Maruti 800: Technical Issues & Solutions

Re: Maruti 800: Technical Issues and Solutions

I got my engine gasket changed recently. At an FNG, it costed me Rs 3800. It includes:
1. Engine head gasket
2. Timing belt
3. 3 l Engine oil (Castrol mineral oil)
4. Engine oil filter
5. Fuel gauge float assembly.
6. One elbow near engine head along with a pipe and clips
7. Coolant
8. Labour charges.

Additionally I bought a pair of drive shafts (axles) separately and got them fitted free of cost.[:D]

What a cheap repair ! Had I drove into a MASS, it would have dug a hole into my tight pockets.[lol]

So, with the additional money saved, I got new seat covers.

Normally we have to spend negligible amount during the 1st 3 years of buying a new car. Later on the maintenance costs goes on increasing every year, especially after 8- 10 yrs, though we try our best to maintain our car.
It is better to get the services done at FNG, because we can witness what is going on and accordingly take on the spot decision to replace the parts. I too changed the Timing Belt in March 2017 while doing the Engine Oil flush, replacing Spark Plus, CP, fan Belt etc and just observed a small crack on the Timing Belt ( though the odo was only about 53800 km) and replaced the same with MGP - JK which costed me Rs 830 plus Rs 400 for additional labour for checking the Engine cover to see the condition of cylinder and gasket. everything was fine and I insisted to change the Timing Belt so as to avoid future damage.

The amount you spent was reasonable, had it been some MASS, they could have charged not less than Rs 6500. What is the break up of Rs 3800 ?

I think key of getting original parts for cheap rate is getting the OEM parts from outside. I got GKN driveshafts for Rs. 2400 each. While the same parts inside an MGP packing comes at Rs 3200 each with same one year warranty.

Shock Absorbers Replacement on 5th June 2017 at MASS – Mandovi at 54,307 km for my M- 800 DX Car ( 1998 make) the 2nd time for Shock Replacement after 10 years. The stock shocks lasted for 9 years.
In May 2007, I did observe Bumping at Rear of my car and took my car to MASS – Tauras at that time ( at 38,400 kms) . They changed both the Shock Absorbers – Gabriel make and also with some minor servicing, tuning etc the Bill came to Rs 1400.

After 10 years at 54300 km, I did feel the same experience of Bumping on Friday 2nd June and took my car to FNG. On a short drive, he said the left Shook has gone but better to change both and would cost about Rs 1200 – 1300 for both plus Rs 300 labour cost. I asked him, whether it is Gabriel or MGP, he said both are not available and he would get the best available from the dealer. Suspecting his answer, I did go to MGP Dealer who said MGP Shock is available at Rs 820 per piece and said it is not Gabriel but MGP. I did go to 2-3 dealer and I could judge that they sell Fake Gabriel costing Rs 700.

On Monday 5th June I took the car to MASS – MANDOVI and they said MGP costs Rs 820 each ( make by MSIL, India) including Tax plus labour Rs 345 including Tax, the total was Rs 1985 and they Replaced both within ½ hour on taking the car to the Ramp. Since the young expert Mr Shashi of TAI had suggested me few days back to check the Bush for Trialing arm, Coil springs seat and stoppers, I did check up the same this time by standing there and they are all fine. The Friendly supervisor at MASS did check the drive shaft boots and they were fine, he also did check Idling RPM, fixed some Bolts which were missing at Fender lining, changed the Coolant Reservoir cap’s Rubbery thing, and did tuning too, all free of cost.

Why I narrated the above is, one has to be careful while buying parts from other dealers, who are not MGP Dealers or not MASS. Fake Gabriel shocks are available in the market. One has to be careful while buying critical components from other than MGP dealers or get it Replaced at MASS.

Attaching photos of old shocks and also the new boxes.

Appreciate other members tell how long their shocks lasted !!!!!

New Shocks.jpg

Old Shocks.jpg

Changed the Coolant on 6th June 2017 ( at 54315 kms after a span of 4 years) at some other small one man FNG. I took 10 litres of Distilled water ( Rs 100 with 2 cans of 5 litres each) and 1 litre of MGP Coolant costing Rs 285. Since MASS said there was no need to Flush or change the coolant, I did not opt for any Radiator Flush Liquid.

