Hyundai Grand i10 Asta Ownership Review

Re: My Hyundai Grand i10 Asta (O) Petrol Ownership Review

my grand has clocked 5300 km. i was thinking how much i would have spend for those kilometers, recalled my memory and collected some of the bills, finally i calculated the amount and liters of consumption, grand consumed 313.21ltr of petrol and returned 17kmpl and cost of this journey is rs.23642/-
H-H petrol vs deisel
Mine is averaged at 19.95kmpl and i spend close to 15953 for 5300kms (3.01 per km as shown by fuel app) thats close to 7500 only[roll]

Interesting
So far I have driven close to 4700 kms (bought 31st Dec 13), spent Rs 28,266.72 on Petrol, 357.42 litre, lifetime average fuel consumption 15.12kmpl (Best: 17; worst 13), Rs 5.42/km.
Company pays Rs 10.61/km [clap][clap]

Thread Starter #1,173

Guys have you been keeping records of the petrol and average FE per tankful?
I clocked 10K+ Kms considering average FE of 15, I have already spent 50,000 Rs on petrol in a year[cry].

By the way here is the invoice of my second servicing, sorry for the delay.

I suspect your new car battery really required battery water top up that too 1 ltr and charge for it. Though it is just matter of Rs.12, It really feels like day light robbery.

Got delivery of my Grand i10 Asta(o) last week. It's fun to drive in city :) I am looking for Car cleaning tips and car wax and dash board cleaners. Anyone using something?
the more you run it in city, you will feel the car is totally made for city. Awesome to run in 2nd gear in total jam packed road [clap]

Got delivery of my Grand i10 Asta(o) last week. It's fun to drive in city :) I am looking for Car cleaning tips and car wax and dash board cleaners. Anyone using something?
the more you run it in city, you will feel the car is totally made for city. Awesome to run in 2nd gear in total jam packed road, one will not get too much stressed. [clap]

Guys have you been keeping records of the petrol and average FE per tankful?
I clocked 10K+ Kms considering average FE of 15,
you are getting 15kmpl?

I suspect your new car battery really required battery water top up that too 1 ltr and charge for it. Though it is just matter of Rs.12, It really feels like day light robbery.
Nobody robs just Rs 12, it is just a vary small theft[lol]

Hmm strange after second service went for long drive and found mileage drop.
All long drives before second service returned minimum 21+kmpl but this time it was 18.45Kmpl.
a bit confused and not at all satisfied, some thing wrong with fuel filter(cheap filter) etc?

Hi Friends.
I m new to this forum. I m a newbie driver , in search of my first car.
I was in search of ownership review of grand i10 and found this thread very useful(but i didnt go through every page).

My budget was 5 to 5.5 lacs .

My town kumbakonam , tamilnadu has only maruti and toyota dealers.
for others like Hyundai I have to travel to Thanjavur Which is 40 kms away .

So my choice are Swift vxi or grand i10. But i like Grand.

Please Clarify my doubts.
1. My monthly travel will be around 600 to 800 kms .. is this my choice of petrol vehicle good or should i opt for diesel?

2.Which is a good buy ?magna(5.3 lac) with aftermarket music system and parking camera or sportz(5.7 lac)

3.Is Keyless entry (Smart key) in asta and sportz variants , a good feature?.. what happens if it fails..The sales guy told we can still open the car if smartkey failed,by means of a manual key which is inside smartkey..i have a doubt whether we ll able to start the car with the manual key.?

4.Is the battery drain problem still there? it is more important because my hyundai service is 40 kms away from my town.

5.Lastly Which color is good ? Wine red (my choice) or sleek silver(Mom's Choice)?

Kindly clarify my doubts. Thanks in advance.

Hi Friends.
I m new to this forum. I m a newbie driver , in search of my first car.
I was in search of ownership review of grand i10 and found this thread very useful(but i didnt go through every page).

My budget was 5 to 5.5 lacs .

