Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Thread Starter #316
Re: Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV500 - Which One To Choose?

Ok, regarding 3rd row, I will elaborate my subjective impressions on both.

To speak bit frankly, both vehicles are to be called as 5+2 seating and this 2 is really funny in both the cases. So if you ask me I will call both as 5 seaters with ample space for luggage[:)]

Storm : The jump seats are only good for kids or a person who is around 5' and bit lean. The advantage here is if kids are there you can still place some luggage below the seats and between the seats.
XUV : The 3rd is front faced and two kids can sit there comfortable or 3 depends on their size. But for adults it is really cramped and no leg space at all. I tried to sit there and end up sitting there for 5 minutes and came out and it more looks like you are locked in a small box and it further increases when vehicles is going on some uneven roads and bumps.

So for 3rd row both scores the same points and nothing very great and only advantage is you can use that for kids and if not for good amount of luggage.

@Viswas

So when you have seen the storm there are only two things which you have observed

1. Front look is not good according to you[surprise], ok it is your opinion and the moment you enter inside
2. you have only seen the HU and dash ?? nothing else, I mean seating position, visibility, steering,gears etc., I agree with you the music system is not that impressive.

But apart from these there are too many things you can talk about and which will decide whether storm is good or bad. And also you have not explained us why you have said XUV is a winner, because of dash board ?? or front looks ??

Please write complete comparison of both the vehicles please and if you limit writing single line statements about a particular vehicle which you do not like, and it no way help the reader or prospective buyer.

Here is dharmesh if iam not mistaken he must be 5"8 or 5"9 and the SA also same height as dharmesh and see how they can seat in a storme on the last 2 rows.

Don't know if dharmesh will have the same smiling face after 50 Kms or after a stretch of bad roads .[;)] and the SA already looks tensed and has anticipated some agony [shock]

Now can some 1 post a pic of last row of xuv with passengers seating ?
Raja thanks for this pic. Dharmesh you indeed look very happy! [:)]
Someone mentioned advantages of 3rd row jump seats in the context of keeping luggage in the 3rd row with 2 sitting - I would be very grateful if they can further explain.

Raja thanks for this pic. Dharmesh you indeed look very happy! [:)]
Someone mentioned advantages of 3rd row jump seats in the context of keeping luggage in the 3rd row with 2 sitting - I would be very grateful if they can further explain.
I am surprised that no one mentioned this and actually I also forget to mention. We need to climb onto Storme to get into 3rd row jump seats. By climb I literally mean climbing. [lol]

Thread Starter #319

I am surprised that no one mentioned this and actually I also forget to mention. We need to climb onto Storme to get into 3rd row jump seats. By climb I literally mean climbing. [lol]
Yes, I was searching for the same and I have elaborated about 3rd row in my previous post already .

Yes, you need to climb to get on to 3rd row seats of Storm[lol] That is why they are called jump seats [;)]

Yes, I was searching for the same and I have elaborated about 3rd row in my previous post already .

Yes, you need to climb to get on to 3rd row seats of Storm That is why they are called jump seats
I think those are called jump seats because while getting down from the vehicle you literally have to jump down. [lol][lol][lol]

Exactly

By all considerable angles

Well personally I feel Aria and Innova are very Long (lengthwise) cars , hence they can not be easily used for daily use.
Where as XUV or Storme can be used for daily use (comparatively easily).
I disagree. Look at Accord, it is used regularly. There are people who use S Class & Audi A8 on regular basis & yet seat 1-2 apart from driver !! [lol]
If you want to sit properly, hell with length. And buddy, length of Aria is not that long that you feel as if you are driving Volvo B9R bus !! [;)]

7 seating capacity is required as there are many joint families which has 7/8 people.
And all 7 seats are required occasionally.
Buy 2 hatchback then. It will give proper 8 seats & if something goes kaput, atleast half won't suffer !! :P

So in that sense which is better XUV or Storme ?
It depends upon the dimensions of the people. If people like us (most on this forum) try to go together somewhere, I doubt whether we can fit in XUV as 7 seats !!
Perhaps, some will travel on roof carrier, ala Ajay Devgn style !! [lol]

Actually we shortlisted STORME and XUV here so we no need to consider ARIA and INNOVA.
point is if we keep bean bags in XUV I wonder where kids gonna sit, for long ride we carry more stuff then I wonder where we gonna keep our luggage, bean bag and kids . even if we install roof mounted carrier we cannot keep all stuff there we still need some space in boot.
Take a suit hanger, place it to driver head rest & attach kids on it. Simple.
Kids will be busy playing, pull-ups, pull-ups. [lol]
If you are about people, why buy storme or xuv at first place ?? Buy Aria.