After Draining out the old coolant and checking there was no sludge or any dirt etc, he said there is no need to clean it with distilled water but I insisted to have at least one flush and kept the car idle for 10 minutes. Even the reservoir can was very clean without any mud or dirt. The drained water after 10 minutes idle run was clean. Being an experienced mechanic, he said 1 litre of coolant is not sufficient but need another ¼ litres as now a days, MGP Coolant is not that thick. So I bought one more coolant from him and brought back the left over ¾ litre coolant with me to use it for top up etc in future. He charged Rs 100 only as Labour. So the total cost for replacement of Coolant is Rs 570 for 2 litres of Coolant, Rs 100 for distilled water and Rs 100 as labour , Total is Rs 770.

Shock Absorbers Replacement on 5th June 2017 at MASS – Mandovi at 54,307 km for my M- 800 DX Car ( 1998 make) the 2nd time for Shock Replacement after 10 years. The stock shocks lasted for 9 years.
My original rear shocks lasted for 15.5 years/2.7 lac kms before I changed them in September 2015.

BTW this part which they have given you is of the 5 Speed 800. Not a bad thing, but just let you know. This will feel a bit stiffer, and hence better at speeds.For 4 speed 800s, part no is 41800m82A20 and costs around 770 rupees.

This is good news that I got better shocks by paying Rs 50 extra each. But the question is how come both stock shocks and later Gabriel shocks lasted for 9/10 yrs only, that too I am a careful driver and never abused my car at any bumps or on bad roads.

Dear Shashi, The 2nd question is in spite of doing all sorts of servicing from March 2017 and till now, such as Engine Oil Flushing, Replacing Spark plugs, CP, Fan Belt, timing Belt, Brake cylinder, servicing of Brakes, checking up most of the critical components, tuning etc, the mileage has not increased beyond 10 km without AC for city running ( it used to be 14-15 earlier and 19-20 on Highways).

Though I thought of getting carburetor overhaul, MASS - Mandovi says they always discourage old cars owners not to go for this as some parts of carburetors are not available and the only option is to forget the Mileage issue or to Replace it with new Carburetor. Though that Sakhti Auto guy says he can overhaul the Carburetor, I have lost faith in him with his false answer on shock Absorber issue because while doing the Engine flush etc he said he was confident about restoring the Mileage from 10 to 14-15 and it never happened though the total mileage is now about 450 kms after the Engine oil flush out and other parts replacements. So I have decided not to go for Carburetor overhaul and land in any other new problem if the parts are not available with any MGP dealers.

Dear Shashi, I wanted one information from you as regards Zorrikk 88 and sought some clarification on this issue under the thread - Antirust undercoating, but not got any reply from you ( may be sumitsinha is also busy with his exams) and I thought something is wrong or you are busy with some task. The products Engine compartment cleaner, 3M Shampoo wash etc from Amazon will be arriving here within a day or 2 and I shall be doing the Engine bay cleaning here but bit worried about the water pressure at my car parking area or to go to some wtaer service station.

oops, it is not Antirust undercoating thread, but the thread " washing your engine bay - step by step guide by sumitsinha"

Though I thought of getting carburetor overhaul, MASS - Mandovi says they always discourage old cars owners not to go for this as some parts of carburetors are not available and the only option is to forget the Mileage issue or to Replace it with new Carburetor. Though that Sakhti Auto guy says he can overhaul the Carburetor, I have lost faith in him with his false answer on shock Absorber issue because while doing the Engine flush etc he said he was confident about restoring the Mileage from 10 to 14-15 and it never happened though the total mileage is now about 450 kms after the Engine oil flush out and other parts replacements. So I have decided not to go for Carburetor overhaul and land in any other new problem if the parts are not available with any MGP dealers.
Sir,
I also own a carburetted M800. Although i have a new carb now,but i got the earlier one overhauled recently,so i can tell you about this.
There is no such part,apart from new gaskets,required to do the job. the gaskets are readily available in all the MASSes but in case you have any difficulty,kindly let me know.I can give you the required part numbers and you can order it from your local MGP dealer.

One more reason that i can think of that the MASS hesitated in going for the OH was the lack of experienced mechanics who can dismantle the carb properly and fit it all back again. with all the newer cars being fuel injected,mechanics who can handle carbs is decreasing.
I am very lucky in this matter,as the MASS i visit has enough experianced mechanics to handle a carb properly.

Thanks for your the information dear Aditya.

