My Pearl Snow White: Maruti Suzuki Ciaz VXi+ Ownership Review

@Ciazzz & @raag73,

MGA Don't Offer Plain Beige Seat Cover As If Now, Only 6 Types Of Geniune Seat Covers Are Their Which Are Fitted Over Original Seat Cover...

Maruti Factory Is Offering All Types Of Accesories To Showroom Owners But I Think They Don't Buy It Due To Various Reason Such As Fund, etc.. But My Dealer Had Told Me That All Accessories Of Ciaz Are Available With Them... So It Depends Upon Them...

Hello Team,

Could you please share details about petrol Ciaz.

How is the performance?

Mileage in City with AC ON?

Service interval(months & km)?

Heard that petrol engine is noisy ?

Clutch problem for vehicles manufactured on/before Nov-14 ? is it resolved in vehicles manufactured recently any idea?

How about ride and handling, suspension ?

Thanks in advance.

Hello Team,
How is the performance?
Clutch problem for vehicles manufactured on/before Nov-14 ? is it resolved in vehicles manufactured recently any idea?
Thanks in advance.
Performance in Terms Of Power And Torque is Definitely Less Than Other Sedans Available But Overall Package Is Best You Can Get For Your Hard Earned Money. If You Can Spend Another 1-1.5 Lakh, Go For Other Sedans Available in Market But I Think Juice is Not Worth The Squeeze.

So Ciaz is Best PACKAGE Available. [:)]

My ODO is Just 500KM And Mileage is Showing As 15.6Km/L With AC On, But It is Increasing With ODO So It Mainly Depends Upon Traffic And How We Drive.

Engine Noise Is Not A Issue, You Can Check It Yourself In Test Drive.

Clutch Issue is Resolved For New Manufactured Vehicles After 7th Of November As I Just Brought Ciaz 11 Days Back And I Have Checked Its VIN With Maruti Suzuki Website And It States That My Vehicle Doesnt Need Special Attention.

Ride Quality, Handling And Suspension is Very Good, And Please Take A Test Drive To Feel It And Solve All Your Other Queries Personally.

And If You Are Thinking To Buy One, Go For It.... [;)]

Thread Starter #79
Right Said dear friend abhi6795.

Point Wise Reply :
1. Performance - Like already said earlier, 1.4 lit pertol engine is good for City as well as Highway Drive. Its very stable on Highway. I reached 135 speed on Mumbai Pune Expressway & ride was very planted. Ground Clearance of car is too good.

2. Mileage - I have already posted the actual picture on previous pages. Mine gives 17+ km/l in city as well as higway with full time A.C. Current ODO is more than 2300 km. AC is a CHILLER.

3. Service interval is as per standard for all maruti vehicles. Best part is you can also get HOME SERVICING by Maruti. I tried that on my 1st Free Service. Since its maruti don't worry about servicing. They are all over in any city.

4. Noisy Engiene - Noise of 1.4 VVT is definately not annoying. Just Zoom-in & enjoy the ride.

5. Clutch problem - Here, I would like to elaborate. My car was amongst first lot. As soon as I heard that there was clutch issue, I immediately logged on to Maruti Suzuki website & checked the status by entering my Chasis Number. It displayed : "Vehicle Doesnt Need Special Attention". I forgot this issue. On last saturday my Nagpur Dealer customer service manager called me saying that some Clutch Part needs to be changed, as per circular from Maruti. I told him that I am at Navi Mumbai. He asked me my preferred service centre in Mumbai. Within 15 Min i got call from my preffered Mumbai Service Station. Manager asked me to spare only 1 hr & they would change the part. I went to service station as per my convenient time & was treated like a KING. The clutch part was replaced within 1 hr & approx cost was around 1200 rs. Of course it was FREE. I was told that as a precautionary measure that was part was replaced. My vehicle did not quality that required attention, even i never felt any issue while driving all those 2000 Km, STILL the part was replaced & all process was well informed & very smooth / quick.

