“Thunderbolt” Mahindra XUV5OO Detailed Review (5 Years Report)
“Thunderbolt” XUV 500 Detailed Ownership Review (Decals, Audio, LED, Mods++)
Hello Friends,
Here I would like to present you the detailed , specific Review and Buying experience of my Mahindra XUV 5OO. As I see that there have been many well written reviews for the same, I would like to focus on certain Perks and Specialties that I felt are missing from mass reviews along with a short overlook at everything. If you feel that something was omitted, please drop me a line and I'll try by best to add it up. Questions are welcome. The post will be updated periodically about the Upgrades/Mods/Servicing. However the Tours/Runs/FE will be posted loosely among the thread to avert cluttering up the main review.
So ya with me? Lets Roll!!!
A trip to the past (Buying History)-
Launched somewhere late '11, The beast was Unleashed.
And man! Was I hooked!. It had everything i wanted. It was my dream SUV!!
Yeah I am talking about the XUV 500.
However, Dad said NO! and hence started a long, Painful wait period stretching about 2 years. We always wanted a feature rich SUV since 4~5 years, Somehow I managed to convince that we need a good SUV for our family this year.
So before i emptied my wallets, I came to you friends (Forums)for a honest opinion and some warnings with respect to how to buy , what to look, what to expect from dealer etc, Thanks for the same.
I did Notice that some niggles have been reported, However, XUV is still better when you read about other car's niggles. Even the mighty Fortuner is plagued by the brake issue (I own one).
Discussion thread-
About To Book My Dream SUV (Thinking Mahindra XUV 500)
Competition-
Since 2 years, The market had changed and many new products have come to market. Here was my method of ruling out the competition,
Safari Storme- had 2 Safaris already, stretching over 13 years. Very few equipment. Muted looks (especially Storme treatment). My favorite vehicle but simply bored of it now.
Innova- No Taxi please! No looks. Expensive Toyota parts.
Duster- Too small
Captiva- No last row AC? No can do.
Aria- Fine product and friendly Tata service (yeah you read right) But i can't get off that 'Soccer mom' image it seems to have. Muted looks. Electronics issues. Looks a Mix of Tata Marina + Innova. Underpowered engine. Very bulky to maneuver in city.
Scorpio- Old product and cramped seats. Just a few lakhs saving from XUV.
Force one- NO ABS??! Cancel.
XYLO- Heavy body sway and scary when overtaking. Good Space but no Looks. Again, an MUV image. Poor performance. Uncomfortable driver seating for tall people. Front Windshield felt too small and restrictive.
I also looked for Ssangyong tourismo 2014 which was just launched in Korea. seems better ,but there is no word on release date and pricing. Had a thought about waiting a year but my conscience said “ Buy off something before Dad's mood changes”
TD Experience-
We reached the showroom (Satpuda motors, Jalgaon) in Noon and asked for a TD of the said vehicle. We were informed that the TD Vehicle was out and would have to wait for a few minutes. The treatment was not as warm or exciting and i was badly bursting in sweat. I felt i had landed into some furnace after stepping down my Fortuner (That's what i drove to the place) and the Sales guy said that due to power problems AC is not working. Actually I saw there was no AC installed in the first place. There were no refreshments served or anything.
Meanwhile there was a XYLO standing besides and we thought why not check it out for the time being? The other sales guy was better and showed us some features. I climbed into Third row, and heavens! I could actually sit there (I can't sit in Fortuner 3rd row). I think Xylo has one of the best third row among Indian vehicles. We took it out for a test drive and the Engine was lousy and too much body roll. The AC was out of order (Pity me) so again more sweat. However the ride was very silent and enjoyable. I feel XYLO is really and very much VFM car. Seriously consider this boy when you're looking for an comfortable MUV.
Now after coming back, The STAR had arrived. Experiences with XUV have been distributed and merged into this thread.
After watching some 10 odd videos on You tube (owner and review alike), half dozen threads on TAI and Team BHP, TD testing,
Heart said GO FOR IT!
Buying Experience-
Now I had come to take delivery (11 AM). welcome was normal. I've seen owners thread photos being pampered with gifts,chocolate, balloons etc, nothing here. Got really bored sitting here. The vehicle was not ready and they had sent someone to bring it from Warehouse. Next they said that vehicle is really dusty and is being washed. PDI (if at all) was done away from me. Got the vehicle finally. (2pm)
Went to RTO and got vehicle inspected, however documents and number will be given Later :-(:-(
Got reverse Cam fitted. had to splice the rear tail lamp wiring for the same. We need to 'activate' the Cam from Laptop! wow.! Pictures for the install have been provided later in this review. Went hunting for a good amp after lunch. Details are in the audio section. Dealer were also forcing a lot about some “Coating” costing 8k and “Flooring” Costing 4k but I skipped the same.
