A few hours back, I had my MapMyIndia [MMI] Lx130 navigator upgraded to the new map version 5.0, which was a Herculean task.
I paid Rs 990 for single upgrade plan on 7 Sep 2010. The invoice dated 7 Sep 2010 was promptly received on the next day. I was assured that I would get the link for downloading the new version 5.0 map by email and MMI customer support would contact me within 24 hours. Nothing happened. Then, I reminded MMI through email. Again nothing happened. When I tried their national toll-free number, it didn't work. When I called their customer support, I was informed that the concerned person, one Mr Syed, was not available in his place. I remembered my visit to government taluk office! When I requested them to take my mobile number and get that person call me later, I was curtly informed that I should call him the next day! I sent one more round of emails to the customer support.
At last, I received the download link from the concerned person on 10 Sep 2010 with instructions: After downloading and copying to my navigator, I should send the MMI ID, storage ID, etc. to them to enable them to send the licence. I didn't understand the logic behind this. All these ID details are with them as I had already registered in their website, but they asked me to send the details, which I did on 13 Sep 2010 as I was out of station without my MMI Lx130 navigator, which didn't work without the licence file.
Again silence. Nothing happened. I called the customer care, only to be told that the concerned person was not there! Again, I sent two more rounds of emails with nil reaction from MMI. Thank god, today, I was lucky enough to talk to Mr Syed on my second attempt. When I poured the details, he assured me that I would get the licence file before 4 pm today. He called me at 3 pm and informed me that he had already sent it.
The rest, as they say, is history! I downloaded the licence file and pasted it in my navigator. Now, I have a choice of many Indian languages and I chose female voice to guide me in Tamil. On a quick glance, I find that all the recent landmarks are added to the PoI. But, I lost my favourites saved in the previous version.
So, I made the payment on 7 Sep 2010 and upgraded to new map version 5.0 on 17 Sep 2010. MMI should pat its back for the prompt action taken!
I paid Rs 990 for single upgrade plan on 7 Sep 2010. The invoice dated 7 Sep 2010 was promptly received on the next day. I was assured that I would get the link for downloading the new version 5.0 map by email and MMI customer support would contact me within 24 hours. Nothing happened. Then, I reminded MMI through email. Again nothing happened. When I tried their national toll-free number, it didn't work. When I called their customer support, I was informed that the concerned person, one Mr Syed, was not available in his place. I remembered my visit to government taluk office! When I requested them to take my mobile number and get that person call me later, I was curtly informed that I should call him the next day! I sent one more round of emails to the customer support.
At last, I received the download link from the concerned person on 10 Sep 2010 with instructions: After downloading and copying to my navigator, I should send the MMI ID, storage ID, etc. to them to enable them to send the licence. I didn't understand the logic behind this. All these ID details are with them as I had already registered in their website, but they asked me to send the details, which I did on 13 Sep 2010 as I was out of station without my MMI Lx130 navigator, which didn't work without the licence file.
Again silence. Nothing happened. I called the customer care, only to be told that the concerned person was not there! Again, I sent two more rounds of emails with nil reaction from MMI. Thank god, today, I was lucky enough to talk to Mr Syed on my second attempt. When I poured the details, he assured me that I would get the licence file before 4 pm today. He called me at 3 pm and informed me that he had already sent it.
The rest, as they say, is history! I downloaded the licence file and pasted it in my navigator. Now, I have a choice of many Indian languages and I chose female voice to guide me in Tamil. On a quick glance, I find that all the recent landmarks are added to the PoI. But, I lost my favourites saved in the previous version.
So, I made the payment on 7 Sep 2010 and upgraded to new map version 5.0 on 17 Sep 2010. MMI should pat its back for the prompt action taken!