Honda Brings Mobilio To Take on Maruti Suzuki Ertiga (Details From Pg.18)

Honda could have done some interior tweaks for this pricing, nevertheless, they need to work on their build quality and safety concerns, which people loved, paid premium price for and was their plus point before switching to mass production. Wake up, Honda India!

I test drove the Mobilio as a potential MUV choice before moving to the XUV and finally settling on the Duster (pun intended).
1) I had no need for the 3rd row.
2) While the suspension was firm at low speeds, at high speeds, I felt the car had a long wave bounce, especially at the rear, and my parents certainly felt extremely uncomfortable ,especially with the middle row reclined a bit. Reminded them of the Dzire I had earlier. I hear that the Creta also has a similar problem.
Quoting T-bhp review "Take the highway behaviour as an example. The Creta keeps its occupants comfortable for the most part & it has sorted highway ride quality. However, we crossed a road undulation at 100 kph and the Creta was bouncing around for 2 - 3 seconds...even after we'd left that undulation behind. Yes, it has that long wave bounce on uneven roads taken at high speed"

3) There was a jarring sound as the car went over potholes. Not because of the suspension but the entire frame seemed to flex a bit. I would attribute it to the lower build quality and the basic platform (Brio/Amaze).

The Duster, of course, is a different beast in all these aspects.

Experts please tell me is AC covered under Honda Warranty or come under insurance. Because the person at Honda service told me that AC is not covered under Honda Warranty or full Insurance. Please help me out.

Which part is affected ? Toyota and ford gives proper warranty if any of the ac's part gets a problem like cooling coil / evap coil. So i guess honda should too. Wait for honda owners to reply.

As per my adviser, AC is covered under warranty. The best way is to talk to the manager of the person who confused you and get it clarified. Still there is an issue? Write an email to honda customer complaints

On the design and styling I found Ertiga much better than the Mobilio where the latter felt flimsy and of typical Hondaness (read light body). On a funny note, Mobilio looks so puny when stood aside my Enjoy.[lol]

@acechip, jarring sound over potholes, at what speed? & with how many passengers?

Do you feel that the Ertiga, Innova are free of long wave bouncing over /after the undulations?

@mobilio owners, in case of long drives say 4 to 6 to 8 hrs in a day how is the driver's seating comfort? eg underthigh support, back support, shoulder support?

Is there any after market way of bolstering or reinforcing the seats so as to improve comfort?

@acechip, jarring sound over potholes, at what speed? & with how many passengers?

Do you feel that the Ertiga, Innova are free of long wave bouncing over /after the undulations?

@mobilio owners, in case of long drives say 4 to 6 to 8 hrs in a day how is the driver's seating comfort? eg underthigh support, back support, shoulder support?

Is there any after market way of bolstering or reinforcing the seats so as to improve comfort?
No, I dont believe Ertiga/Innova may be free of long wave bounce. Although I have travelled in Innova quite often, but found it structurally far more solid and therefore more planted. If course, it is far heavier and larger than the Mobilio anyway. The Mobilio undulations are at medium speeds, 70-80 kph with 4 pax. The problem with Mobilio is its base body design. How much can you stretch a Brio platform anyway ? Mobilio exposes those limits. As opposed to that, a Logan platform which is squat, long can produce a dynamically sound vehicle like Duster, inspite of higher GC. Or the Lodgy, for that matter. Same with Swift/ Ritz/Ertiga.

Mobilio loses its shine while Ertiga shows its numbers in October sales figures.

Ertiga sells 5832 while Mobilio manages 770 units!

I think it is clear that people do not want to associate the Brio platform with anything thats priced over 10 lakhs. Honda are in the danger of repeating this with the BR-V They may have masked its front look with a Jazz like grill, but the side is unmistakeably Mobilio-albeit on high heels. I dont know what will be the proposition of the BRV vs Mobilio, except for higher GC of 200mm. Mobilio is already 185mm/189mm depending on petrol/diesel variants. Why would anyone buy a 15 lac Rs BR-V over an 11 lac Mobilio for the same interior dimensions ? Just for 15mm higher GC ? If BRV is priced at 10-13 lac, the same question would be against the Mobilio. Either way, they are going to cannibalize each other.

Mobilio sales crashes to a new low. Market gives a fitting reply to the over priced Mobilio.

View attachment 181118

Source: Motorbash
IMO, all japanese cars are overpriced (read Honda, Toyota, Nissan).. and cant improve market share if they dont realize & correct. I am at least convinced with premium charged by German carmakers since their cars are much more solid like tanks.

Mobilio - is clear victim of overpricing. Hope they realize and mark down prices by around 1.5lakhs or so (like they did for previous generation City). Other alternative is to replace Mobilio with BRV, which looks much better from the front although side profile is very similar.

Other alternative is to replace Mobilio with BRV, which looks much better from the front although side profile is very similar.
And price it similar as the Mobilio and not beyond that. But I think Honda will not do that, they'll keep the Mobilio until the next ten is developed and provide BRV as an SUV with premium pricing due to higher equipment list, new interiors, SUV stance etc.

If they price it above 12 lakh like say in XUV range, then Bye Bye BRV, this is Dead on Arrival. And my 6th sense says that Honda will follow this policy.

My 5 month old Mobilio RS already has problems.
Tyre pressure in one wheel always goes down. No obvious puncture.
Driver footmat is coming to pieces.
Rear single seat is not flipping forwards smoothly.
Hopefully will be sorted out in the next service.
wildsdi5530 is online now Report Post