In xuv , short people can seat comfortably, AFA kids are concerned one has to anticipate , how much height growth is expected during ownership of the car.
And if you are planning to keep the car for long, don't give kids Complan. [lol]

In XUV, problem in comfort ,for using the third row is that you need to disturb (alight and renter)the left mid row passenger every time the third row passenger alights or enters.
And the right rear passenger has to disturb the left rear passenger also, either making him alight or rubbing the butt with his face.
All this renders left mid row seat most undesirable.
+1. Same is the case with Innova & likes. Hence, I like sedans. All have independent doors.

XUV advantages over Storme,as per me:

1. Better 3rd row(front facing).

2.Better safety kit(ESP,Roll-over mitigation and 6 a'irbags).

THE X-OVER
What safety ?? This is 'Pandu-grade' safety.
Make someone sit in 3rd row of XUV & I will ram it from rear using Ford Endy. Lets see how does this roll-over mitigation & 6 airbags help in saving their back side of passengers. It is for this very reason, I hate hatchbacks too.

I am surprised that no one mentioned this and actually I also forget to mention. We need to climb onto Storme to get into 3rd row jump seats. By climb I literally mean climbing.
Hmm, so next time, remember to call 101 (Fire-brigade) whenever you plan to travel in storme. And I am sure, for getting inside Ford Endy, I need to use helicopter then. [lol]

I disagree. Look at Accord, it is used regularly. There are people who use S Class & Audi A8 on regular basis & yet seat 1-2 apart from driver !!
If you want to sit properly, hell with length. And buddy, length of Aria is not that long that you feel as if you are driving Volvo B9R bus !!
the point is same all of them have big turning radius and also difficult to find parking space :P
Buy 2 hatchback then. It will give proper 8 seats & if something goes kaput, atleast half won't suffer !! :P
This is what I have currently [cry]
It depends upon the dimensions of the people. If people like us (most on this forum) try to go together somewhere, I doubt whether we can fit in XUV as 7 seats !!
Perhaps, some will travel on roof carrier, ala Ajay Devgn style !!
:lol!:

Okay guys, now let me express my opinion on Storme Vs XUV.

Note: Safari = Storme(so wherever Safari is written, it means Storme)

First of all comes driving experience
Storme:
  • Only reach adjustable wheel is fine but rake adjustable would have made it even easier to find the perfect driving position, though with 3 way adjustable seat and reach adjustable wheel, finding a comfortable driving position isn’t tough at all.
  • High set seat with low set dash with thin pillars and of course good glass area makes for fantastic all round visibility and hence result in ease of maneuverability.
  • With new column, the wheel is now more direct and of course the response is also better than before. A welcome move it is.
  • BOF chassis with a high placed cab means body roll is expected and it is there, though less than before but still there is enough of it to be easily felt, especially at speeds.
  • Turbo lag – haha, c’mon yaar it is a turbo diesel and turbo(single turbo ones) diesels and a turbo diesel without turbo lag is a tree without roots. Though the turbo lag is significantly reduced but still it is there and of course it will be.
  • Smoother engine and more refined power delivery makes for a very good driving experience and if you make good use of gearbox, then you will never find yourself waiting for power to come up.
  • Make right use of gearbox!! But who will press that tight clutch again and again?? Oh, no worry my dear, the clutch is feather light now, just touch it and it goes down, so no more worries..as already stated by a member “Only an idiot can stall a Storme”. This line in itself says it all.
  • It weighs 2000+ kg and hence without any doubt, the performance is nowhere as sprightly as of XUV, neither flat out nor in-gear..XUV simply knocks it down in the area of performance.
  • This is Safari and is meant for relaxed cruising and hence better you drive it that way, try some cornering and body roll will tell you that you are driving a Safari. Agility is lesser, nowhere fit for point-and-shoot type driving(while Aria shoots quite well and hence I expected Storme also to be that way).
  • Braking is amongst the biggest improvement over older model and is simply confident with less body movement and good feel at pedal from the moment you touch it.

Mahindra XUV 5OO:
  • Reach and rake adjustable wheel with 3 way adjustable seat makes it very easy for finding the perfect driving position.
  • Comparatively higher set dash and higher beltline(or say lower set seat), though gives good visibility but still Safari is ahead of it in this field, far ahead I’d say. Maneuverability is easy but for Storme it is easier.
  • Wheel is more or less - overall same in terms of response, feels responsive but nowhere near desirable..it’s just ‘normal’, but then Storme is also just ‘normal’ here.
  • Monocoque chassis, in fact a lower body overall so without any doubts, the body roll is lesser.
  • If Varicor is smooth then MHawk is nowhere trailing, it is also as smooth as Varicor, in fact it is having a better torque spread and hence always feel more urgent and is of course more rev happy too.
  • Clutch..haha Clutch, without any doubt Storme is the papa ji here. XUVs clutch has that age old ‘kicking back’ tendency and hence once you get used to of it, it’s okay else it’s irritating at times.
  • Good power to weight ratio with well decided gear ratios without any doubt makes for a very sprightly performance, without any doubt it s the best performing UV available at the price, there won’t be over if I call it ‘sedan rivaling’ performance.
  • Agility of XUV is what makes it special, there is very less feeling of nose heaviness and hence this car is good at pointing but still not fit for pint-and-shoot as when it comes to shooting, the torque steer kills it all.
  • Though numbers prove for a better braking performance overall but pedal needs to be pressed to get the results and from pressed, I mean pressed.
3.JPG

