My existing vehicle XUV 500 W8 AWD was approaching 4 years of age. Link to ownership report. http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-my-volcano-black-mahindra-xuv500-w8-awd.html
I generally keep my vehicle for 5 years but this time the itch to upgrade to an auto transmission was in the back of my mind from the last one year. Niggles apart I was totally satisfied with my XUV and the plan was to upgrade to a XUV W10 AWD AT in February - March 2016. I had been casually mentioning this to my wife but every time she would say no to the idea of buying another XUV. She wanted me to purchase a vehicle from a segment or two higher but I did not like any of the SUVs which were in the market like the Fortuner, Pajero Sport, Santa Fe, Rexton or Koleos.
The alternatives that were considered- None till the last minute. There was a 3 week delay from the promised time of delivery. During this period I got a call from BMW dealership and later checked out Audi. Both of them were offering 10 lakhs off on the OTR price for 2015 stock 3 series and A4. I almost purchased the 3GT luxury line but then common sense prevailed and I took back my booking amount cheque the next day.
Photo of the GT i had booked
When my wife rejected the XUV W10 I started searching for SUVs to be launched in India in the next few months and came across the Endeavor preview at Chiang Rai, Thailand in August 2015.. I was smitten by its butch looks, powerful engine with AT gearbox, 4x4 with terrain management system and long list of luxury features. Online search on YouTube showed several reviews of the Endeavor (named Everest abroad) in Australia which sealed the decision to go for it. Then the Chennai floods happened and the launch of the Endeavor was pushed to January 2016.
Booking & delivery experience-
Initial budget was 30 lakhs max 35 lakhs if the top end model was worth it. I had met the Operations head of Cauvery ford Mr Rajesh Shetty 2 years back (He is also in charge of Advaith Hyundai which has a common owner so 8 dealerships are under him).Instead of talking to some sales executive who would most likely have no clue on the launch and booking I spoke to Mr Rajesh Shetty. He was very straight forward and refused to take an unofficial booking till the vehicle is launched on 20th January 2016.
Three days before launch he calls me and gives me the list of allotted endeavors to the dealership for February 2016. There are four trends, one 2.2 titanium and one 3.2 titanium in Panther black. He wants me to select one from the list so that he can block it but by this time there are already reports that the top end would cross 40 lakhs on road so I refuse to commit on the vehicle. I tell him I will let him know on 20th January when the price is announced.
On 20th the prices are announced and wow fantastic pricing by Ford. I call him up and rush to the Dealership and put down a booking amount of 50k for the Panther black 3.2 titanium 4x4. I meet Mr Umesh Moolya who will be my sales manager. I return home with a smile on my face with a promise of delivery in the 3rd week of February. I confirm this from Ford customer care by email next day. These must be the longest 30 days of 2016 for me waiting for the delivery. Then came the reports of Ford having only limited stocks of 3.2 titanium kits and waiting period running into months for the 3.2 titanium. 3rd week of February approaches but no news of my Endeavor. I have by now started calling both Rajesh and Umesh almost daily but they have no news from the Chennai factory about 3.2 titanium dispatch. I now start calling Ford customer care every two days and sending them emails reminding them of their promise of delivery in 3rd week of February. This gets pushed to last week of February and then 1st week of March. Throughout all this Mr Rajesh Shetty and Mr Umesh Moolya were very helpful and supportive and also Mr Rajesh Shetty escalated this matter to the Higher level and finally on February 27th my vehicle gets billed from the factory.
Three days later on March 1st there is the budget announcement of increase in tax but I am not affected as my vehicle was billed before that. Vehicle reaches Dealership on 5th March Saturday and on Sunday and Monday the underbody coating and paint protection with door visors installation is done. Unable to register vehicle on 7th as it is a Government holiday so registration is done on 8th. I get the registration number on 8th morning before registration as I have paid 1.5k to a broker to get a number ending with 7 in the running series. On 8th noon 3.30 pm I get a call from the driver who has brought the vehicle to the RTO for registration. I rush to the RTO and find that people from other car dealerships who have come for registration eager to have a look at my Endeavor. The registration formality hardly takes 2 minutes and the driver offers me the keys to drive my Endeavor back to the dealership. I hand over my XUV keys to him and take over the Endeavor. All along the drive I could see people in cars and SUVs from higher segments slowing down and turning to have a look at the Endeavor. It looks massive on road and dwarfs the X1,Q3,GLA and even the Q5 and X3. At the dealership I reluctantly surrender the keys and drive back home in my XUV.