First of all, let me congratulate you for restoring your dad's M - 800 car and making it as new one by spending so much time by your enthusiasm. You all youngsters in Ranchi ( Shashi, Sumitsinha and you) have set example for others how to maintain the great car M- 800. By reading your stories. many get inspired to maintain their M- 800 cars. I have read one such example Harsha from Anand, Gujarat.

I am a old man, tried my best to maintain my M- 800 for the past 19 yrs. you can find my few interactions with Shashi and Sumitsinha under threads - Technica Issues, Antirust underbody coating, Engine bay cleaning etc . It is not that easy sometimes to get honest and experienced mechanics to undertake the restoration/replacement / services. I struggled a lot for almost a month to get the Antirust underbody done as per my requirement.

You are right in saying, now a days MPFI engines have taken over Carb models and it is not that easy to find the experienced mechanics. That is why the MASS here was not ready to take up carb overhaul work. If you have the gasket numbers and any other parts of carb, please do share the numbers, so that I will 1st check up with MGP dealers about the availability of such parts, if not place order in advance and on their arrival only I will take up the carb overhaul work. As far as I know there are about 3-4 gaskets that are to be replaced. which are the other small components that are to be replaced once you open the carb ?

Thanks for your the information dear Aditya.

First of all, let me congratulate you for restoring your dad's M - 800 car and making it as new one by spending so much time by your enthusiasm. You all youngsters in Ranchi ( Shashi, Sumitsinha and you) have set example for others how to maintain the great car M- 800. By reading your stories. many get inspired to maintain their M- 800 cars. I have read one such example Harsha from Anand, Gujarat.

I am a old man, tried my best to maintain my M- 800 for the past 19 yrs. you can find my few interactions with Shashi and Sumitsinha under threads - Technica Issues, Antirust underbody coating, Engine bay cleaning etc . It is not that easy sometimes to get honest and experienced mechanics to undertake the restoration/replacement / services. I struggled a lot for almost a month to get the Antirust underbody done as per my requirement.

You are right in saying, now a days MPFI engines have taken over Carb models and it is not that easy to find the experienced mechanics. That is why the MASS here was not ready to take up carb overhaul work. If you have the gasket numbers and any other parts of carb, please do share the numbers, so that I will 1st check up with MGP dealers about the availability of such parts, if not place order in advance and on their arrival only I will take up the carb overhaul work. As far as I know there are about 3-4 gaskets that are to be replaced. which are the other small components that are to be replaced once you open the carb ?
Thank you Sir for your kind words.

Regarding the Carburettor, here are the required part numbers.

13125M84011 GASKET CARBURETOR
13250M84300 FCG GASKET KIT
13510M84300 KIT PUMP BODY GASKET
13361M84301 PACKING

IMO no other part is required in Carb OH. However for reference purposes,you can visit
DIY : Great way to use a Sunday Part I - Carb Cleaning of Maruti 800 - Team-BHP

Thank you Aditya for your reply message.
I just noted down the part nos and check up with MGP dealer about the availability of these parts.

Also did go through the link and scared to see so many tiny parts in the carb. It seems that Siralec seems to be some Genius person, knows how to play with fire on his free sundays.

Once I complete this Carb overhaul, I hope I will be able to get better mileage. Seems need a full day with some FNG.

Hi friends

My father is driving Maruti Alto800 2016 model car. It was purchased in Dec 2015. Now the car is out of warranty but till now it has driven only 5000 kms.

As it is already 1 year + from the last service, I have to get the service done. In the last service they had put synthetic oil but as the car is not driven much by my father, I am thinking to use mineral oil or semi synthetic oil. The shop keeper suggested me to use 20W50 seeing the Delhi temperature but the company manual is suggesting 5W30 synthetic oil. If I don't want to use fully synthetic oil, what are the other options available for me.

Please give your views on the same and which oil should be used. Please also suggest if I should get it serviced from authorized service station or known nearby good mechanic.

Lastly please also suggest me a good tracking system or GPS device which donot have monthly charges or very less monthly charges. Are these tracking devices or GPS systems more advanced and cheap in USA, if yes, I can get it from there too, if useful.

I had posted the question in forum, but no reply till now so putting here for a faster answer as I have to go back after the vacations. An early reply is solicited.

Replacing carburator is best. I have recently replace in my m-800 (2004) and I am getting mileage of 22-24 on highway with AC for 2 years I was getting 7-8 Kmpl . There was issue with venturies its hole got bigger n thats why it was not getting fit properly. Due to this I was getting smell of petrol too. But replacing carburator is expensive but worth spending.

