So the day before Diwali we ended up at the local Nissan showroom for the Sunny Diesel. We had made our choice as it ticked all the right boxes: within 10 lacs, sedan body (i love suvs but dad n mom hate them), great backseat room, great bootspace, premium looks, diesel with good mileage - a pervasive desi trait.....we look to lower recurring fuel costs even though daily run is not even 30 kms. Oh and this one is for the chauffeur's daily grind - me and dad will be sharing our 6 yr old faithful honda city zx vtec, and we also have a 3 yr old i20 we'll be keeping for the time being as its resale price has probably hit rock bottom and we may need to use it every once in a while.
all was going well until this morning, when the sales guy called to inform me that a cashback-type bonus they had offered to us on the day of our visit last week, will not be given upfront, but rather we will have to wait upto 45 days for nissan to send it to the dealer, who will then give it to us. This annoyed me a little, as the amount in question is a decent chunk of change, plus he mentioned it to me on the day i was supposed to make full payment (I am yet to make the booking amount payment even, as the car was lying in dealer's ready stock so i didnt feel the need to pay any amount at the time of the "booking" last week). i do not put it past the dealer to give me a literal run for the bonus money once the sale is made.
so the above incident is making me reconsider the purchase altogether. that, and the fact that Kolkata has only one nissan dealer/service center, and given the pace of growth of our great city, i do not foresee another nissan service center coming up here within the useful life of my soon-to-be-maybe Sunny.
soooooo i hope some of the experts here will help me decide whether i should go with the purchase, or is there another option i should consider. i have already mentioned in the early part of this short post, the key considerations for my next purchase.
hoping for your comments!!!!!
all was going well until this morning, when the sales guy called to inform me that a cashback-type bonus they had offered to us on the day of our visit last week, will not be given upfront, but rather we will have to wait upto 45 days for nissan to send it to the dealer, who will then give it to us. This annoyed me a little, as the amount in question is a decent chunk of change, plus he mentioned it to me on the day i was supposed to make full payment (I am yet to make the booking amount payment even, as the car was lying in dealer's ready stock so i didnt feel the need to pay any amount at the time of the "booking" last week). i do not put it past the dealer to give me a literal run for the bonus money once the sale is made.
so the above incident is making me reconsider the purchase altogether. that, and the fact that Kolkata has only one nissan dealer/service center, and given the pace of growth of our great city, i do not foresee another nissan service center coming up here within the useful life of my soon-to-be-maybe Sunny.
soooooo i hope some of the experts here will help me decide whether i should go with the purchase, or is there another option i should consider. i have already mentioned in the early part of this short post, the key considerations for my next purchase.
hoping for your comments!!!!!