Delivery is fixed at 6:30 pm and Mr Umesh Moolya offers to send the dealership car to pick us up from my home. I inform my wife to wind up her clinic work by 6:15 pm and I go and purchase gifts for Mr Rajesh Shetty and Mr Umesh Moolya and return home. Dealership car is waiting for me at home driven by Mr Deepak my sales executive. Me and my son get into the car and go to my clinic where we pick up my wife and go to the Dealership for delivery. I first hand over the gifts I purchased to Mr Umesh Moolya and then I get all the receipts and documents and a box of chocolates. Delivery formality is done by Mr Umesh Moolya and Mr Deepak. Mr Deepak then tries to explain the features of the Vehicle but I already know much more than him and end up showing him the features. From the Dealership we went straight to the Sharavu Mahaganapathi Temple for the customary Pooja.
I would like to Thank Mr Rajesh Shetty and Mr Umesh Moolya for all the patience and help from them for making this purchase experience and delivery so smooth and pleasurable and also Ford for the pre budget billing. If not for that I would have to shell out almost 1.5 lakhs more. Also thanks to Deepak and Deepak my Sales executive and Accessories guy.
On-road price, discounts & Extended warranties -
Discounts Nil
Ex showroom price Rs 2869635/-
Road tax and registration and Rs 573355/-
Handling charges Rs 10,000/-
Insurance from dealership Rs 63064/- ( I had 50% NCB otherwise it was Rs 128896/-)
Extended warranties for 3rd year with 1 year RSA Rs 20600/-
Accessories and essential pack Rs 28800/-
Total On Road price Rs 3565454/-
Accessories from dealership- paint protection and under body coating, door visors, neck rests and pillow and carpet and boot mat.
DIY noodle mats from local mat shop similar to 3M Nomad mats at 1/3 the price.
Accessories I brought online-
Dashcam, Hard wire kit for Dashcam,
http://www.snapdeal.com/product/tran...dorCode=S3ee91
Dashcam Quick Installation KIT USB Plug MICRO2 Fuse Dash CAM Hardwiring KIT | eBay
HUD,
A8 CAR HUD Head UP Display Screen OBD2 Interface Plug Play KM H MPH Warning | eBay
Satnav
MapmyIndia Lx350 3D Navigator: Buy MapmyIndia Lx350 3D Navigator Online at Low Price in India on Snapdeal
At night the interior looks like a airplane cockpit with the 3 LCD screens of the vehicle and another 3 of the Dashcam, MMI Satnav and HUD along with the multiple back lit buttons and controls of the vehicle
Engine type- Diesel 3.2 Ltr, 200 PS, Torque of 470 Nm. Variant - Titanium 4x4, 6 speed AT with Terrain Management system, 4L and rear diff lock.
Pictures below (Please excuse the quality, taken with mobile phone camera auto settings) starting from the RTO office for registration.
I generally keep my vehicle for 5 years but this time the itch to upgrade to an auto transmission was in the back of my mind from the last one year. Niggles apart I was totally satisfied with my XUV and the plan was to upgrade to a XUV W10 AWD AT in February - March 2016. I had been casually mentioning this to my wife but every time she would say no to the idea of buying another XUV. She wanted me to purchase a vehicle from a segment or two higher but I did not like any of the SUVs which were in the market like the Fortuner, Pajero Sport, Santa Fe, Rexton or Koleos.
The alternatives that were considered- None till the last minute. There was a 3 week delay from the promised time of delivery. During this period I got a call from BMW dealership and later checked out Audi. Both of them were offering 10 lakhs off on the OTR price for 2015 stock 3 series and A4. I almost purchased the 3GT luxury line but then common sense prevailed and I took back my booking amount cheque the next day.
Photo of the GT i had booked
When my wife rejected the XUV W10 I started searching for SUVs to be launched in India in the next few months and came across the Endeavor preview at Chiang Rai, Thailand in August 2015.. I was smitten by its butch looks, powerful engine with AT gearbox, 4x4 with terrain management system and long list of luxury features. Online search on YouTube showed several reviews of the Endeavor (named Everest abroad) in Australia which sealed the decision to go for it. Then the Chennai floods happened and the launch of the Endeavor was pushed to January 2016.
Booking & delivery experience-
Initial budget was 30 lakhs max 35 lakhs if the top end model was worth it. I had met the Operations head of Cauvery ford Mr Rajesh Shetty 2 years back (He is also in charge of Advaith Hyundai which has a common owner so 8 dealerships are under him).Instead of talking to some sales executive who would most likely have no clue on the launch and booking I spoke to Mr Rajesh Shetty. He was very straight forward and refused to take an unofficial booking till the vehicle is launched on 20th January 2016.
Three days before launch he calls me and gives me the list of allotted endeavors to the dealership for February 2016. There are four trends, one 2.2 titanium and one 3.2 titanium in Panther black. He wants me to select one from the list so that he can block it but by this time there are already reports that the top end would cross 40 lakhs on road so I refuse to commit on the vehicle. I tell him I will let him know on 20th January when the price is announced.
