The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [210+ BHP Remap]

Thread Starter #588
Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [55K Kms Crossed]

55k Crossed - works just as day 1!

In the meanwhile, my old drl's had conked off - so i decided to buy a pair off aliexpress that would fit the same slot - fitted DIY this weekend. Looks great and works great!

IMG_20170902_162013.jpg

IMG_20170902_172203.jpg

and after a through wash!

IMG_20170903_130530.jpg

Thread Starter #590
Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In - 210+ BHP [55K Kms Crossed]

The Mighty Mitsubishi is now over 210+ bhp and and torque around 480NM - no havent dynoed and have no plans to!

Its been in the offing for a while - been researching several maps. Finally decided to go with the butter smooth ones provided by Peter(Pete's tuning) - extremely reliable!

More details to be posted once i have completed enough kms!

Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In - Remapped 210+ BHP [55K Kms Crossed

Hi, Iron Rock! I'm in the market looking for Used Pajero Sports in Hyderabad & fortunately come across few 2015 pajero sports with 50k on odo. I want to know few things How much spares cost? How reliable are Mitsubishi service centres? I'm looking for clutch & suspensions because these are the things that should be changed in pre-owned cars and planning to keep this car for next 5-6 years atleast!

Thread Starter #592
Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In - Remapped 210+ BHP [55K Kms Crossed

Hi Manish ,a used pajero with 50K odo is as good as a vehicle whose running in is just complete, just check for service history and regular oil changes.

The Hyderabad mitsubishi service is fairly good - i experienced it once only though. Spares are expensive at SVC but you will hardly ever need them unless there is an accident scenario. You can find it cheaper outside - will share you contacts.

There is no need to change the clutch and suspension - 50K is very little for things to go wrong. Just lift up the vehicle and check the shocks for any oil leakage. Blow the clutch through a air compressor so that clutch gunk is cleaned off - clutch is naturally hard in a ps so thats a trait. Grease the propeller shafts and check condition of engine oil, replace if needed. I would suggest go for synthetic oil if its on mineral oil.

You dont need to be worried at all if its well maintained, just use good fuel, i usually top up at shell and use the vpower version once a while.

Hi Manish ,a used pajero with 50K odo is as good as a vehicle whose running in is just complete, just check for service history and regular oil changes.

The Hyderabad mitsubishi service is fairly good - i experienced it once only though. Spares are expensive at SVC but you will hardly ever need them unless there is an accident scenario. You can find it cheaper outside - will share you contacts.

There is no need to change the clutch and suspension - 50K is very little for things to go wrong. Just lift up the vehicle and check the shocks for any oil leakage. Blow the clutch through a air compressor so that clutch gunk is cleaned off - clutch is naturally hard in a ps so thats a trait. Grease the propeller shafts and check condition of engine oil, replace if needed. I would suggest go for synthetic oil if its on mineral oil.

You dont need to be worried at all if its well maintained, just use good fuel, i usually top up at shell and use the vpower version once a while.
Thank you, Hoping to join PS Club Soon! The Mitsubishi pajero sports i came across are a 2015 AT 4x2 (no I'm not going for it) just has 17k on odo quoting like 19.5L and the one i saw is 2015 4x4 has 50k on odo quoting 18L ofcourse i have to negotiate hard what would be the Wise price for it? I'm thinking like 14.5 to 15.5 MAX it also has new tyres as well!

Thread Starter #594

Yes look forward to you joining soon. A pajero owner can quote whatever price they want usually - i have seen many are bull headed.

A.G has sold his PS recently it was 2014 model - you might want to pm him and check. I would be willing to pay a little premium if the car is in immaculate condition, hasn't been painted and has full service history.

Remember one thing with a PS, steering is heavy and clutch is heavy too(compared to similar SUVs ) - you just need to get used to it.

Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [51K Kms Crossed]

^^ Nice inputs

Doesn't a HID high beam affect the oncoming user in the same way as this LED? Driver discipline is anyways needed here. Any idea on whats the price for a HID kit these days with warranty ?
Iron Rock bhai, am in the same boat as you - trying to upgrade my Osram NBUs headlamps. Curious to learn of your LED experience so far in light of bhvm's comments:

1. Do you know how much glare it might cause to onlookers? In the pics, it does seem to a lot more brighter to the eyes from front.

