Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Re: Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV500 - Which One To Choose?

And also can any one please, note down here what are the features that XUV have and Storme is missing? Vipul could you please do this as you are in middle of great comparo which will help many in making their buying decision?

Thanks, in advance.
Hhmm let me try putting up the features which XUV has and Storme does not.
- ESP
- Side and Curtain airbags.
- 2 din
- Navigation
- Automatic temperature control
- Third row ac vents
- Cooler under the center console.
- Hill hold and descent
- Steering mounted controls
- Glove box with laptop holder
- rear view camera
- Tilt & Telescopic steering
- 8 way adjustable seats

These are the features that i can remember as of now which XUV has over Storme.

XUV is very aggressive looking car no doubt,but in my subjective opinion Storme beats every other SUV/MUV/Soft-roader this side of 15 lakhs in terms of road presence.And looks play a vital part in the buying decision.Now whether Storme can impress the massess with its looks or not,is yet to be seen??!!
+100 to that. Below 15 L Storme has the best road presence.

And yes looks play a vital role in buying decision. Even we considered Storme when we were looking to buy a SUV and looks were one of the main reason we considered it.

Storme is new so early to talk about niggles yet , Sanjaysg has driven his storme for 5000kms yet no niggles so far in his storme yet early to say anything ..

This are latest niggles reported on xuv ,w8 from 1 member of another forum.

A list of repairs to be done on my 4-5 month XUV

- New brakes : The particular service centre had been denying availability of new brakes for quite some time. Got fed up and sent a mail to Mahindra customer care and promptly got a call from the Area manager. And so my brakes are getting replaced with the new ones finally. So a note to anyone who is in the same dilemma, pls get in touch with your Area Manager if required.
- Ignition system to be replaced
- Front left door power window motor to be replaced
- Gear issues : reverse and 2nd gear
- Power steering tightness
- Wheel alignment
- Dashboard rattling noise
- Some engine vibrations when hard accelerating in 2nd and 3rd gears and at 1200-1500RPM.

I think this issue also needs to be taken into consideration when selecting the final one now mahindra is doing also their level best to take care of every possible niggle and kudos to them [clap]

- ESP
- Side and Curtain airbags.
- 2 din
- Navigation
- Automatic temperature control
- Third row ac vents
- Cooler under the center console.
- Hill hold and descent
- Steering mounted controls
- Glove box with laptop holder
- rear view camera
- Tilt & Telescopic steering
- 8 way adjustable seats

These are the features that i can remember as of now which XUV has over Storme.
Since I never cared about XUV much but I still feel this list is not presend in all versions of XUV, can you compare LX and EX with XUVs similar version. and also mention price difference.

following few things are present in storme but in some other way
- ESP - N0
- Side and Curtain airbags. -No
- 2 din -No
- Navigation -No
- Automatic temperature control -No
- Third row ac vents - roofmounted AC which takes care of all infact front seat too.
- Cooler under the center console. - may be in special version [anger]
- Hill hold and descent -No
- Steering mounted controls - now at headlamp controllers [:D]
- Glove box with laptop holder - Glove Box is there but why you need laptop holder, lets keep TABLET there [glasses]
- rear view camera - sensors now (camera!!! it is old in safari isn't it outdated, if it like discovery4 camera system then we can consider).
- Tilt & Telescopic steering - half is true f0r storme
- 8 way adjustable seats - I guess safari has this

8 way adjustable seats.. I think no.
Is it powered in XUV??

Guys I ,gurrlla ,dharmesh, superbad just drove the storme now heading to drive xuv [clap] wait for a lot of pics

Hello Vipul very good and nice job, can you please just provide the source of the table where you compared the brakes and all, a soft link is appreciated.

XUV is very aggressive looking car no doubt,but in my subjective opinion Storme beats every other SUV/MUV/Soft-roader this side of 15 lakhs in terms of road presence.And looks play a vital part in the buying decision.Now whether Storme can impress the massess with its looks or not,is yet to be seen??!!
Looks are subjective and hence they really can't be discussed for reaching a conclusion. Many people find Scorpio best looking, some find XUV having best road presence and some find Safari...eh, to each his own!!

@ vipul

Superb effort dude , loved the detail writing from you like allways ,Is there a part 2 also comming ?
Yups buddy, it's also coming soon as there is a lot of it left in the comparo.

Can you also please explain which features are the deal breaker kind of features in xuv which the storme misses model wise and price difference ex showroom in both .
Being honest to myself, Storme has all the basic features needed. What all features which I find essential are there in Storme and hence in this field I have very less to complain(you will always find me complaining on performance above anything else). Eh, even my Corolla is not having as much features as XUV has..but still I'd prefer it against an XUV any day.