That's why, if you really want peace of mind & economy its always MARUTI. City is definitely the best but SV variant is 1.5 lac rupees more with very less features (Check Website of Both). E & S variant are too basic.

That's my take on it. Hope the info will be useful in your buy. Just Test Drive & Listen to your Heart. Best of Luck.

Hello Team,
How is the performance?
Thanks in advance.
Hi, I am a proud owner of Ciaz ZXi (AT) [glasses]. Here is my feedback:

The Car: I researched for full ONE year and test drove all C2 segment cars, studied their features & complaints, focused mainly on QUALITY and SPACE, visited many showrooms multiple times but could not convinced myself to pay booking amount, then Ciaz happened. I do not know about others but it checks all my requirements (in this order): Quality, Space, Looks, Features, ASS, Engine, Mileage. I say I am very happy and always glance back twice to see my car. It's large, elegant and good looking.

Performance: Have driven with 5 adults, never felt loss in power. Not driven at high speeds or high RPMs as I am running-in the engine till 1000 Kms. Compared to other C2 cars I TD, there is no significant difference in City driving.

Mileage: About 11 Kmpl for automatic in City with AC always ON.

Service: First one done after a month (or 1000 KMs, I could only do 400 Kms). I felt it is too early, First one should have been after 6 months. But I felt good that they are concerned about the car. The first service was only checking and cleaning, no charges were paid.

Noise: Must be joking, it is sometimes hard to realize while stationary that engine is running.

Clutch: Sorry, no clutch[:)]

Suspension: I feel they are not that soft as given in reviews, but it negotiated Mumbai roads nicely. Back seat occupiers never had any complains in fact they are happy that 3 could sit comfortably.

Hope feedback will help you take a decision.

Hello Team,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.

I am planning to buy a petrol sedan. Shortlisted Ciaz VXI+, Skoda Rapid Ambition Plus MY15 which comes with cruise control, Honda City S which lacks many features.

In diesel - Ford Fiesta 2014 impressed with ride and handling and better NVH levels but not sure about maintenance cost.

Skoda Rapid seem to have some more features than Ciaz but ASS is a big problem. Sales executive is saying that they are providing 5 years warranty(includes extended warranty). Resale value will also be less as read in most of the blogs. Mileage can expect 9-10 km in city.

I am quiet confused which one to go with [confused]

Bala

Hello Team,

To add one point which i missed.

As Petrol ciaz is not available with dealers i could not take test drive. Checked with 3 dealers in city, all of them said only diesel variant is available for TD.

Can you list features differences between Skoda Rapid and Maruti Ciaz?

Hello Team,

I am planning to buy a petrol sedan. Shortlisted Ciaz VXI+, Skoda Rapid Ambition Plus MY15 which comes with cruise control, Honda City S which lacks many features.

In diesel - Ford Fiesta 2014 impressed with ride and handling and better NVH levels but not sure about maintenance cost.

Skoda Rapid seem to have some more features than Ciaz but ASS is a big problem. Sales executive is saying that they are providing 5 years warranty(includes extended warranty). Resale value will also be less as read in most of the blogs. Mileage can expect 9-10 km in city.

Bala

Hello Team,

Bala
i would suggest you to stay away from Rapid petrol, nothing to write positive about it.when you compare with the competition.

@Bala2014,

@gowtham.varma1988 has Correctly Said That Stay Away From Rapid Petrol..

and

@raag73, I Have Gone Through Brochure Of Rapid 2015 And Here is My Observation..

Skoda Rapid Ambition Plus 2015

Cons:
• Engine Push Start Button
• Alloy Wheels
• Parking Camera
• Automatic A/C
• Leather Seats
• Electric Foldable OVRM
• Last But Not The Least, MILEAGE [:D]

Above Features Are Not Available in Rapid Ambition Plus Compared To Ciaz ZXi

Only Pros:
• Halogen Headlights
• Rear Fog Lights
• Cruise Control

So @Bala2014, Go For Ciaz And You Will Not Regret...
And I Don't Know Why Petrol Ciaz Isn't Available For TD in Your City, As It Is Available Here in Every Showroom.. [anger]

Positive reviews from many Ciaz Owners are being seen on the net... Good for Ciaz !!!
IMO this is the best VFM package available as of now.