On 20th the prices are announced and wow fantastic pricing by Ford. I call him up and rush to the Dealership and put down a booking amount of 50k for the Panther black 3.2 titanium 4x4. I meet Mr Umesh Moolya who will be my sales manager. I return home with a smile on my face with a promise of delivery in the 3rd week of February. I confirm this from Ford customer care by email next day. These must be the longest 30 days of 2016 for me waiting for the delivery. Then came the reports of Ford having only limited stocks of 3.2 titanium kits and waiting period running into months for the 3.2 titanium. 3rd week of February approaches but no news of my Endeavor. I have by now started calling both Rajesh and Umesh almost daily but they have no news from the Chennai factory about 3.2 titanium dispatch. I now start calling Ford customer care every two days and sending them emails reminding them of their promise of delivery in 3rd week of February. This gets pushed to last week of February and then 1st week of March. Throughout all this Mr Rajesh Shetty and Mr Umesh Moolya were very helpful and supportive and also Mr Rajesh Shetty escalated this matter to the Higher level and finally on February 27th my vehicle gets billed from the factory.
Three days later on March 1st there is the budget announcement of increase in tax but I am not affected as my vehicle was billed before that. Vehicle reaches Dealership on 5th March Saturday and on Sunday and Monday the underbody coating and paint protection with door visors installation is done. Unable to register vehicle on 7th as it is a Government holiday so registration is done on 8th. I get the registration number on 8th morning before registration as I have paid 1.5k to a broker to get a number ending with 7 in the running series. On 8th noon 3.30 pm I get a call from the driver who has brought the vehicle to the RTO for registration. I rush to the RTO and find that people from other car dealerships who have come for registration eager to have a look at my Endeavor. The registration formality hardly takes 2 minutes and the driver offers me the keys to drive my Endeavor back to the dealership. I hand over my XUV keys to him and take over the Endeavor. All along the drive I could see people in cars and SUVs from higher segments slowing down and turning to have a look at the Endeavor. It looks massive on road and dwarfs the X1,Q3,GLA and even the Q5 and X3. At the dealership I reluctantly surrender the keys and drive back home in my XUV.
Delivery is fixed at 6:30 pm and Mr Umesh Moolya offers to send the dealership car to pick us up from my home. I inform my wife to wind up her clinic work by 6:15 pm and I go and purchase gifts for Mr Rajesh Shetty and Mr Umesh Moolya and return home. Dealership car is waiting for me at home driven by Mr Deepak my sales executive. Me and my son get into the car and go to my clinic where we pick up my wife and go to the Dealership for delivery. I first hand over the gifts I purchased to Mr Umesh Moolya and then I get all the receipts and documents and a box of chocolates. Delivery formality is done by Mr Umesh Moolya and Mr Deepak. Mr Deepak then tries to explain the features of the Vehicle but I already know much more than him and end up showing him the features. From the Dealership we went straight to the Sharavu Mahaganapathi Temple for the customary Pooja.
I would like to Thank Mr Rajesh Shetty and Mr Umesh Moolya for all the patience and help from them for making this purchase experience and delivery so smooth and pleasurable and also Ford for the pre budget billing. If not for that I would have to shell out almost 1.5 lakhs more. Also thanks to Deepak and Deepak my Sales executive and Accessories guy.
On-road price, discounts & Extended warranties -
Discounts Nil
Ex showroom price Rs 2869635/-
Road tax and registration and Rs 573355/-
Handling charges Rs 10,000/-
Insurance from dealership Rs 63064/- ( I had 50% NCB otherwise it was Rs 128896/-)
Extended warranties for 3rd year with 1 year RSA Rs 20600/-
Accessories and essential pack Rs 28800/-
Total On Road price Rs 3565454/-
Accessories from dealership- paint protection and under body coating, door visors, neck rests and pillow and carpet and boot mat.
DIY noodle mats from local mat shop similar to 3M Nomad mats at 1/3 the price.
Accessories I brought online-
Dashcam, Hard wire kit for Dashcam,
http://www.snapdeal.com/product/tran...dorCode=S3ee91
Dashcam Quick Installation KIT USB Plug MICRO2 Fuse Dash CAM Hardwiring KIT | eBay
HUD,
A8 CAR HUD Head UP Display Screen OBD2 Interface Plug Play KM H MPH Warning | eBay
Satnav
MapmyIndia Lx350 3D Navigator: Buy MapmyIndia Lx350 3D Navigator Online at Low Price in India on Snapdeal
At night the interior looks like a airplane cockpit with the 3 LCD screens of the vehicle and another 3 of the Dashcam, MMI Satnav and HUD along with the multiple back lit buttons and controls of the vehicle
Engine type- Diesel 3.2 Ltr, 200 PS, Torque of 470 Nm. Variant - Titanium 4x4, 6 speed AT with Terrain Management system, 4L and rear diff lock.
Pictures below (Please excuse the quality, taken with mobile phone camera auto settings) starting from the RTO office for registration.
-
679.2 KB Views: 295
-
582.1 KB Views: 263
-
640.3 KB Views: 252
-
975.5 KB Views: 217
-
943.8 KB Views: 345
-