This dealer Can be termed 'miser' at best. there's nothing wrong, but there's no 'grand and special' feeling that XUV 500 owners have mentioned.
There was no fuel given. filled full 70.2 liters. :-(
There were no gifts, or nor a simple ribbon that's on new cars. :'(
However, they arranged a Pandit and Garland later in evening. Paid 200 to Pandit as 'Dakshina'
Yeah yeah I know you are holding your breath for the pic. Don't worry There's a truckload of 'em!-
Front shot-
Special Ceremony-
Seeing my low face and Dissatisfaction about the Delivery ceremony, Women of the house made a special ceremony. My Sister and Wife prepared new Garland, Balloon and a Exquisite Bouquet for the same. There were Ribbons, Chocolates, Gifts Oh My!
Everyone joined in and had a Pooja + temple visit.
I'll let the pictures talk-
Take That Mr. Dealer!!!
Roof Rack And Carpeting Update-
5000 KM service Update-
20,000KM Service Update-
Dual woofer Underseat Setup COMPLETE! (with guide)
DIY Dual woofer setup (Hidden and Underseat)
LED Headlights-
DIY LED Car Grille Glow Lights
DIY LED DRLs and LED High beam assist-
Clutch Failure 500KM away from home (32k Kms on ODO)
Mud Flap DIY- (Solves Mud / Cowdung spray problem)
Lowbeam Projector Mechanical Failure @ 40k Kms-
All out HID Upgrade (4300K)-
50K Kms service Detailed update-
3 Years detailed Report & Travelogue+pics
Power Window Failure @ 58k Kms
60K Service & Tyre Upgrade, AC (Warranty Repair)
Engine Check Light & Turbo Blown at 60k Kms-
4th year and 65k Kms Service report. FE is only 9~10 KMPL ISSUE UNSLOVED-
Off-Roading with Cheetah!
70k Service-
84k Service-
Wiper & Cowl Complete Seal
Tail lamp Bulb replacement-
100K Service-
LED Dome Light Repair-
115k Service-
“Thunderbolt” XUV 500 Detailed Ownership Review (Decals, Audio, LED, Mods++)
Hello Friends,
Here I would like to present you the detailed , specific Review and Buying experience of my Mahindra XUV 5OO. As I see that there have been many well written reviews for the same, I would like to focus on certain Perks and Specialties that I felt are missing from mass reviews along with a short overlook at everything. If you feel that something was omitted, please drop me a line and I'll try by best to add it up. Questions are welcome. The post will be updated periodically about the Upgrades/Mods/Servicing. However the Tours/Runs/FE will be posted loosely among the thread to avert cluttering up the main review.
So ya with me? Lets Roll!!!
A trip to the past (Buying History)-
Launched somewhere late '11, The beast was Unleashed.
And man! Was I hooked!. It had everything i wanted. It was my dream SUV!!
Yeah I am talking about the XUV 500.
However, Dad said NO! and hence started a long, Painful wait period stretching about 2 years. We always wanted a feature rich SUV since 4~5 years, Somehow I managed to convince that we need a good SUV for our family this year.
So before i emptied my wallets, I came to you friends (Forums)for a honest opinion and some warnings with respect to how to buy , what to look, what to expect from dealer etc, Thanks for the same.
I did Notice that some niggles have been reported, However, XUV is still better when you read about other car's niggles. Even the mighty Fortuner is plagued by the brake issue (I own one).
Discussion thread-
About To Book My Dream SUV (Thinking Mahindra XUV 500)
Competition-
Since 2 years, The market had changed and many new products have come to market. Here was my method of ruling out the competition,
Safari Storme- had 2 Safaris already, stretching over 13 years. Very few equipment. Muted looks (especially Storme treatment). My favorite vehicle but simply bored of it now.
Innova- No Taxi please! No looks. Expensive Toyota parts.
Duster- Too small
Captiva- No last row AC? No can do.
Aria- Fine product and friendly Tata service (yeah you read right) But i can't get off that 'Soccer mom' image it seems to have. Muted looks. Electronics issues. Looks a Mix of Tata Marina + Innova. Underpowered engine. Very bulky to maneuver in city.
Scorpio- Old product and cramped seats. Just a few lakhs saving from XUV.