2. What is your experience with long night drives - do they white lights make you more tired because of any glare?

3. Any experience with rain/fog etc - how does the visibility of LEDs compare with older halogens.

TIA!

The Mighty Mitsubishi is now over 210+ bhp and and torque around 480NM - no havent dynoed and have no plans to!

Its been in the offing for a while - been researching several maps. Finally decided to go with the butter smooth ones provided by Peter(Pete's tuning) - extremely reliable!

More details to be posted once i have completed enough kms!
Sir ji, post an initial review, I have been holding off mapping the Optimus from quite sometime now. confused between Remapping or a piggyback ECU from RaceDynamics.

the price is similar for both and even though the ECU has to offer slightly lesser gains it makes it up by different map options.

Thread Starter #597

Iron Rock bhai, am in the same boat as you - trying to upgrade my Osram NBUs headlamps. Curious to learn of your LED experience so far in light of bhvm's comments:

1. Do you know how much glare it might cause to onlookers? In the pics, it does seem to a lot more brighter to the eyes from front.

2. What is your experience with long night drives - do they white lights make you more tired because of any glare?

3. Any experience with rain/fog etc - how does the visibility of LEDs compare with older halogens.

TIA!
Hello Anshuman bhai - my experience with LEDs are very trouble free so far. The only grouse i have is the ps projector(low beam) is old school, so clarity of throw is lesser compared to what i have on the isuzu, i have the same led on my isuzu low beam as well - but in isuzu results are better than pajero sport due to nature of the projector.

The white lights havent caused me any tire whatsoever, infact i can see fruits on top on mango trees clearly - if you know what i mean [lol] - the high beam is very effective and has big spread, yes it will glare oncoming traffic if not used appropriately. Even with rains i have not had any issue, havent tested on fog, didnt encounter that scenario yet. I havent changed my fog lamps yet from OEM - you might want to go for the ones A.G suggested here, dual white/yellow LED.

Sir ji, post an initial review, I have been holding off mapping the Optimus from quite sometime now. confused between Remapping or a piggyback ECU from RaceDynamics.

the price is similar for both and even though the ECU has to offer slightly lesser gains it makes it up by different map options.
Hey Kinshuk , dont do this on the XUV, the XUV ECU doesnt like it, plus its a 2.2 engine tuned to 140bhp with a brisk throttle setup - i wouldn't recommend tuning or even a box on the xuv.
But generally speaking box is a no go for me - remap is a far smarter and holistic option

Thread Starter #599
Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In - Remapped 210+ BHP [56K Kms Crossed

To keep up with the remap, i decided ill trial out the K&N filter - so procured it after discussing with "gaddar" A.G - installed it a few weeks back(front side is clearly marked) - since i did it right after the remap, very difficult for me to say if the difference with filter was the factor, so i will do some tests between stock filter and this on the tuned Butsumishi!

After the remap, the PS is an absolute hoot to drive, while gear shift points have not changed per se, its able to hold speeds in gear much better leading to lesser gear shift, the low end grunt hasnt improved too much, but the mid range is absolutely terrific - i didnt want to mess with the low end fuel delivery anyways as it will significantly impact my FE and I dont like messing with FE!

The mid range is supreme now - quite simply mind blowing, in our controlled aggression tests it blew high triple digit speeds pretty easily with monstrous acceleration - not that i need it that way or drive that way, but helps to know that overtaking has now become a breeze. It also reminded me that PS has astonishing high speed stability for an old school SUV! I will report on FE once i do a few tankful to tankfuls!

Some pictures :-

IMG_20170928_102721.jpg

IMG_20170928_102700.jpg

Stock Old one

IMG_20171008_161249.jpg

IMG_20171008_161354.jpg

IMG_20171008_161401.jpg

Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In - Remapped 210+ BHP [56K Kms Crossed

Awesome upgrades. While you test out the K&N vs stock filter, do check if you can also compare the sound difference (if any). Time for some stickers now on the PS - Petes, K&N, SuperSelect and IronRock [:D]