously only on highline models.

I hope you have taken a test drive of polo before finalizing it!

If you have decided on polo, then Comfortline makes it best choice among the three trims. Apart from ABS and Airbags, it has got all the features that were previously only on highline models.

I hope you have taken a test drive of polo before finalizing it!
Yes I have test driven the Diesel Polo and have finalized on Comfortline. Will be booking very soon.

I m waiting to replace my Swift Diesel for Polo 1.6 Diesel Engine.I will wait till Polo 1.6 GTD comes.When is the launch of Polo 1.6 Diesel in 2013?

This is one heck of good news by Volkswagen.

Or else,will go for another Diesel Hatch or Sedan.

1.6 GTD being launched is a great news. More fun for true enthusiasts! Lets see how it is priced. Whatever it is, 1.6 Diesel in a polo is quite tempting. I would surely exchange my 1.2 TDI for the 1.6 GTD if I have the budget which I think I won't. Infact, I won't be able to use the 1.6 engine power here considering the condition of the roads here. But still, 1.6 can be a big hit comparing to other rivals in the market. [evil]
The price surely plays a deciding factor. I hope it is priced just 60-70k higher or less than the existing HL polo as nishant5858 said. And this could rule the market!

I m waiting to replace my Swift Diesel for Polo 1.6 Diesel Engine.I will wait till Polo 1.6 GTD comes.When is the launch of Polo 1.6 Diesel in 2013?

This is one heck of good news by Volkswagen.

Or else,will go for another Diesel Hatch or Sedan.
That's good to hear. But are you willing to spend close to 9 Lakhs for a hatchback? If yeah, then you are quite an enthusiast.

IMO, I don't find much difference between a hatch & a sedan apart from the boot. So, spending 9 lakhs for hatch isn't actually a problem unless you have to carry a big luggage.

Heard Rumours that Trendline has been discontinued. Is this true. I contacted Mr. Sayed (SE) he said they have only 2 (White)Trendline Polo left. When asked about its availability he said currently Trendline is not available. I will either be booking Comfortline or Highline as Comforline costs around 80k more then Trendline and Highline costs 75k more then Comfortline.

I don't think that TL is discontinued. However, there may be a reason that very few customers are opting for TL variant as CL variant gives a lot more features as compared to CL n just 80k which wasn't the case before. So, I guess they have must have reduced the production of TL variants. Try to contact few more dealers and ask them about availability.

Heard Rumours that Trendline has been discontinued. Is this true.
Looks a wrong news to me. Mumbai roads are filled with Trendline Polo's which can be easily identified with its black door handles/ORVM's. In my view this is the most VFM VW available in India today. On the other hand VW needs a base model with lowest starting price to lure customers in its advertisement to buy one. This is why every OEM have one basic model with lowest starting price. The SA might be saying this to push his CL/HL to customer.

Thanks for the update MightyMe. This sounds like a juicy prospect to me. Its now to be seen if its the new India specific 1.5TDI or the Vento's 1.6TDI plonked into this car. Whichever it is, i am sure it will be the hottest diesel hatch in the country when it gets launched. It seems VW is taking the challenge to its competitors with the launch of 1.2TSI and the upcoming Cross Polo and now this GT Diesel. With the recent launch of 1.2TSI with DSG gearbox, surely it is the hottest petrol hatch in the country. Now plonking the bigger diesel engine in the Polo will make a dream car for someone like me. Its only to be seen if its priced reasonably. I am sure the flagship model will still remain the 1.2TSI because of that DSG gearbox. This one should be priced around 50-60k more than the current 1.2TDI Highline considering it will have a manual gearbox.

Soon VW may never let a customer go empty handed from their showrooms:
Polo 1.2 Petrol MT (Available)
Polo 1.2 Diesel MT (Available)

Polo GT TSI AT (Available)
Polo GT TSI MT (Probable)

Polo GT TDI MT (Spied)
Polo GT TDI AT (Probable)

Crosspolo TDI (spied)
Crosspolo TSI (Probable)

So soon there will be a polo for everyone from 5 lac to 10 lac!!

This is what I like about big manufacturers- they are proactive, and even with nominal profits they have the capability to invest further in new products. VW as we know will not be making as much profits as say a MAruti Suzuki, but still, given their financial might, they are planning for long term and reaping the benefits of a growing market that is India. In the end customers get quality product.