Harsh, I may be wrong but as I know after 2000, Maruti started MPFI Engines and how come your 2004 Model still has Carburetor? Also 5 speed in place of 4 speed came into scene.

I was getting 15-16 km in the city and 19-20 km on highway with AC on for the 1st 3 years from 1998 - 2001. Later I used to get 14-15 and 19 respectively, but started coming down 12kmpl in the city without AC after 12 yrs of use. Since 3 yrs I am getting only 10 km without AC in the city and I seldom go out of city on Highways and never checked the Mileage on Highways.

In March 2017, I got the Engine Oil Flush done and Replaced many items such as Spark Plugs, CP, Belt, Timing Belt, Overhaul of Brake pads, Replacing many bushes and checking the Boots of drive shafts etc and expected to restore the mileage to 14-15 kmpl but never happened. (3 days back changed both the Rear Shock Absorbers.)

Since I am not getting more than 10 kmpl, I was thinking about getting the Carb overhauled, which may cost, may be not less than 1000- 1200 by changing all the gaskets, packing etc or any other parts.

What is the cost of new MGP carb ? your getting 22-24 kmpl on Highway with AC on for 2 yrs is really remarkable.

Harsh, I may be wrong but as I know after 2000, Maruti started MPFI Engines and how come your 2004 Model still has Carburetor? Also 5 speed in place of 4 speed came into scene.

I was getting 15-16 km in the city and 19-20 km on highway with AC on for the 1st 3 years from 1998 - 2001. Later I used to get 14-15 and 19 respectively, but started coming down 12kmpl in the city without AC after 12 yrs of use. Since 3 yrs I am getting only 10 km without AC in the city and I seldom go out of city on Highways and never checked the Mileage on Highways.

In March 2017, I got the Engine Oil Flush done and Replaced many items such as Spark Plugs, CP, Belt, Timing Belt, Overhaul of Brake pads, Replacing many bushes and checking the Boots of drive shafts etc and expected to restore the mileage to 14-15 kmpl but never happened. (3 days back changed both the Rear Shock Absorbers.)

Since I am not getting more than 10 kmpl, I was thinking about getting the Carb overhauled, which may cost, may be not less than 1000- 1200 by changing all the gaskets, packing etc or any other parts.

What is the cost of new MGP carb ? your getting 22-24 kmpl on Highway with AC on for 2 yrs is really remarkable.
Sir,

Mine is 2004 (Euro 1) model Maruti has sold carburator 800 till 2006 in non-metors , I belong to a small city in Gujarat. Sir, Millage depend on many things but mainly depend on carb. Overhaul at dealer workshop with jet,float pin valve, packing replacement costed me about 600 + taxes. but still there was no significant difference in millage. You will not believe i have tried almost everything to bring back the millage. Once my mechanic found that gap for ventures has been increased due to some reason and he applied taplon tape and installed the venturies surprisingly i got around 18 kmpl for a month than again started same issue.

Finally i wrote so many mail to MSIL and UCAL i found carb which costed me around 4800 for AC model (Non AC model is about 3800 ) from UCAL distributor in Ahmadabad. We installed it and since then more than 15000 km i have covered with liquimolly fully synthetic oil i am getting 22-24 kmpl. ( MY Dzire Zdi gives 21 [lol] ) Today i changed secondary air component valve (Part number : 18450-71G10 Price :1518 ) which is used for emission control basically EGR for petrol car , After the installation we tested car for 150km . Me and my mechanic has noted that fuel consumption has reduced again. I also recommend u to check alignment at any modern shop that will improve millage too. Carburator 800 has its own charm compare to Modern MPFI system, There is no doubt MPFI is better than but it is relatively expensive to maintain as well . As per my mechanic my carb was damaged may be due to mixed petrol. If you have plan to keep the car for longer run i suggest you to change the carb as it will improve overall driving experience too.

Let me know if you need any help regarding carb .

I have attached my car's pictures.

Harsh

+1

I would also recommend replacing the carb, rather than going for an overhaul.

Fact is 99% of the mechanics don't know a thing about carb, and hence its useless to get things overhauled by them. Overhaul is good only if mechanic is knowing what he is doing

Even Aditya Pandey, a resident expert on Carburettors [lol] had to replace his carb and go for a brand new one.

When you change the carb, donot touch any settings. No tuning.

Shashi