Prologue
From past couple of years my daily running was increased very much because of that I opted for CNG kit in my old Wagon-R 2008 model, vehicle was running quite fine until last month then it’s CNG kit started giving me lots of trouble got it repaired from few times but problem still persists some CNG experts suggested me to change the current BRC kit which I got installed through DD motors Mayapuri but i was in no mood to spend any further on this vehicle. Talked to my brother and he agreed to use this car for his daily commute so ground prepared for the new purchase of car and search started, obvious choice was diesel hatchback.
I considered these following diesel hatchback's initially:
1) Hyundai I-20
2) Maruti Ritz
3) Skoda Fabia
4) Volkswagen Polo
Added following diesel hatchback's in my list after suggestions and advice from lots of members on other forums on which i am active.
5) Ford Figo
6) Fiat Punto
Test drove all and finally selected Polo, my mind was saying Ritz and my heart was saying Polo in this infighting my heart wins again.
Why Polo?
Taking diesel hatchback's one by one from above list:
1) Hyundai I-20: already purchased I-10 last year and quite annoyed with their genetic steering problem but mind you this vehicle is fully loaded with features which is presently unmatchable in the market overall a good car to buy but insanely priced. Also rumors were going on for launch of new face lifted I-20 in next couple of months.
2) Maruti Ritz: Being owner of two Maruti cars you probably knows all pros and cons of them, only good thing with Maruti is that they are cheaper to purchase and maintain. I hate trademark rattling noises of Maruti but still they are VFM and top of it Ritz was available with proven Fiat’s 1.3 DDIS fuel efficient engine so it was strong contender till last.
3) Skoda Fabia: Excellent fit and finish great car to own but difficult to maintain due to poor ASS.
4) VW Polo: Loved the vehicle at first glance, taken test drive three times for more than half an hour each from different dealers, loved the vehicle so much and ended with buying it exceptional ride and handling. Unmatchable sharp looks with perfect build quality, feeling proud to own this tank.
5) Ford Figo: Again a very good vehicle with perfect engine but cost cutting is visible at every nook and corner, great vehicle to drive and you will get good VFM overall but still I am not happy with the overall build quality of this vehicle.
6) Fiat Punto: Liked the test ride of this vehicle, dealership experience was also terrific but fiat ASS is an area of concern for me. They are at present dependent on TATA also Punto’s monthly sales figures are also quite distressing for me they are on a average managed to sell 500 vehicles (Approx) per month only.
Polo Cost
Presently Polo comes with three variants Trendline, Comfortline and Highline which are basic, mid and top variant respectively. On road price of Polo diesel will be from 6.50 to 8.50 Lacs (figures are without any discount)
Kindly find below the initial quotation received from the dealer:
I paid total 7.15L (Amount after below mentioned discounts) for diesel comfortline with seat cover, mud flap, textile mat, upper and lower body coating. Got two types of discounts
1) Corporate discount of 16.8 K due to my wife’s platinum rated company
2) 7K discount on 0% depreciation insurance
Kindly find below few pics taken at the time of delivery and during Puja
Index
1) First Service 15000KM update
2) Second Service 29413KM update
3) Third Service 45730KM update
4) Fourth Service update 60875KM update
5) Fifth Service update 75291KM update
6) Sixth Service update 90854KM update
7) Seventh Service update 106100KM update
From past couple of years my daily running was increased very much because of that I opted for CNG kit in my old Wagon-R 2008 model, vehicle was running quite fine until last month then it’s CNG kit started giving me lots of trouble got it repaired from few times but problem still persists some CNG experts suggested me to change the current BRC kit which I got installed through DD motors Mayapuri but i was in no mood to spend any further on this vehicle. Talked to my brother and he agreed to use this car for his daily commute so ground prepared for the new purchase of car and search started, obvious choice was diesel hatchback.
I considered these following diesel hatchback's initially:
1) Hyundai I-20
2) Maruti Ritz
3) Skoda Fabia
4) Volkswagen Polo
Added following diesel hatchback's in my list after suggestions and advice from lots of members on other forums on which i am active.
5) Ford Figo
6) Fiat Punto
Test drove all and finally selected Polo, my mind was saying Ritz and my heart was saying Polo in this infighting my heart wins again.
Why Polo?
Taking diesel hatchback's one by one from above list:
1) Hyundai I-20: already purchased I-10 last year and quite annoyed with their genetic steering problem but mind you this vehicle is fully loaded with features which is presently unmatchable in the market overall a good car to buy but insanely priced. Also rumors were going on for launch of new face lifted I-20 in next couple of months.
2) Maruti Ritz: Being owner of two Maruti cars you probably knows all pros and cons of them, only good thing with Maruti is that they are cheaper to purchase and maintain. I hate trademark rattling noises of Maruti but still they are VFM and top of it Ritz was available with proven Fiat’s 1.3 DDIS fuel efficient engine so it was strong contender till last.
3) Skoda Fabia: Excellent fit and finish great car to own but difficult to maintain due to poor ASS.
4) VW Polo: Loved the vehicle at first glance, taken test drive three times for more than half an hour each from different dealers, loved the vehicle so much and ended with buying it exceptional ride and handling. Unmatchable sharp looks with perfect build quality, feeling proud to own this tank.
5) Ford Figo: Again a very good vehicle with perfect engine but cost cutting is visible at every nook and corner, great vehicle to drive and you will get good VFM overall but still I am not happy with the overall build quality of this vehicle.
6) Fiat Punto: Liked the test ride of this vehicle, dealership experience was also terrific but fiat ASS is an area of concern for me. They are at present dependent on TATA also Punto’s monthly sales figures are also quite distressing for me they are on a average managed to sell 500 vehicles (Approx) per month only.
Polo Cost
Presently Polo comes with three variants Trendline, Comfortline and Highline which are basic, mid and top variant respectively. On road price of Polo diesel will be from 6.50 to 8.50 Lacs (figures are without any discount)
Kindly find below the initial quotation received from the dealer:
I paid total 7.15L (Amount after below mentioned discounts) for diesel comfortline with seat cover, mud flap, textile mat, upper and lower body coating. Got two types of discounts
1) Corporate discount of 16.8 K due to my wife’s platinum rated company
2) 7K discount on 0% depreciation insurance
Kindly find below few pics taken at the time of delivery and during Puja
Index
1) First Service 15000KM update
2) Second Service 29413KM update
3) Third Service 45730KM update
4) Fourth Service update 60875KM update
5) Fifth Service update 75291KM update
6) Sixth Service update 90854KM update
7) Seventh Service update 106100KM update