Beige Hound: Volkswagen Vento TDi Ownership Review

Thread Starter #467
Mefeels, rather than posting pics of odo, if you post pic of the TWI of the tyres it would be helpful to other members.
My curiosity has got piqued knowing the tread left after such a huge mileage.

Good to know, I will definitely react there.
BTW, here is mine.
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...oda-rapid-elegance-plus-ownership-review.html
Bharath Sir-Will post the pics of the tyres as soon as she comes from ASC as we didn't pay the bill of ₹40K as our funds are in tight position.

Instead of spending ₹40,000 on a service,told my dad that sell off the Vento due to high maintenance and in future,it will be a burden for us to spend the maintenance and sell the car as it has low resale.We might decide replacing her soon as soon as our Innova comes from ASC,as it met with an accident recently.

40k for a service? [frustration] Hearing such high bills for the first time. If you don't mind, please attach a copy of the bill. Please report on the sound issue soon. We have never faced even a single issue in our Vento, though *touchwood!* How was the service experience?

Best regards
Harikrishnan

Thread Starter #469

40k for a service? [frustration] Hearing such high bills for the first time. If you don't mind, please attach a copy of the bill. Please report on the sound issue soon. We have never faced even a single issue in our Vento, though *touchwood!* How was the service experience?

Best regards?
Harikrishnan
Sorry for the late reply Harikrishnan.Please see my previous pages regarding maintenance of Vento as I couldn't post those right now.But,service experience till now was nearly good in Hyderabad.But,still we didn't get the car as we have to pay a hefty bill of ₹40k,which is really frustrating for us to pay that hefty bill and lack of funds is making us not to take the car as we are in a tight situation right now.It was my dad's mistake to give the car for servicing when we are in a tight situation.So,suggested my dad to sell off the car to cut the losses.But,he is not listening coz if we sell this car right now,we get only ₹4.5-5L and he is worrying which car we will buy in that money and I said use this money as the downpayment for new car and tried to made him understand but still he is not in a situation to listen to my words.

Every service center give estimate before start working. They also take sign on that estimate. If the bill is over estimated value then you do not need to pay that extra bill. If service center disnt gave estimation of the service cost then it is totally illegal. Please check estimate and see if they have taken your sign or not.

Thread Starter #471
Got the car from servicing a week ago and already did more than 1100 Kms in a week and bill was ₹36000.Now,the screeching sound has gone and it is smooth as ever.

Present odo is 1,05,700 Kms and nearing to 1,06,000 Kms by this week as the running would be more since our Innova had met with an accident a month ago and still waiting for it,thanks to stupid insurance guy and dad,who is delaying.

I feel FE has got reduced a bit coz it has run more than 1,00,000 Kms.I always feel this car gets less than 18 Kmpl,which it used to give before and it gives 14-16 Kmpl on highway.What is the solution to increase the FE of the car?I think EGR cleaning would solve the issue.

Got the car from servicing a week ago and already did more than 1100 Kms in a week and bill was ₹36000.Now,the screeching sound has gone and it is smooth as ever.

Present odo is 1,05,700 Kms and nearing to 1,06,000 Kms by this week as the running would be more since our Innova had met with an accident a month ago and still waiting for it,thanks to stupid insurance guy and dad,who is delaying.

I feel FE has got reduced a bit coz it has run more than 1,00,000 Kms.I always feel this car gets less than 18 Kmpl,which it used to give before and it gives 14-16 Kmpl on highway.What is the solution to increase the FE of the car?I think EGR cleaning would solve the issue.
Your car is just serviced. Wait for some km then may be fuel efficiency will come to normal. Most of time km done by car dosent have any connection with milage if you have done serviced car on time. Try tank full to tank full method for milage. I have fiesta which have done 1.6 lakh km still she return 23 kmpl on highways.
If your maf sensor is filled with dust then it may cause dropin fuel efficiency. You can eclean it in home or any mechanic can clean it. It is located inbetween turobochatger and air filter.

