Maruti Suzuki Ertiga ZDi Bought: Ownership Review

hey at TAI ,the welcome message is mine :). Thank You Vibhor

From Your Heart

Just because of TAI, buying experience of Maruti Ertiga was so smooth. When we bought Chevrolet Spark in 2011, we didn't even had knowledge about VIN, PDI, manufacturing date etc. Just had knowledge about color, CC, BHP, Price and average. Now many of my colleagues get advice from me and I smartly check it at TAI. - Ertiga-ZMR

hi Hari.
i am from Hyderabad too. How was the service dond by Autofin? i got my 1st service done there last week, nothign much happens in your first service so dint really bother

My friend says that Varun motors service is the best in the city and planning to get my second service done there.
Hi Archit
Not much to complain about Autofin at Bowenpally. Since it is on my way to the office I opted this MSS. Both the 1st and 2nd service were done at this MSS. On having first service I noticed significant improvement in the noise level reduction in the cabin which might be due to opting for the under body coating. There was 0 billing during second service. The shop floor guys were very attentive and there is no much rush at the service bay.

Calling all the Ertiga Diesel owners.

I am interested in buying Vdi and would like to know the maintenance costs. Is it true that Maruti has made Synthetic oils mandatory ? If yes what is the oil change interval ? If it is 15K then it suits my needs perfectly as i can plan to give the car for service twice a year and changing oil only once.

Also what is the general service costs(Better to hear from people who have run more than 10K), I drive a petrol swift and very comfortable with Maruti service. but if the newer maruti cars are expensive to maintain, i dont see any point in continuing with Maruti :(

I need a spacious diesel which is good for city as well as occasional long drives with 5 seats and good boot space. 2 extra seats are a bonus for growing family needs.

I am also looking at Honda Amaze for its great mileage and its 2-2.5 lakhs cheaper than the Ertiga too.

I cannot comment on the rest of the things, since my LXi has not yet crossed 2000kms.Yes the grade of oils specified a re synthetic.
Even though it says 15000, I will change it every 8000kms/1 year because I have done the same on my 15yr old M800(5000 km oil changes/year).Ask any auto enthusiast or engine specialist, they will all recommend an oil change at 5000kms.

Your comparison of an Ertiga and the Honda Amaze is quite unfair.They are in different categories all together.

As for the service costs, I will leave it to someone who has crossed the necessary KMS to qualify for paid service.

I cannot comment on the rest of the things, since my LXi has not yet crossed 2000kms.Yes the grade of oils specified a re synthetic.
Even though it says 15000, I will change it every 8000kms/1 year because I have done the same on my 15yr old M800(5000 km oil changes/year).Ask any auto enthusiast or engine specialist, they will all recommend an oil change at 5000kms.

Your comparison of an Ertiga and the Honda Amaze is quite unfair.They are in different categories all together.

As for the service costs, I will leave it to someone who has crossed the necessary KMS to qualify for paid service.
I agree about the comparision part, but I am looking for spacious five seater with good boot space returning good FE. this is where they got linked. Plus amaze is cheaper too.

I want to go with a car that is on lower maintenance. I know maruti very well and my swift averages 5-6000 rs per year on service only. But with this synthetic oil requirement, service costs have shot up and that is where i have this concern.

Oil recommended for Diesel is Synthetic and interval is Still 10,000 kms, as per a circular from maruti.
In Popular, Trivandrum, they used Mobil 1 Synthetic oil and cost of oil alone is more than Rs. 3000. And my 3rd service at 10,000 cost was around 4500 including cabin air filter. [frustration]

Calling all the Ertiga Diesel owners.

I am interested in buying Vdi and would like to know the maintenance costs. Is it true that Maruti has made Synthetic oils mandatory ? If yes what is the oil change interval ? If it is 15K then it suits my needs perfectly as i can plan to give the car for service twice a year and changing oil only once.
o.

Oil recommended for Diesel is Synthetic and interval is Still 10,000 kms, as per a circular from maruti.
In Popular, Trivandrum, they used Mobil 1 Synthetic oil and cost of oil alone is more than Rs. 3000. And my 3rd service at 10,000 cost was around 4500 including cabin air filter. [frustration]
Thanks for the info. How is the vehicle behaving after 3rd service ? How is the pickup and mileage you are getting ?

With Synthetic oil, service charges are bound to go up. Now with free services over, i think you can add another 1500 for general service charges which means around 5500 per service.

Guys !!

Need your help. I have clocked 2100kms and have not been speeding over 60km/hr for the last 600kms . Inspite of this I only get an a average of 13 on a full tank in the city. Spoke to another frend who also owns an Ertiga VDI and he gets an average of 18 on every full tank in the city. He has also clocked around 1500 kms so far :( . Not really sure where am i missing out on the mileage.

Guys !!

Need your help. I have clocked 2100kms and have not been speeding over 60km/hr for the last 600kms . Inspite of this I only get an a average of 13 on a full tank in the city. Spoke to another frend who also owns an Ertiga VDI and he gets an average of 18 on every full tank in the city. He has also clocked around 1500 kms so far :( . Not really sure where am i missing out on the mileage.
The speed limit is to be maintained in the first 1000kms and not after that.

Go for a drive with your friend and notice how he drives under similar conditions.Maybe you use the clutch a lot.

hai all

im new here but reading these ertiga threads for quite some time
i own a firebrick red ertiga vdi and had done quite some modifications
hope you all like it

what do you think guys ???

2013-03-30-017.jpg

ertiga red modded.jpg