Background and Buying Overview:
It was in june 2013,we decided to buy a new car(diesel) with a budget of 7 to 9 lacs. So hatchbacks and compact sedans were considered.Our yearly running is around 25-30k,so fuel efficiency is one of the important parameter for us.
After multiple test drives of almost all cars in the segment,we narrowed it down to
1)Honda Amaze S (7.75 lakh OTR)
2)Ford figo titanium(6.75 lakh OTR)
Paying 1 lakh more for Amaze,i get powerful engine,better space and fuel efficiency but would lose out on Airbags,alloys,fog lamps when compared to figo titanium.So this was a never ending confusion and to confuse us more,came the ECOSPORT(I thank Ford for launching the ecosport to delay my purchase,for ending up buying the perfect car for me)
July 1 2013,booked Ecosport titanium diesel,10 lakhs OTR. After 2 months of painful waiting,price hike,feature deletion,dealer monopoly cancelled the booking on September 5.
Now the best part,Hyundai launches GRAND I10,had a detailed test drive and booked the top variant, Asta(O) on september 7 and delivered on October 5
OTR price:7.25 lakhs(no discount)
But Dealer gave free mats,mud flaps(yet to arrive),Idol and car perfume,but got shocked to see no spare headlight bulbs,as per dealer hyundai dint provide spare bulbs for Grand(need to confirm this)
Now,let me write in brief about the car.
Exteriors and Design:
First thing you will notice is the fluidic design is toned down in Grand. I personally do not like overdone fluidic look of other hyundais. Car looks more European than Korean. Design is modern and refreshing.
Build quality is good,doors close with a mild 'THUD'.Panel gaps are consistent and paint quality is top notch
Interiors and Features:
This has always been a plus point in all hyundai cars and the trend is carried over to Grand.
Quality of plastics,fit and finish is excellent.
Also there is a long feature list like bluetooth,1gb internal storage,rear ac vents(segment first in a hatch),push button start and keyless entry,folding OVRMs,reverse parking sensors,cooled glove box,1 litre bottle holders in all 4 doors. Also i love the blue illumination of the dash
Space and Comfort:
Grand is a spacious hatch,rear legroom is one of the best in a hatchback.
Front seats offer good support and rear seat recline angle is very good making passengers comfortable on a long drive.Hyundai has provided fixed head rests for front seats(cost cutting) and adjustable for rear.Boot is adequate(256L) and boot light is present.
Engine and Performance:
Hyundai has done a great job in controlling NVH levels,you would hardly feel it is a 3 cylinder oil burner.What impresses is the strong low and mid range power delivery,it's a breeze to drive in heavy traffic with minimal gear shifts. Turbo lag is neglible and there is no turbo kick like my sx4(i miss it though). Top end performance is not adequate i feel,car feels sluggish after 120km/h.I will update the fuel efficiency figures after a tankfull,car has run only 100km now
Ride and Handling:
Guess for the first time in INDIA,hyundai has got the right balance between ride and handling. Suspension is not very soft like other hyundais,resulting in better handling(though not in league of swift or figo).Steering is on lighter side,but offers little feedback.Ride quality is also good,theres no thuds on potholes like verna or i20.
Straight line stability is excellent,whats really impressing are the brakes
What I like:
1)Modern design
2)Excellent interior quality,fit and finish
3)Strong low end punch and mid range
4)Spacious cabin
5)powerful stock headlamps
6)Aggressive brakes
7)Neutral ride & handling
What i wish to have:
1)Auto Ac
2)Adjustable front headrests
3)Flexible grab handles
4)MID(fuel consumption,distance to empty etc)
What i don't like:
1)Less than adequate top end performance
Additional details:
1)Turbocharger is integrated to exhaust manifold(make:Honeywell)
2)ABS unit,make is Hyundai china(my sx4 has BOSCH made ABS module)
3)Grand doesn't have typical anti theft siren,it has an extra horn which goes on during intrusion
Now let the pictures talk
It was in june 2013,we decided to buy a new car(diesel) with a budget of 7 to 9 lacs. So hatchbacks and compact sedans were considered.Our yearly running is around 25-30k,so fuel efficiency is one of the important parameter for us.