Let me for once try to give my opinion on the said fetures..
  • ESP: Though it is a good safety feature but it robs us of the true driving pleasure with true sense of control. Without any doubt I agree that it adds a lot to safety but then many times it just plays the spoilsport when you actually don't want it to do.
  • Side and Curtain airbags: Hmm, are a must need but then when a train or truck will hit at 100 kph I am doubtful on how much they are gonna help!! But yes, they are still important because no one knows from which side Yamaraj can strike.
  • 2 din: Haha, it adds nothing more than good looks..really. I don't remember the last time I heard the music thinking it is coming from a single or double din. Though the good big info readout of a dual din and it's premium feel is sorely missed and without any doubt this single din unit spoils the interior looks too.
  • Navigation: I personally will opt for a garmin or map my India fully updated device as compared to the inbuilt unit of XUV. But yes, the integrated navigation system is far better than an aftermarket one which is oddly installed in some corner of windshield and hence hampers visibility at times.
  • Automatic temperature control: Haha, I have been using a car equipped with ACC for long and I don't remember when I kept the 'auto' button pressed for even 5 minutes. AT THE END MANUAL SETTINGS ONLY WORK. It is a useless feature IMHO.
  • Third row ac vents: They are definitely needed without any doubt.
  • Cooler under the center console: Even my Corolla is also not having. BTW, how many people really use it? I personally will never put a wet bottle inside it for cooling, not because it can't cool but because I don't want some smells after some days. It is useful at times but nowhere essential.
  • Hill hold and descent: Fantastic feature and Storme needs it, it comes handy while driving in hills, especially on steep roads.
  • Steering mounted controls: Though not essential but better if incorporated, they add a lot to comfort.
  • Glove box with laptop holder: Who will put his laptop in that BTW?? Mine lies on the seat itself for whole time.
  • rear view camera: Not essential, sensors + RVMs is what I believe and they work really well. Do a quick reversing and you will find that camera runs about a second behind what actually is going on. And hence RVMs + sensors are more reliable for me.
  • Tilt & Telescopic steering: Definitely needed, takes away a lot of stress from journey.
  • 8 way adjustable seats: Hehe, needed, they help when on a long journey.

Hello Vipul very good and nice job, can you please just provide the source of the table where you compared the brakes and all, a soft link is appreciated.
Thanks buddy, kindly find the edit portion below the post for the source of table content and picture.

Again very nice write up and ncie comparo Vipul. Kudos to you.
Thanks buddy..[:D]

But I have one question here, In the below quote yuou have mentioned

Now what is performance here? Is it initial torque? straight line speed? gear ratios?

Could you please elaborate.
All of them, XUV beats Storme in all of them whether it is in-gear or off the line, all three.

And also can any one please, note down here what are the features that XUV have and Storme is missing? Vipul could you please do this as you are in middle of great comparo which will help many in making their buying decision?
Already answered this question..

@all

Will be driving the xuv now , thanx to SR abhishek dubey for infinity auto links prabhadevi . Dharmesh , gurralla and superbad and me

Engine and gearbox
Storme:
  • Smoother engine than before and no doubt the power delivery is now more linear. Thanks to a new high inertia flywheel and a new VGT which has given it a smother power delivery as well as better initial response.
  • Gearbox is again typical Safari type with first two gears short enough to make the beast moving while third ne being neither to short nor too tall and 4th and 5th gear being on taller side.
  • Gearbox with the new clutch unit and a less rubbery response is now better and easier to work upon, definitely something welcome. Though throws are long but well separated gates means you never engage a wrong gear.
  • VARIcor is where lies the true shortcoming when compared to XUV, the engine is still nowhere near XUV when it comes to eagerness, whatever the RPM is or whatever the gear is, the car always feels slightly hesitated before bringing that surge of power.
  • Engine always feels less flexible as compared to M-Hawk maybe because of wider spread torque of M-Hawk or maybe because of the gearbox which makes it redline a bit too quickly in first two gears.
  • Overall, a thumbs up to the new engine + gearbox combo, though I simply place XUV above here but still the engine is really smooth and offers fantastic relaxed driving character.

XUV:
  • Yes VARIcor is smoother than the older engine but M-Hawk is still smoother, smoother throughout the rev range. The way this engine revs cleanly to 4500 rpm is simply fantastic.
  • Gearbox is something which adds more to the appeal of engine and the well chosen gear ratios make every drive a treat. Whether you want to drive or fly, the gearbox makes both of them a very easy affair. But yes, it is like any other typical six speed box and the gates are comparatively narrower as compared to 5 speed box of Storme.
  • M-Hawk and gearbox combo makes for a fantastic driving experience and hence here the XUV is a clear winner.

Features

Storme:
  • Ticks all the needed boxes with nothing more than needed but then it has got all the must-needed features and hence nothing more to complain.
XUV:
  • Eh, I don’t think I need to speak up anything about features. It is loaded with them to the tooth.