Visited the showroom today and checked out Ciaz ZXi model on display for 10-15 minutes. Here are my observations:
1. External panel gaps in Ciaz are very consistent (as check in ready for delivery cars as well). When I had checked out Honda City SV CVT couple of months back, external panel gaps were uneven and huge.
2. Chrome grill in Chinese version looks much better than the Indian version. They have messed up front grill slats in S-Cross as well.
3. Arm-rest is far behind the elbow point - not at all usable to res the arm - especially in AT version.

Couple of quick questions:
1. Has anyone received any freebies/accessories from dealers?
2. Is it possible to upgrade from 15"Aloy wheels + Tyres with MGA 16" ones? Will it void warranty?

Right Said dear friend abhi6795.

Point Wise Reply :
1. Performance - Like already said earlier, 1.4 lit pertol engine is good for City as well as Highway Drive. Its very stable on Highway. I reached 135 speed on Mumbai Pune Expressway & ride was very planted. Ground Clearance of car is too good.

2. Mileage - I have already posted the actual picture on previous pages. Mine gives 17+ km/l in city as well as higway with full time A.C. Current ODO is more than 2300 km. AC is a CHILLER.

3. Service interval is as per standard for all maruti vehicles. Best part is you can also get HOME SERVICING by Maruti. I tried that on my 1st Free Service. Since its maruti don't worry about servicing. They are all over in any city.

4. Noisy Engiene - Noise of 1.4 VVT is definately not annoying. Just Zoom-in & enjoy the ride.

5. Clutch problem - Here, I would like to elaborate. My car was amongst first lot. As soon as I heard that there was clutch issue, I immediately logged on to Maruti Suzuki website & checked the status by entering my Chasis Number. It displayed : "Vehicle Doesnt Need Special Attention". I forgot this issue. On last saturday my Nagpur Dealer customer service manager called me saying that some Clutch Part needs to be changed, as per circular from Maruti. I told him that I am at Navi Mumbai. He asked me my preferred service centre in Mumbai. Within 15 Min i got call from my preffered Mumbai Service Station. Manager asked me to spare only 1 hr & they would change the part. I went to service station as per my convenient time & was treated like a KING. The clutch part was replaced within 1 hr & approx cost was around 1200 rs. Of course it was FREE. I was told that as a precautionary measure that was part was replaced. My vehicle did not quality that required attention, even i never felt any issue while driving all those 2000 Km, STILL the part was replaced & all process was well informed & very smooth / quick.

That's why, if you really want peace of mind & economy its always MARUTI. City is definitely the best but SV variant is 1.5 lac rupees more with very less features (Check Website of Both). E & S variant are too basic.

That's my take on it. Hope the info will be useful in your buy. Just Test Drive & Listen to your Heart. Best of Luck.
I got my dignity brown ciaz on 30the Nov.and I vouch every word in the post.I am chauffeur driven and believe me I really got found people amused staring the looks.Honda city may be better in certain areas but ciaz is just not value for money but a premium styling from maruti stable.I feel this car is not for younger who prefer peppy zippy and sportier looking cars but it's choice of mature a class above hunks.by the way I have an esteem too and after owning a safari for six years decide on ciaz and I am really satisfied.

Can you tell where I can find rear boot garnish chrome in DELHI.

Hi Everyone, I just took delivery of Ciaz zxi AT on 20th Dec. It's a silky silver ZXI AT (automatic) - december manufactured vehicle. A little bit of background, I started my car hunt couple of months back.