Interior and features
Storme:
  • You like plain interiors with good fit and finish? If yes, then Storme is for you, no shiny plastics, beige interiors and tight panel gaps makes for a good fit and finish overall and that wooden finish adds more to the appeal.
  • Wheel looks well finished IMHO and those stalk mounted controls is a very neat touch.
  • Storage space is good and the overall fit and finish is definitely ahead of the outgoing model.
  • Soft touch plastic on the top of the dash adds more to the premium feel, though it itself could have been better.
  • Door handles, without any doubt are very well finished and feels like are directly taken from a good 20 lac sedan at least, nothing overdone if I call them the best finished part of Storme.
  • Featurewise…eh, better less said. XUV is downright winner in this field.

XUV:
  • Dash looks more modern without any doubt, fit and finish is acceptable but plastic quality feels inconsistent at times, but some neat touches like A/C vents, wrap around dash design(though could have been better) add more to premium feel. But then that shiny finish(wooden one) looks 100% fake..eh, disappointment but not overall.
  • Wheel looks impressive and finishing is also good. The controls are mounted on the boss itself instead of any stalk at the back like Storme, I personally find it more comfy and easy to get used to.
  • Storage space is good without any doubt as there are enough of boxes and cubby holes to store your knick knacks.
  • Features are the highlight of XUV, though some of them are useless to a bit but still they are the highlight of the vehicle.

Comfort
Storme:
  • Starting from front seats, seats are supportive and thigh support is good. Eh, comfort and Safari are a made for each other couple and hence overall the seats are comfy.
  • Second row is where the comfort is Safari is best noted, without any doubt –Sofa on wheels.
  • Third row is better less said, it isn’t for even kids if you are going on a long journey. If there is an adult then thigh support is poor, back support is poor, headroom and legroom are also poor..I am thinking what is good except boot space??
1.JPG
XUV:
  • Front seats are more supportive and hence the seating comfort has slight edge as compared to Safari.
  • Second row comfort is also good, no doubt the seats are comfortable but not as good as the high set seat of Safari.
  • Third row is better than Safari in every way without any doubt. Now if you have to fit 7 people in both the cars then both of them have no luggage space!!
2.JPG

TO BE CONTINUED...:biggrin:

^^^ I think the XUVs clutch is good and easy. Stromes better but still. Rear seats in the strome need a rethink. I alone could not fit.

Is it possible to fix a front facing last row seat(after-market and tailor made) in the Storme? I think then it will have much more comfort and decent for the vehicle.

^^^ I think the XUVs clutch is good and easy. Stromes better but still. Rear seats in the strome need a rethink. I alone could not fit.
Once you get adapted then the clutch and brakes of XUV are no issues but for any first timer or a Storme owner, they will be surely an issue. Else when I drove the XUV for first time(good long drive) then it took me 8-10 shifts to get my foot adapted to clutch and 20-25 kms to get adapted to brakes, no complain about any of them till date from that day. But yes, as compared to Storme..both the pedals score far lower here.
In terms of rear seats, the pic posted above says the whole story in itself. I am thinking where is the boot space now? I guess a roof career is needed..BOTH SCORE SAME IN TERMS OF BOOT SPACE, both have a lot of it if only 5 seats are used and both have very less if 7 seats are used.

Is it possible to fix a front facing last row seat(after-market and tailor made) in the Storme? I think then it will have much more comfort and decent for the vehicle.
Though the floor is quite high at the place(where third row is placed) and hence the headroom will be worse, also the legroom will be worse too. They can be fixed..if they can be fixed in Ertiga then Storme is the big daddy here, so why can't in Storme?

A small part of comparo is still left which will be posted today(say thanks to my college which don't let me live!!)

Again very nice write up and ncie comparo Vipul. Kudos to you.

But I have one question here, In the below quote yuou have mentioned

XUV simply knocks it down in the area of performance.
Now what is performance here? Is it initial torque? straight line speed? gear ratios?

Could you please elaborate.

And also can any one please, note down here what are the features that XUV have and Storme is missing? Vipul could you please do this as you are in middle of great comparo which will help many in making their buying decision?

Thanks, in advance.

XUV is very aggressive looking car no doubt,but in my subjective opinion Storme beats every other SUV/MUV/Soft-roader this side of 15 lakhs in terms of road presence.And looks play a vital part in the buying decision.Now whether Storme can impress the massess with its looks or not,is yet to be seen??!!

@ vipul

Superb effort dude [clap], loved the detail writing from you like allways ,Is there a part 2 also comming ? [:)]

Can you also please explain which features are the deal breaker kind of features in xuv which the storme misses model wise and price difference ex showroom in both .