Safety

Storme:
  • 2 airbags and ABS+EBD are all you get in this car nd without nay ANCAP ratings of Safari/Storme till date, we can’t give any further comments.
XUV:
  • 6 airbags and ABS+EBD with ESP are what you get with some more safety features like rollover mitigation etc make is a safer car by default and 4 STAR ANCAP RATING just adds more to the trust.(Find it here: Mahindra safety | XUV500 crash test - ANCAP)

Looks:
Well, "Beauty lies in the eyes of beholder" and hence respecting the subjective views of all our members/readers - no comments on looks.

A.S.S.:
Mahindra doing very well in pampering XUV customers and for Storme it’s too early to comment.

My choice: None…I'll take ‘Yeti’!!:biggrin:

This are latest niggles reported on xuv ,w8 from 1 member of another forum.
A list of repairs to be done on my 4-5 month XUV
- New brakes : The particular service centre had been denying availability of new brakes for quite some time. Got fed up and sent a mail to Mahindra customer care and promptly got a call from the Area manager. And so my brakes are getting replaced with the new ones finally. So a note to anyone who is in the same dilemma, pls get in touch with your Area Manager if required.
- Ignition system to be replaced
- Front left door power window motor to be replaced
- Gear issues : reverse and 2nd gear
- Power steering tightness
- Wheel alignment
- Dashboard rattling noise
- Some engine vibrations when hard accelerating in 2nd and 3rd gears and at 1200-1500RPM.

I think this issue also needs to be taken into consideration when selecting the final one now mahindra is doing also their level best to take care of every possible niggle and kudos to them
What i have heard is that the XUV batch starting last October and beyond will have probably no niggles as they com with the new brake system, power steering issue has been taken care off as well. So i am just curious to know whether it was before or after October. I think that it is pre-october since you said it is 4-5 months old.

Since I never cared about XUV much but I still feel this list is not presend in all versions of XUV, can you compare LX and EX with XUVs similar version. and also mention price difference.
Sure buddy and this comparison was between the VX 4*4 and W8 Awd. And actually i am not comparing the two i was just replying to dharmesh post where he wanted someone to list out the features which are present in XUV but not in Storme without being biased to what i think is necessary or not.

- Third row ac vents - roofmounted AC which takes care of all infact front seat too.
This is not a comparison between what is good and what is bad, XUV has vents for the third row which Storme doesn't. Just a simple point i mentioned.

- Cooler under the center console. - may be in special version [anger]
Well maybe i just mentioned this in a wrong way. Here i meant the space between the front seats under the arm rest.
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...o-mahindra-xuv-5oo-w8-ownership-review-4.html
Check out post # 44 (pics 1&2). And this comes with every W8 not sure about W6 though and it's regular feature on W8 no need to order a special version.[:)]

- Steering mounted controls - now at headlamp controllers
But XUV has Cruise, audio, phone and voice controls which are right on the steering. Storme also has audio stalk but it misses on the cruise, phone and voice and in XUV they are situated where controls are suppose to be.

- Glove box with laptop holder - Glove Box is there but why you need laptop holder, lets keep TABLET there
Well it does help a lot of people and being unbaised here this is what you think but everyone might not think like you. And if it is an additional feature then it is buddy. You and I can't change it, right? And this was the sole reason of my post if you are forgetting.

- rear view camera - sensors now (camera!!! it is old in safari isn't it outdated, if it like discovery4 camera system then we can consider).
We are not talking about Safari and this is again your personal opinion. Which does not count for all the customers out in the market.

- Tilt & Telescopic steering - half is true f0r storme
+1.

Guys I ,gurrlla ,dharmesh, superbad just drove the storme now heading to drive xuv wait for a lot of pics
Waiting for a detailed report on the comparo and some nice pics bro.