Thread Starter #473
Your car is just serviced. Wait for some km then may be fuel efficiency will come to normal. Most of time km done by car dosent have any connection with milage if you have done serviced car on time. Try tank full to tank full method for milage. I have fiesta which have done 1.6 lakh km still she return 23 kmpl on highways.
If your maf sensor is filled with dust then it may cause dropin fuel efficiency. You can eclean it in home or any mechanic can clean it. It is located inbetween turobochatger and air filter.
Is cleaning EGR recommended for increase in fuel efficiency?

And,didn't check the tyre pressure since long time.This is the reason I'm getting less FE I think so and it needs tyre replacement as it has run over 60K Kms in 2.5 years on second set of tyres.

Is cleaning EGR recommended for increase in fuel efficiency?

And,didn't check the tyre pressure since long time.This is the reason I'm getting less FE I think so and it needs tyre replacement as it has run over 60K Kms in 2.5 years on second set of tyres.
It depends on the condition. Your car is well maintained. I dont think it will need egr cleaning. If there is problem with egr then you need to clean it.

Thread Starter #475
Present odo is 1,07,000 Kms and still running with no issues.Tyres are nearing to the end of their life as they have run 64000 Kms in 2.5 years.

Post the pic man, My curiosity has really got piqued. Recently I got PST for one of my car and amused to Know that your PST tyres have lasted so long.

Also post the pic of the servicing bill.

Thread Starter #477
Present odo-1,07,774 Kms as of today and will be completing 1.08L Kms by this week.Maybe,by few thousands of kms,we might replace our Vento with new one as she is getting old.

I feel Vento is the only car which we retained for more than 3 years i.e 3.9 years.Till now,we had kept our older 1987 Maruti 800 for 13 years(1998-2011)as a second car till we disposed it due to re-registration problems.Even our previous Swift,which we had till 2013,didn't stay for more than 3 years.But,Vento is the most loved car in our family after Innova.

Thread Starter #479
Was planning to get another Vento,but this time a DSG one.So,called VW for exchange today and the people came and to my surprise,they had quoted just ₹3L on old car.I had expected till ₹4-4.5L but being an accident car(the car met with an accident 2 times),he had quoted just ₹3L and engine life of the car is in last stages.What should we do now?Either sell or get clutch and engine repaired?The quote for engine repair is ₹3L whereas for clutch,it is ₹1L.And,even VW guys are telling us to sell this car coz you will not even get good price if you want to sell it in 2017.

Thread Starter #480
Now,the present odo reading is 1,11,400 Kms.Did a 400 Kms trip on Friday evening and came back yesterday morning.But,somehow,I feel FE has got reduced in city due to frequent gear changes.So,my dad is looking to go for an AT car this time.

Did around 98,000 Kms in almost 4 years of usage.This is the highest running we had done till now.Second is my brother's Swift,which has run more than 83,000 Kms in 5.5 years and our previous Swift,which had run about 80,000 Kms and sold it off within 3 years of usage.I think its the time to change our Vento with new one as everyone are suggesting to sell the Vento due to heavy maintenance and mostly,it has run more.While my dad's friends had bought Cretas within a year,dad is the only one who is struggling and refusing to change the Vento with Creta but dad found Creta overpriced.Hope,we will sell our Vento with a Creta and trying my level best to convince my dad to sell Vento and buy a Creta.Will try to sell her in outside market for Rs.4-4.5L through online portal websites.But,there is no option in waiting for few days cos my dad is waiting for our Innova,which had met with an accident in September 2016 and yet to get the car although the repair work is complete but couldn't get the car because we have to pay the extra bill of Rs.98,273 and get the Innova.But,due to lack of funds(thanks to stupid demonitisation by our Modi Ji),we couldn't get our Innova from repair.Hope,we will get our Innova this week from repair and Vento will get sold by this month-end or next month.