My town kumbakonam , tamilnadu has only maruti and toyota dealers.
for others like Hyundai I have to travel to Thanjavur Which is 40 kms away .

So my choice are Swift vxi or grand i10. But i like Grand.

Please Clarify my doubts.
1. My monthly travel will be around 600 to 800 kms .. is this my choice of petrol vehicle good or should i opt for diesel?

2.Which is a good buy ?magna(5.3 lac) with aftermarket music system and parking camera or sportz(5.7 lac)

3.Is Keyless entry (Smart key) in asta and sportz variants , a good feature?.. what happens if it fails..The sales guy told we can still open the car if smartkey failed,by means of a manual key which is inside smartkey..i have a doubt whether we ll able to start the car with the manual key.?

4.Is the battery drain problem still there? it is more important because my hyundai service is 40 kms away from my town.

5.Lastly Which color is good ? Wine red (my choice) or sleek silver(Mom's Choice)?

Kindly clarify my doubts. Thanks in advance.
1. Petrol is the ideal option.
2. Sportz looks good, if you can stretch your budget a little bit, else go with Magna + Aftermarket ICE.
3. It works well, and even if it fails, you can use manual key. But still since I never used before, wait for someone who used it to comment.
4. It is rectified and make sure you are buying the latest batch cars.
5. Color - depends upon you!

Thread Starter #1,180

@ crswaminathan,
adding to what furious_driver has said the smartkey equipped car will only start (ignition)with smartkey. It is just possible to open the door by manual key thats All.

^^ Means, you cannot start the ignition with manual key? While TD the car, the SA showed that, upon showing the manual key to Start/Stop button, it ignites the car. So, can you please clarify on this? BTW I TD Xcent and not Grand. But I guess, both are same.

Thread Starter #1,182

^^ Means, you cannot start the ignition with manual key? While TD the car, the SA showed that, upon showing the manual key to Start/Stop button, it ignites the car. So, can you please clarify on this? BTW I TD Xcent and not Grand. But I guess, both are same.
Its not like that.
The manual also describes this and what he intended was if the batterys of smart key is completely dischared it wont work remotely. So you have to push the Start stop button with the smart key.

Hyundai has something called loyalty discount which will be available throughout year. Since month ago, no such discounts are there for Grand and now they have included. Same will happen for Xcent after a year.

clarify me regarding following doubts
1.Initially I opt for Magna(5.3 lacs) , Then by seeing features of Sportz (5.7 lacs) i am in a fix.
Should I go for Magna and install after market things like music system , parking camera or can I go for sportz?
Go for Sportz, installing a music system will void warranty of electrical system (or at least dealer will crib about it if something happens later). Also the factory music system is quite decent if you don't want too much and its goes well with the classy look of the interiors. You will have to anyway install rear view camera on sportz as well.
I guess Sports has other extra feature as well. check it out.

2.How good is the Smart key feature(keyless entry) in Sportz and asta variants? The sales guy is telling that If the smart key fails to open , U can use the back up key placed inside smartkey to open the door.But we wont able to start the vehicle. Is it so ?
Smart key feature is awesome but nothing you can't live without(if you are on a tight budget it can be ignored). Having said that once you get used to it, you really love it.
Yes if smart key fails you wont be able to start the car. I don't think it will happen anyway.

Please check if there is a difference between Sportz and Asta (o) smart key features.

3.Which color will be better Wine red(My choice) or Sleek Silver(mom's choice)?
It's totally your choice. I like wine red more.

4.Is the battery drain problem solved? (I m asking this because in Case if there is any problem,i have to travel 40kms from my home town,kumbakonam to Hyundai service station at Thanjavur, as the only car dealer in my town is Maruti)
Yes it is solved. Don't worry about it. However you have 24*7 roadside assistance from Hyundai. Check with the dealer if Hyundai will provide the assistance to your location as well.

5.My monthly travel is about 600 to 800 km .Occasional 2 or 3 family trips not more than 150kms .Which will be better petrol or diesel?
I would say Petrol.