Force one- NO ABS??! Cancel.
XYLO- Heavy body sway and scary when overtaking. Good Space but no Looks. Again, an MUV image. Poor performance. Uncomfortable driver seating for tall people. Front Windshield felt too small and restrictive.
I also looked for Ssangyong tourismo 2014 which was just launched in Korea. seems better ,but there is no word on release date and pricing. Had a thought about waiting a year but my conscience said “ Buy off something before Dad's mood changes”
TD Experience-
We reached the showroom (Satpuda motors, Jalgaon) in Noon and asked for a TD of the said vehicle. We were informed that the TD Vehicle was out and would have to wait for a few minutes. The treatment was not as warm or exciting and i was badly bursting in sweat. I felt i had landed into some furnace after stepping down my Fortuner (That's what i drove to the place) and the Sales guy said that due to power problems AC is not working. Actually I saw there was no AC installed in the first place. There were no refreshments served or anything.
Meanwhile there was a XYLO standing besides and we thought why not check it out for the time being? The other sales guy was better and showed us some features. I climbed into Third row, and heavens! I could actually sit there (I can't sit in Fortuner 3rd row). I think Xylo has one of the best third row among Indian vehicles. We took it out for a test drive and the Engine was lousy and too much body roll. The AC was out of order (Pity me) so again more sweat. However the ride was very silent and enjoyable. I feel XYLO is really and very much VFM car. Seriously consider this boy when you're looking for an comfortable MUV.
Now after coming back, The STAR had arrived. Experiences with XUV have been distributed and merged into this thread.
After watching some 10 odd videos on You tube (owner and review alike), half dozen threads on TAI and Team BHP, TD testing,
Heart said GO FOR IT!
Buying Experience-
Now I had come to take delivery (11 AM). welcome was normal. I've seen owners thread photos being pampered with gifts,chocolate, balloons etc, nothing here. Got really bored sitting here. The vehicle was not ready and they had sent someone to bring it from Warehouse. Next they said that vehicle is really dusty and is being washed. PDI (if at all) was done away from me. Got the vehicle finally. (2pm)
Went to RTO and got vehicle inspected, however documents and number will be given Later :-(:-(
Got reverse Cam fitted. had to splice the rear tail lamp wiring for the same. We need to 'activate' the Cam from Laptop! wow.! Pictures for the install have been provided later in this review. Went hunting for a good amp after lunch. Details are in the audio section. Dealer were also forcing a lot about some “Coating” costing 8k and “Flooring” Costing 4k but I skipped the same.
This dealer Can be termed 'miser' at best. there's nothing wrong, but there's no 'grand and special' feeling that XUV 500 owners have mentioned.
There was no fuel given. filled full 70.2 liters. :-(
There were no gifts, or nor a simple ribbon that's on new cars. :'(
However, they arranged a Pandit and Garland later in evening. Paid 200 to Pandit as 'Dakshina'
Yeah yeah I know you are holding your breath for the pic. Don't worry There's a truckload of 'em!-
Front shot-
Special Ceremony-
Seeing my low face and Dissatisfaction about the Delivery ceremony, Women of the house made a special ceremony. My Sister and Wife prepared new Garland, Balloon and a Exquisite Bouquet for the same. There were Ribbons, Chocolates, Gifts Oh My!
Everyone joined in and had a Pooja + temple visit.
I'll let the pictures talk-
Take That Mr. Dealer!!!
Roof Rack And Carpeting Update-
5000 KM service Update-
20,000KM Service Update-
Dual woofer Underseat Setup COMPLETE! (with guide)
DIY Dual woofer setup (Hidden and Underseat)
LED Headlights-
DIY LED DRLs and LED High beam assist-
Clutch Failure 500KM away from home (32k Kms on ODO)
Mud Flap DIY- (Solves Mud / Cowdung spray problem)
Lowbeam Projector Mechanical Failure @ 40k Kms-
All out HID Upgrade (4300K)-
50K Kms service Detailed update-
3 Years detailed Report & Travelogue+pics
Power Window Failure @ 58k Kms
60K Service & Tyre Upgrade, AC (Warranty Repair)
Engine Check Light & Turbo Blown at 60k Kms-
4th year and 65k Kms Service report. FE is only 9~10 KMPL ISSUE UNSLOVED-
Off-Roading with Cheetah!
70k Service-
84k Service-
Wiper & Cowl Complete Seal
Tail lamp Bulb replacement-
100K Service-
LED Dome Light Repair-
115k Service-