Let me for once try to give my opinion on the said fetures..
  • ESP: Though it is a good safety feature but it robs us of the true driving pleasure with true sense of control. Without any doubt I agree that it adds a lot to safety but then many times it just plays the spoilsport when you actually don't want it to do.
  • Side and Curtain airbags: Hmm, are a must need but then when a train or truck will hit at 100 kph I am doubtful on how much they are gonna help!! But yes, they are still important because no one knows from which side Yamaraj can strike.
  • 2 din: Haha, it adds nothing more than good looks..really. I don't remember the last time I heard the music thinking it is coming from a single or double din. Though the good big info readout of a dual din and it's premium feel is sorely missed and without any doubt this single din unit spoils the interior looks too.
  • Navigation: I personally will opt for a garmin or map my India fully updated device as compared to the inbuilt unit of XUV. But yes, the integrated navigation system is far better than an aftermarket one which is oddly installed in some corner of windshield and hence hampers visibility at times.
  • Automatic temperature control: Haha, I have been using a car equipped with ACC for long and I don't remember when I kept the 'auto' button pressed for even 5 minutes. AT THE END MANUAL SETTINGS ONLY WORK. It is a useless feature IMHO.
  • Third row ac vents: They are definitely needed without any doubt.
  • Cooler under the center console: Even my Corolla is also not having. BTW, how many people really use it? I personally will never put a wet bottle inside it for cooling, not because it can't cool but because I don't want some smells after some days. It is useful at times but nowhere essential.
  • Hill hold and descent: Fantastic feature and Storme needs it, it comes handy while driving in hills, especially on steep roads.
  • Steering mounted controls: Though not essential but better if incorporated, they add a lot to comfort.
  • Glove box with laptop holder: Who will put his laptop in that BTW?? Mine lies on the seat itself for whole time.
  • rear view camera: Not essential, sensors + RVMs is what I believe and they work really well. Do a quick reversing and you will find that camera runs about a second behind what actually is going on. And hence RVMs + sensors are more reliable for me.
  • Tilt & Telescopic steering: Definitely needed, takes away a lot of stress from journey.
  • 8 way adjustable seats: Hehe, needed, they help when on a long journey.
Buddy since you said that these are your personal views they are respected and no comments on that since everyone has their own personal views.

But again the motive of my post was not to compare and tell which features are useful but to put up a list of features which are present in XUV and not is Storme.

And if we don't use a feature provided doesn't mean that no one uses it. Like you would not use the cooler but my parents use it in our XUV and there is no such smell. (Just an example).

Vipul by far(and i mean very far) this is what was needed - facts, nice effort. Agree largely to all of it except our priorities with features usage probably but thats expected !

I am surprised you dont use the auto function of the ACC, thats all i use most of the time, no using the knob every 5 mins to control what temp you want - i find ACC a must have feature in all my vehicles apart from cruise control - i am kinda addicted to both now.

In terms of features you/Singhji missed out on Auto Lamps and Auto Wipers in the XUV , while auto lamps dont help much, i find the auto wipers extremely useful as they work based on the need and auto switch off as well. I found it very useful ! In terms of features plenty of small ones, but its a big list, i guess we have listed the useful ones.

What i have heard is that the XUV batch starting last October and beyond will have probably no niggles as they com with the new brake system, power steering issue has been taken care off as well. So i am just curious to know whether it was before or after October. I think that it is pre-october since you said it is 4-5 months old.
Haha, a guy known to me just got the ICE replaced in his two month old XUV only because the display went off one day!![lol]

This is not a comparison between what is good and what is bad, XUV has vents for the third row which Storme doesn't. Just a simple point i mentioned.
Dedicated vents have no replacement and hence XUV has an edge here.

Well maybe i just mentioned this in a wrong way. Here i meant the space between the front seats under the arm rest.
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...o-mahindra-xuv-5oo-w8-ownership-review-4.html
Check out post # 44 (pics 1&2). And this comes with every W8 not sure about W6 though and it's regular feature on W8 no need to order a special version.
The good big space under the armrest is cooled!! Though never used it..hehe(BTW, it's sized for storing beer cans perfectly!!)

Buddy since you said that these are your personal views they are respected and no comments on that since everyone has their own personal views.
Definitely, these are my personal preferences.

But again the motive of my post was not to compare and tell which features are useful but to put up a list of features which are present in XUV and not is Storme.

And if we don't use a feature provided doesn't mean that no one uses it. Like you would not use the cooler but my parents use it in our XUV and there is no such smell. (Just an example).
+100 again, it features are there then they are used too, I am not denying this fact but still some features are just an overdone!!

Vipul by far(and i mean very far) this is what was needed - facts, nice effort. Agree largely to all of it except our priorities with features usage probably but thats expected !
Priorities are subjective and hence difference in them is easily expected, no big deal I guess.

I am surprised you dont use the auto function of the ACC, thats all i use most of the time, no using the knob every 5 mins to control what temp you want - i find ACC a must have feature in all my vehicles apart from cruise control - i am kinda addicted to both now.
Usage of auto feature depends on two factors:
Weather outside and our comfort.
If the car is kept parked for more than an hour then whether it's summer or winter, the ACC blows winds in initial period of driving until the temperature fells close to set one and hence I prefer manual setting and drive with my AC working at 1 or 2 blower speed.
BTW, what's your temperature preference?

@ all

guys today i , dharmesh , superbad drove the storme and xuv back to back , dharmesh and superbad will give their impressions soon .

gurralla dint drive the xuv , but he might comment on the ride quality and other things .

there are many pics but just for now iam uploading a few.

XUV is looking great in the purple(grey??) shade.However Storme is simply looking stunning in maroon colour.Also paint quality of Storme looks simply amazing.Overall both these cars are impressive when it comes to looks!