After multiple test drives of almost all cars in the segment,we narrowed it down to
1)Honda Amaze S (7.75 lakh OTR)
2)Ford figo titanium(6.75 lakh OTR)
Paying 1 lakh more for Amaze,i get powerful engine,better space and fuel efficiency but would lose out on Airbags,alloys,fog lamps when compared to figo titanium.So this was a never ending confusion and to confuse us more,came the ECOSPORT(I thank Ford for launching the ecosport to delay my purchase,for ending up buying the perfect car for me)
July 1 2013,booked Ecosport titanium diesel,10 lakhs OTR. After 2 months of painful waiting,price hike,feature deletion,dealer monopoly cancelled the booking on September 5.
Now the best part,Hyundai launches GRAND I10,had a detailed test drive and booked the top variant, Asta(O) on september 7 and delivered on October 5
OTR price:7.25 lakhs(no discount)
But Dealer gave free mats,mud flaps(yet to arrive),Idol and car perfume,but got shocked to see no spare headlight bulbs,as per dealer hyundai dint provide spare bulbs for Grand(need to confirm this)
Now,let me write in brief about the car.
Exteriors and Design:
First thing you will notice is the fluidic design is toned down in Grand. I personally do not like overdone fluidic look of other hyundais. Car looks more European than Korean. Design is modern and refreshing.
Build quality is good,doors close with a mild 'THUD'.Panel gaps are consistent and paint quality is top notch
Interiors and Features:
This has always been a plus point in all hyundai cars and the trend is carried over to Grand.
Quality of plastics,fit and finish is excellent.
Also there is a long feature list like bluetooth,1gb internal storage,rear ac vents(segment first in a hatch),push button start and keyless entry,folding OVRMs,reverse parking sensors,cooled glove box,1 litre bottle holders in all 4 doors. Also i love the blue illumination of the dash
Space and Comfort:
Grand is a spacious hatch,rear legroom is one of the best in a hatchback.
Front seats offer good support and rear seat recline angle is very good making passengers comfortable on a long drive.Hyundai has provided fixed head rests for front seats(cost cutting) and adjustable for rear.Boot is adequate(256L) and boot light is present.
Engine and Performance:
Hyundai has done a great job in controlling NVH levels,you would hardly feel it is a 3 cylinder oil burner.What impresses is the strong low and mid range power delivery,it's a breeze to drive in heavy traffic with minimal gear shifts. Turbo lag is neglible and there is no turbo kick like my sx4(i miss it though). Top end performance is not adequate i feel,car feels sluggish after 120km/h.I will update the fuel efficiency figures after a tankfull,car has run only 100km now
Ride and Handling:
Guess for the first time in INDIA,hyundai has got the right balance between ride and handling. Suspension is not very soft like other hyundais,resulting in better handling(though not in league of swift or figo).Steering is on lighter side,but offers little feedback.Ride quality is also good,theres no thuds on potholes like verna or i20.
Straight line stability is excellent,whats really impressing are the brakes
What I like:
1)Modern design
2)Excellent interior quality,fit and finish
3)Strong low end punch and mid range
4)Spacious cabin
5)powerful stock headlamps
6)Aggressive brakes
7)Neutral ride & handling
What i wish to have:
1)Auto Ac
2)Adjustable front headrests
3)Flexible grab handles
4)MID(fuel consumption,distance to empty etc)
What i don't like:
1)Less than adequate top end performance
Additional details:
1)Turbocharger is integrated to exhaust manifold(make:Honeywell)
2)ABS unit,make is Hyundai china(my sx4 has BOSCH made ABS module)
3)Grand doesn't have typical anti theft siren,it has an extra horn which goes on during intrusion
Now let the pictures talk
-
112.1 KB Views: 1,505
-
129.8 KB Views: 1,231
-
95.4 KB Views: 826
-
79.1 KB Views: 563
-
123 KB Views: 460