Hello everyone!
Launched somewhere late '11, The beast was Unleashed.
And man! Was I hooked!. It had everything i wanted. It was my dream SUV!!
Yeah I am talking about the XUV 500.
However, Dad said NO! and hence started a long, Painful wait period stretching about 2 years. We always wanted a feature rich SUV since 4~5 years,
Today I see some light as I managed to convince that we need a good SUV for our famliy. So before i empty my wallets, I have come to you friends for a honest opinion and some warnings with respect to how to buy , what to look, what to expect from dealer etc.
Since 2 years, The market has changed and many new products have come to market. Here is my method of ruling out the competition, You are invited to add/Criticize. (<18lac)
Safari Storme- had 2 safaris already, stretching over 13 years. Very few equipment. Muted looks (especially storme treatment). My fav vehicle but simply bored of it now.
Innova- No Taxi please! No looks. Expensive Toyota parts.
Duster- Too small
Captiva- No last row AC? No can do.
Aria- Fine product and friendly Tata service (yeah you read right) But i can't get off that 'Soccer mom' image it seems to have. Muted looks. Electronics issues. Looks a Mix of Tata Marina + Innova
Scorpio- Old product and cramped seats. Just a few lakhs saving from XUV.
So there you have it friends. I always had an eye on XUV and don't want to miss booking it before my dad's mood changes or something. I feel it looks best in white, Big and Handsome; but familiy seems to favor Arctic blue or Purple. Add some more convincing to my list! Any suggestions? I also want to add decals/LED strip to it later on, and white gives best contrast.
I have a few questions in mind, experts please help-
1)I heard that XUV had lots of niggles in initial batch. Alarms going off, GPS not locking, Switches failing, LED lights blowing out etc. Have these been rectified in the recent models? Are there any minor changes in 2013 version?
2)Many users report spongy, Noisy brake feels. Has this been taken care off lately? it is serious!
3)I want to go for better sound system but won't like to disturb the original HU in any way. Does the factory HU have a sub-woofer Out and crossover? Will I Need an amp? How and where to place the woofer, with respect to negligible boot space. I'm not concerned with Watts and show offs. Just good SQ.
4)Zero freebies? Im a little dissapointed here. What can i pinch the dealer for? i'm atleast wanting Floor mats and window film from him! Any tricks to persuade?
I will be Visiting Satpuda motors, Jalgaon tomorrow for test drive and booking on spot. So if theres something i need to know, HURRY UP friends!
The Dealer has quoted me 15.85 Lacs , W8 model, ON road with Insurance. No discounts No Freebies. No Accessories. Waiting 20 days.
Update! Link to the ownership review: http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...oo-detailed-review-decals-audio-led-mods.html.
Launched somewhere late '11, The beast was Unleashed.
And man! Was I hooked!. It had everything i wanted. It was my dream SUV!!
Yeah I am talking about the XUV 500.
However, Dad said NO! and hence started a long, Painful wait period stretching about 2 years. We always wanted a feature rich SUV since 4~5 years,
Today I see some light as I managed to convince that we need a good SUV for our famliy. So before i empty my wallets, I have come to you friends for a honest opinion and some warnings with respect to how to buy , what to look, what to expect from dealer etc.
Since 2 years, The market has changed and many new products have come to market. Here is my method of ruling out the competition, You are invited to add/Criticize. (<18lac)
Safari Storme- had 2 safaris already, stretching over 13 years. Very few equipment. Muted looks (especially storme treatment). My fav vehicle but simply bored of it now.
Innova- No Taxi please! No looks. Expensive Toyota parts.
Duster- Too small
Captiva- No last row AC? No can do.
Aria- Fine product and friendly Tata service (yeah you read right) But i can't get off that 'Soccer mom' image it seems to have. Muted looks. Electronics issues. Looks a Mix of Tata Marina + Innova
Scorpio- Old product and cramped seats. Just a few lakhs saving from XUV.
So there you have it friends. I always had an eye on XUV and don't want to miss booking it before my dad's mood changes or something. I feel it looks best in white, Big and Handsome; but familiy seems to favor Arctic blue or Purple. Add some more convincing to my list! Any suggestions? I also want to add decals/LED strip to it later on, and white gives best contrast.
I have a few questions in mind, experts please help-
1)I heard that XUV had lots of niggles in initial batch. Alarms going off, GPS not locking, Switches failing, LED lights blowing out etc. Have these been rectified in the recent models? Are there any minor changes in 2013 version?
2)Many users report spongy, Noisy brake feels. Has this been taken care off lately? it is serious!
3)I want to go for better sound system but won't like to disturb the original HU in any way. Does the factory HU have a sub-woofer Out and crossover? Will I Need an amp? How and where to place the woofer, with respect to negligible boot space. I'm not concerned with Watts and show offs. Just good SQ.
4)Zero freebies? Im a little dissapointed here. What can i pinch the dealer for? i'm atleast wanting Floor mats and window film from him! Any tricks to persuade?
I will be Visiting Satpuda motors, Jalgaon tomorrow for test drive and booking on spot. So if theres something i need to know, HURRY UP friends!
The Dealer has quoted me 15.85 Lacs , W8 model, ON road with Insurance. No discounts No Freebies. No Accessories. Waiting 20 days.
Update! Link to the ownership review: http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...oo-detailed-review-decals-audio-led-mods.html.