I zeroed in on Honda City & Maruti Suzuki Ciaz as potential options.
The City got dropped due to un-realistic long waiting time of close to 6 months especially for the automatic model and also I found it to be too ubiquitous on Mumbai roads.

In parallel I was also researching Ciaz, the reviews weren't that great, but I liked the styling and did a test drive Petrol manual and felt it to be great. Having done a back to back test drive of ciaz & city, I didn't see much difference, in terms of power and handling.

Having driven an automatic for a long time, I preferred an automatic. When I enquired with nearby dealer there was white & metalic beige (Gold) color readily available. But I wanted silver and was still researching, by the time I made up my mind the dealer mentioned he has another lot in-transit and mentioned a silver automatic in transit. Since thats the color I wanted I booked it and they gave me delivery in exactly 5 days flat.

Since delivery I took it on the highway for a couple of spins and the car is performing really well.

The following are my observations
Engine Power: The engine seems adequate for this car, I never felt it to be under powered or anything.

Noise Level: There is absolutely no noise spillover into cabin below 3500 RPM, many times its difficult to say if the engine is running or not, it is that quite, especially when idle. The car came with Good Year Assurance tyres 185/65/R15 type, the ride mostly quite except for concrete roads - where there is some noise.

Mileage: Too early to comment, being light footed, I guess I am averaging close 16+ on a city/highway mixed conditions so far, it is still too early to say anything as I am still below 200 kms in the ODO.

The seating is really comfortable, its a leather wrapped fabric seat, the driver seat is almost similar to honda city (from my test drive experience). The rear seat seem to have improved a bit, the early Oct model had really poor under-thigh support, mine feels somewhat better.

The ride quality is fantastic, there is hardly any shock transferred into the cabin and so is the external noise levels. Maruti has done its home work on NVH levels really well this time.

The Music system seems really good. I still haven't connected my phone to blutooth setup. Its been a couple of hectic days since delivery of the vehicle. looking forward to doing it tomorrow.

In conclusion, I am super happy with the car, its a fantastic value for money package, indeed a large spacious sedan, yet highly fuel efficient.
It seem to attract lot of attention on the road - lot of head turns and second looks by passerby vehicles. I shall come back with pictures and more updates.

By the way, the dealer was kind enough to provide a set of cabin mats (transparent type) and boot mats free of cost.
As part of accessories, I wanted the shoulder chrome strips & rear chrome strip, since the rear is not yet available from MGA, I deferred both for now.
Before delivery, I ordered the underbody anti-rust coating for a fee of Rs. 3500. This is a one time fee and the coat will be done once year for next 5 years.

Forgot to mention, the dealer also voluntarily provided a corporate discount of Rs.2000 without me asking. I was pleasantly surprised by this.

To answer due's questions
=> I got mats as a freebie.
=> The wheels can definitely be upgraded, MGA has 16" alloys - not sure if the design is same as the current. Instead why don't you consider ZXI (Optional) model which comes with all features of zxi + full leather upholstery & 16" alloys. The price difference is very minimal just about 25k difference.
Hope this helps.

Thread Starter #90
By the way, the dealer was kind enough to provide a set of cabin mats (transparent type) and boot mats free of cost.
As part of accessories, I wanted the shoulder chrome strips & rear chrome strip, since the rear is not yet available from MGA, I deferred both for now.
Before delivery, I ordered the underbody anti-rust coating for a fee of Rs. 3500. This is a one time fee and the coat will be done once year for next 5 years.
@silverciaz : Many Many Congratulations for the automatic silver beauty. I am glad you are enjoying the ride. Wishing you miles ahead. Please post pictures. I too wanted silver color but settled with white.

Regarding free accessories from dealer, I got none. Infact not even a perfume. I am too looking for rear chrome strip between tail lamps. But its not MGA. I enquired regarding chrome strip on Palm Beach Road at Vashi (many car accessories shop), they said that they would get soon. Shall update if i get one.

Thanks & Happy Motoring.